We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pizza, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Restaurant

Chateau Restaurant
535 John Mahar Hwy, Braintree, MA 02184-6599
781-380-8770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 130 Restaurants in Braintree
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Decent pizza, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The pizza is pretty good, but it diminishes to average or less from there. We found portions to be on the small side, and flavors nothing special. We've been to three of their locations, and their Waltham restaurant is the best by far. If you just want pizza, the Braintree location is OK.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish cannot be Grilled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Chateau is a chain restaurant with nice staff but little culinary skills. I visited their Braintree location last month: One of the specials for dinner was a “Grilled Seafood Trio”. The dish served to me was baked, with the fish sitting in a pool of butter and topped with a heavy dose of bread crumbs. I was told by the manager that there was a mistake on the menu and the special should have said baked, not grilled “THEY CANNOT GRILL THE FISH, BECAUSE IT WILL FALL BETWEEN THE GRILL GRATES”. I followed up with a letter to the family owner, Joseph Nocera. One month later, no response. They do not seem to care about their customers and I do not care to return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average Italian cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The food is average, not even up to Olive Garden standards. They were trying to capture the essence of an Italian restaurant, but it actually came off as cheesy and comical. For example, creating "stone" arches with spans so long that they would never hold up in a real setting. If given a choice, I'd go to Olive Garden.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good meal, decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Went for dinner last night. There were 3 of us who went and all enjoyed. Very good squash.. Service was excellent.. Place was very clean as well. Defintiely would go back..Loved the fresh bread.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Food is always fresh and well presented at the Chateau Braintree Restaurant. We always enjoy going there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.