We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roadhouse Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roadhouse Cafe
176 Federal St, Belchertown, MA 01007-4502
413-323-6175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 restaurants in Belchertown
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great local atmosphere. Baked goods are all homemade. Pancakes are gigantic and delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    8
    3
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northmapton, MA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you're closed, just say so”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Last Saturday we sat there like mooks for more than ten minutes, ignored by the staff. The place was not busy at all. It was about a half-hour before closing, and it was obvious that the staff wanted out. We left. Nice. Thanks.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum! Fresh baked breads, fresh organic eggs, fruits, vegetables, and Fair Trade coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This rustic cafe serves up a great breakfast menu with fresh local organic farm products and friendly service. The quaint cafe offers an extensive breakfast menu with eggs and breads in every form -- from eggs Benedict to apricot walnut bread to turkey sausage and kielbasa -- and pancakes the size of a large plate. All fresh and cooked to order. The Cafe pours Fair Trade coffee and uses eco-friendly products for their carry-out or take home containers.

The service was attentive and very friendly and knowledgeable of the ingredients as well as the capacity of the kitchen to handle special requests--which they did with no problem.

The price was a bit higher than normal for breakfast, but is a good value as they also deliver food that taste a few notches above the rest. We all left feeling very well fed and looking forward to a return to this sweet spot between Rt. 116 and Rt 9 at the Belchertown/Amherst/Pelham line. The Roadhouse also serves lunch but will have to check that out at a later date. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I have not visited the Roadhouse for quite sometime maybe about 9 months, I was so very disappointed to say the least. The baked goods were definitely not as good as I remember. The homemade four seed bread used on my very overpriced BLT and was stale, under toasted and masking the two pieces of bacon, four leafs of spinach and mealy tomato slices, and shredded cheddar cheese? The chef was about to use diced tomatoes on the sandwich and fortunately the server had more sense and stopped her. One of the other diners had pumpkin french toast, which was mushy and lacking flavor. An omelet ordered by another was lacking in volume and with the add-ins totaled $12.00, accompanied by bland unwashed potato, homefries. Our last diner had a SINGLE very good looking chocolate chip pancake, which was grossly overpriced at $5.75, it came with nothing not even the boasted about real maple syrup that was an extra charge!! I didn't eat anything but the bacon from my BLT and the plate was full when the server asked if I wanted anything wrapped and I said no, you would think he may have asked was anything wrong? Not a chance. There was a couple who came in while we were there and didn't get the service they wanted and left, wish we had done the same!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Bread and Baked Goods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

A cozy place that serves the kind of comfort food for breakfast and lunch that beats any commercial chain when you are on the road. Prices are reasonable and service is very friendly. Baked goods are outstanding.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

Belchertown, Hampshire County
Belchertown, Hampshire County
 
Belchertown, Hampshire County
Belchertown, Hampshire County
 

Been to Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.