We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps we picked a bad night.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prides Osteria

Prides Osteria
240 Rantoul Street, Beverly, MA
978-969-0083
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prides Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Beverly
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perhaps we picked a bad night.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to give Prides a try last night. Unfortunately, the air conditioning was not really working so after about 20 minutes in the 80 degree temps we were a bit damp with perspiration. The manager (?) was a wee bit arrogant about the situation and when he was asked by the bartender to give someone a call, he firmly stated that they were in yesterday and it was as good as it was going to get!

We decided to tough it out for a bit and each ordered a drink. I ordered a glass of Chianti ($10.00) which clearly had been sitting opened too long...a very sharp vinegar taste. My husband ordered a Blue Moon beer which was almost flat. They did offer to change my wine but the only other Chianti was $15.00 for a glass....

We decided to try the pizza which was a small foccacia dough with an amazing cheese, capers, olives and a bit of red sauce. The taste was really wonderful but was not cooked enough. A bit doughy....and not at all crisp. We would have liked to try the pasta and pesto but by then we were melting and a bit dissappointed.

We may give them another try at some point but our immediate thoughts are that the menu is limited (although authentic), most of it changes daily, the atmosphere could use some warmth (having been patrons of Harry's 240, we realize the new owners invested a fair amt of money in renovations), the staff were young and somewhat inexperienced, the Manager a wee bit arrogant, and the prices were pretty high for Rantoul Street.

We both have fairly sophisticated palates and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants locally and in Europe, Asia, and the Islands. We are not food snobs but do enjoy really wonderful food. I think they have the potential to be really excellent but the dots are not lining up at this point in time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Impressed! Give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Don't let Rantoul st fool you. While you will not get ziti and meatballs or chicken parm here you will get fresh, organic innovative dishes at reasonable prices. The menu changes somewhat daily but chef Paolo's world winning pesto is a keeper. We tried The Farm Board to start which was a nice selection of melon, cheese,figs and prosciutto. All pastas are hand made. We had the pesto over handkerchief pasta and the pansotti which were filled with spinach and ricotta in a walnut pesto sauce. Then we shared a veal chop with black truffle sauce and asparagus. So tender!! The desserts are to die for and the wines are all at a reasonable price. Justin is a very knowledgeable bartender and chef Paolo is a joy to talk to. Parking can be found behind the restaurant by the Sunray Bakery sign.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb food. Why don't we want to return?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We are a little confused here. The food is excellent -- creative, well-prepared, price-friendly. Scallops appetizer was wonderful. Steak entree similarly good. But we are not particularly eager to return. The decor is stale. The service is well-meaning but, at best, amateurish. Heck, even the seats (high chairs in the bar area) were not really comfortable. These folks mean well and they are trying very hard. So why don't I want to go back???

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed each of our three visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to Prides Osteria three times and enjoyed the food and the bar atmosphere very much. Love the pesto and the scallops with salsa verde!
A fish dish was also terrific. We have found the Farm Board to be a bit too "meaty" for our tastes. Would rather have another cheese selection and/or some veggies.

Our wait staff has been very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. At this point it is my favorite North Shore place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This place has potential to be great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading the Globe, us foodies on the North Shore were chopping at the bit to go.
Our server Hanna was a delight! She knew the menu very well and actually gave us the history of how this place came to be. Also, about the quality of ingredients the chef uses.
We asked for the pesto with our bread to try which comes with a price tag of $2. Delish and ordered the small portion of the pesto dish. Really good! $12 for 3 wide noodles worth.... But very good.
The portion are very small so maybe order as the Europeans do...order many dishes... then when the bill comes make sure you have plenty of "dough"!!!!
Coming from the creative field the dining rooms needs some softing. White table cloths might add a nice touch to the dining room. The dining area is very loud even on a Thursday night!
Not a restaurant I will be going back to any time soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prides Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Prides Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prides Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.