We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, truly antique inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baird Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blandford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baird Tavern
Save
You added Baird Tavern to your Saves list
2 Old Chester Road, Blandford, MA 01008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rate!
Ranked #1 of 1 Blandford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, truly antique inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the library on the first floor. We loved that room! It's cozy, has the world's best foldout couch mattress (as good as any "real" mattress), and during a hot spell, was quite comfortable with just a window fan. Our room was right next door to the half-bath, which is very convenient, especially since the other rooms are on the second floor where there are two full baths, one of which is private. Innkeeper Carolyn Taylor's breakfasts were very fresh and delicious. Seated at the kitchen table (there is also a dining room), we could see hummingbirds and many other birds enjoying the feeders. There is a resident kitty, an aging Blue Persian female named Chloe. She is a dear, often sleeping cat. My husband particularly enjoyed sitting outdoors in one of two rockers under a shady tree. An excellent choice and very reasonably priced, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
66
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had originally planned to leave the kids with grandma and stay overnight by ourselves but plans changed at the last minute and all five of us ended up coming. Carolyn was very accommodating of our family and even put the older kids in another room for a nominal fee since it wasn't booked. The house is loaded with charm and very kid-friendly. There were five kids in the house altogether and Carolyn was terrific with all of us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

June 2012 My sisters and I enjoyed a delightful reunion at this lovely B&B. Host Carolyn Taylor graciously made us welcome in this beautiful home, each room as lovely and interesting as the next. We enjoyed our stay in every way, including sleeping peacefully and waking up to birdsong, good coffee and amazing blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at Baird Tavern in June 2012. History buffs will love the traditional thick-wood planked floors, old-fashioned blacksmith-style door handles, and enormous traditional colonial hearth. Carolyn's gardens are also beautiful and festive. We spent an afternoon sitting on wooden chairs relaxing and birdwatching, since the birdfeeder draws a variety of colorful birds to the yard. Breakfast was wonderful, with homemade blueberry pancakes and organic apple cider and apple butter from trees right on the property. Staying at Baird Tavern was a delightful experience and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I recently traveled to Massachusetts for my niece's college graduation. I was fortunate enough to have found the Baird Tavern. It is a historical Tavern built in 1768 that has been beautifully restored. The owner Caroline Taylor, is the perfect hostess. She prepared a delicious breakfast
for us each morning including mouth-watering buckwheat pancakes! yum!!
The beds were extremely comfortable and gave us an extra reason to sleep in each morning! :)
I would highly recommend The Baird Tavern! I certainly hope to return someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good....very comfortable and great bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Baird Tavern on the evening of May 13, 2012. On the evening we arrived, we sat on the lawn under an apple tree while we watched birds and hummers at the feeders. The large garden was filled with early blooming flowers. We drank a glass of wine and soaked in the peaceful beauty of the evening.
The 1768 building was unique in that so much of the inside was original: wide plank flooring, panel doors with Suffolk latches, large fireplaces, low ceilings, and so much period furnishings. We were comfortable in the common area as well as in our bedroom on the second floor.
Carolyn was an excellent host - friendly and informative about the history of the house. She remembered our daughter's family when they stayed at the Baird several months before. In fact, it was our daughter's recommendation that lead us to this B & B. Carolyn's breakfast of pancakes with "high bush blueberries" was delicious.
In brief, Carolyn's home is a delightful stay we recommend heartily.
Ken & Sharee Ballinger, Missoula, Montana

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Baird Tavern with our family to celebrate our nieces graduation from Mt Holyoke College. It was the perfect place to come back to each night after being out exploring all day. The beds are so comfortable with great linens and pillows.The breakfast were deliscous too!. Carolyn is the perfect host. I hope to go back again some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baird Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baird Tavern

Address: 2 Old Chester Road, Blandford, MA 01008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Blandford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blandford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect B&B getaway! Beautifully restored romantic inn nestled between the Berkshires and Northampton. A treasure of Americana built in 1768. Offers three antique-filled spacious guest rooms. Common rooms and library with fireplaces. Enjoy hearty gourmet country breakfasts! The Baird Tavern is set on seven acres of woods and orchards, complete with picnic table and English garden bench. Extensive perennial gardens surround the house with ever changing colors-from the thousands of brightly lit daffodils that appear in April to the rich hues of New England asters in October. A birdwatcher's paradise and wildlife watching. Close to cultural attractions. Hiking, biking, walking & cross-country skiing. Berkshire outlets 20 minutes away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baird Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.