We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for over 25 years, great subs and seafood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford House of Roast Beef

Bedford House of Roast Beef
328 Great Rd, Bedford, MA 01730-2359
781-275-2006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Fast Food, Sandwiches, Diner, Soups
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food for over 25 years, great subs and seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I was in kindergarten when Jack and family opened the House of Beef. It is with great pleasure that I review one of my personal favorite places. I started with a junior roast beef with there tangy bbq sauce and a slice of cheese. Have traveled the world over and have yet to find a better roast beef sandwich.

Now of course I go for a bigger sandwich or even the sub and will add horseradish sauce and some other niceties. My other favorites are the salads usually greek salad with grilled chicken or steak (sometimes the chef). They include a nice piece of pita with the salad which can then be made into a great sandwich. I enjoy all the subs especially turkey and occasionally steak and cheese. When the need arises they also do great fried seafood. A deceased friend from cape cod swore by their fried clams.

In any event, I will eat there for the food as the interior is nothing to look at and is usually full of people at lunch. I will grab food to go for road trips, red sox games, or to just go have a picnic at on of the fields in Bedford on a nice day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding option that many will miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is a local sandwich shop that often gets overlooked by people who head to some of the larger chains in the area. That's a mistake, since I have never had a bad meal here in ten years of so of visits. This is a small family run business, and the food is always outstanding.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah GA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good, unpretentious food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stopped by around 2pm today. I was expecting a place with, ah...more substance. Inside, there's a few tables, a large counter and an overhead menu. Place your order at the counter (be sure to pick your soda from the large cooler) and a few minutes later, when it's ready..you pay for it. I decided to "eat in". There were just two employees working and even on this fall Sunday afternoon, there was a steady take out business. Of the 5 or 6 tables, 2 were dirty...I just wiped one off myself. My Large Roast Beef sandwich was done quickly...a little too quickly. It wasn't cold, but it wasn't piping hot either. Still, it was very good. I had it with mayo, bbq sauce and cheese and a side of fries. The beef was cooked perfectly (meat for sandwiches is reheated on a flat grill). The fries were standard shoestring fries with salt. I thought it was a bit expensive for what I had: 1 large roast beef sandwich, small fries (enough for two folks!) and a canned soda was about 9 bucks. I recommend this joint over just about any chain restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Beef and Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Roast Beef and Fries--the very best around! The danger is in overeating. Service ok, no atmosphere to speak of, but for take out, this place is outstanding. I've had the Rbeef and fries on dozens of occasions. Only varied once with a hamburger--just ok.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I had the roast beef sandwich and french fries and loved it. The roast beef was nice and rare. The french fries are my favorite kind, skinny, like you would get at a fast food joint. They give you plenty of choices for sauces. Wish the atmosphere was better and they had a soda fountain. They just have a cooler of drinks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedford House of Roast Beef also viewed

 

Been to Bedford House of Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford House of Roast Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.