We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Waterfront Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mattakeese Wharf

Mattakeese Wharf
271 Millway, Barnstable, MA 02630-1102
508-362-4511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Barnstable
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Waterfront Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

No trip to the Cape is complete without dining out on the waterfront and Mattakeese Wharf is the place to go in Barnstable. You can enjoy a great meal while watching boats of all sizes pull in and out of the harbor. I tried one of the specials, striped bass broiled with an orange glaze topped with carmellized onions. Fish was so fresh it was probably still swimming a few hours earlier. Being a big eater my only criticism would be the portion size. The chowdha was ok and the stuffed cohog appetizer did not disapoint. Plenty of parking and valet service if you so desire. Server was friendly and attentive although a little inexperienced. A little pricey but in line with similar restaurants on the Cape. Worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    70
    33
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, terrible service, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went here for lunch last week. It was not crowded, we were seated right away, and the waitress took our drink orders quickly. Then she disappeared for about 15 minutes - didn't even bring us a glass of water. When she reappeared she apologized and said there was a backup in the kitchen, but that didn't explain why she still hadn't brought our drinks, and we still hadn't ordered our meals. Eventually we got our drinks, and we got our meals almost an hour after being seated. We each got a different baked fish dish - the fish was fresh and cooked nicely, but not exactly as described on the menu (my husband's panko crusted cod with Cajun seasoning had no hint of the Cajun seasoning). The problem with service seemed to be because of our particular waitress. Other servers appeared to be doing an OK job. The place was OK (the view was nice) but not worth a return trip and risking more bad service, which other people have mentioned in their reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Place we ate on the Cape this week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

WE enjoyed really unique bloody mary's with either cucumber vodka or peppered. The baked lobster was very tasty maybe a bit too much cracker for my taste but still really good and a 2# lobster appeared to really be 2#, no jipping here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed lobster dinners here one evening. The food was good and plentiful and the service was excellent, including valet parking. Also, the family, casual atmosphere was perfect for a vacation spot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Location--Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I ate here after a whale watch excursion. It was convenient as it is right on the pier. The location is great and request a window or deck seating. If you're lucky there will be one available. It is the typical dining you want while on vacation. The food was good, but the service was really bad. Our waiter never came back & we had to stop another waiter for assistance. We were never asked for refills until after our dinner was done. We had to ask for missing side orders. We saw the couple next to us who's waiter was very attentive & came back to their table several times where ours was no where to be found. Sometimes when you dine with children and only females the service does decline, but really! what a shame! It cost him a good tip because I am always generous with tipping when there is good service. Bottom line, good atmosphere, food not bad either, but just hope you get good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattakeese Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Mattakeese Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mattakeese Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.