We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, authentic Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La

Shangri-La
149 Belmont St, Belmont, MA 02478-3639
617-489-1488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian, Dim Sum
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Finding this restaurant on TripAdvisor brings back great memories. Though it's been a few years, I still reminisce over the many times I've had brunch here with my family sitting in one of the booths and ordering beef noodle soup, hot and sour soup, Singapore-style rice noodles, tripe, fried dough sticks, and beef with spring onion pancakes, among the many delicacies on the menu. This place really lives up to its name.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Real Deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional authentic cuisine! The Dim Sum brunch is superb, and get there early (11:15) or plan ahead to enjoy the company of friends during a most worthy wait. I recommend looking around and ordering what you see vice what you think will be good on the menu, as this led to an amazing soup appetizer. The wait staff was helpful and the price very reasonable. You simply can't go wrong!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed the food here. I loved the soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The egg drop soup is delicious. It makes a great appetizer or you could have it for a meal. The orange chicken and the vegetable vermicelli were also very good. The prices of their dishes will not break the bank. Six of us ate for under $50. We went family style and shared four plates plus the soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food and Great Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I eat lunch here often because I like authentic Chinese food. The tables are a bit crowded together and the place is often filled to capacity at both lunch and dinner. It is not fancy, in fact very simple but I don't come here for the decor, I come for the food. Generous portions at cheap prices and i love their spices. You can have a full lunch with appetizer, soup, spring roll, rice or noodles, and a main course for less than $10. I call that cheap. The food is good but not spectacular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Before I knew that local Chinese-Americans regularly line up outside this Belmont storefront restaurant, I gave it a try. A friend had boasted that he could eat there every night and find something delicious each time. So, off we went based on his review. We ordered standard fare on our first visit including hot and sour soup and peking ravioli...turns out they made the ravioli to order so it took a little longer. Both were delicious. We tried the garlic spinach chicken dish - really delicious - have returned for that dish a number of times. The ambiance is almost non existent but we don't miss it. The waitstaff is barely friendly (two of the women had been at Changsho in Cambridge and were much more pleasant then) but that does not deter us either. It is about the food and it is worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.