We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Christmas exhibit and cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hill Botanic Garden

Tower Hill Botanic Garden
11 French Drive, PO Box 598, Boylston, MA
508-869-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Boylston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tower Hill Botanic Garden is New England's year-round botanic garden, a living museum of plants exquisite in every season. Several distinctive gardens arrange plants according to an overall Master Plan, that includes a Lawn Garden, Secret Garden, Systematic Garden, Cottage & Vegetable Garden, Wildlife Refuge Pond, Winter Garden, and more. Two conservatories--the Orangerie and the Limonaia--display non-hardy plants in winter, with blooming flowers in every season. Springtime brings more than a quarter million flowering bulbs, including a signature field of more than 25,000 daffodils.
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Review of Christmas exhibit and cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went with 3 friends to see the Christmas tree exhibit. The theme this year was food and kitchen. Amazing how creative people can be, especially utilizing things from nature. Beautiful. Other areas to see while there as well. I want to speak about the cafe there and having lunch.I have been there before and had lunch once, but the room is large with very high ceilings and had no atmosphere despite also having a beautiful stone fireplace. However it was different this time. The tables were decorated with poinsettias and there was a beautifully decorated tree in the room along with other decorations. It made all the difference in the world. We all enjoyed our lunches. I had a luscious watercress salad with lamb, cherry tomatoes, onion and a homemade mint vinaigrette dressing which was outstanding. Very pleasant waitress. The rolls that came with the salads were very ordinary. A better roll would be nice, especially since the lunches are on the pricey side - several about$12. One in my party had a cold roasted vegetable sandwich with feta cheese on a ciabatta roll accompanied by tri-colored tortilla chips which she enjoyed. The other two had salads that were reminiscent of some of the ingredients in an antipasto with what they said were very good dressings.The coffee was only fair.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    29
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful any time of the year~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have been members for some time and have visited Tower Hill at all times of the year, not only to admire the lovely blooms and landscaping, but also to take in some wonderful musical presentations. Recently we caught them preparing for their "Holly Days". The Christmas trees are up and decorated, some by the staff and some by local garden clubs. They are attractive and ingenious and provide some ideas for anyone seeing them. Just being able to get in out of the cold and luxuriate in the atmosphere of the Orangerie and Limonaia house is a spirit lifter. Also of note is the helpful staff. Tower Hill is definitely a destination worth seeking out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Get lost in nature any time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a terrific place to get away from your daily grind and appreciate the changing seasons, the beauty of nature and the view from atop Tower Hill. In winter, a visit to the orangerie, with its tropical warmth, drizzling fountains and big leafy trees and plants is like a trip to a southern clime. If you have a green thumb or want to get one, classes are available through the Worcester Horticultural Society. Seasonal exhibits are always changing and are limited only by the imagination of the staff. Lots of trails for nature hikes. You can walk for 15 minutes or two hours. The onsite cafe offers a light menu with great views on the patio in the summer and great warmth from the large fireplace during the winter. The grounds are so amazingly beautiful that many weddings take place here. Even if you aren't getting married, bring a camera!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I enjoyed the wooded areas and the statue of Pan is one of my favorites. We had a nice lunch out on the deck. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great place to take kids of all ages to discover the outdoors. Our local library provides us with free passes so it won't cost local residents anything if planned in advance. I will be going again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Hill Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Tower Hill Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Hill Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.