We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lamb and Lion Inn to your Saves list
Lamb and Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Milford, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I married Labor Day weekend 2012. After the year and a half of planning and the excitement of the final 'party' we were ready to relax. We took advantage of the Fantastic 5 day special. Each part was perfect for what we wanted to do, we highly recommend it for any couple. We only took advantage of one of the included massages. Tom was great and offered to add the additional massage to the next time we stayed! Upon arrival we already felt welcomed, Tom met us car side and took all our baggage to our room. We stayed in the Inn Keeper's Pride suite. It was everything we wanted in a room! It had a kitchenette, living area, fire place, shower and whirl pool tub! (My personal favorite amenity). The Inn has a great layout with the center being the pool, hot tub, and outdoor fireplace. Each morning there was breakfast which included homemade yogurt and granola. We took our breakfast back to our room and enjoyed it on our private deck. I can't say enough how great Tom and Ali were just superb and really know customer service! I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants a relaxing, private getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Oh, we loved these two--now we love 'em even more!
Yes, the "5-Day FUNtastic Package" is pretty awesome, we have to admit!
A romantic 3-course dinner for 2 at one of the Cape's leading fine-dining restaurants, whale watching, a cruise to Nantucket, a fireside libation in the outdoor hot tub, a picnic lunch for the beach--the 5 Day package changes up one in a while to keep things fresh, and can be customized and changed up to guests liking. We with the 2 honeymooners a life time of love & adventures--and we hope to see them for an anniversary! Happy fall, everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Tom is an outstanding host. Didn't see much of Ali though. Their dogs are so cute. We had a great time sitting around the pool and in the jacuzzi, the fireplace by the pool is a great attraction. They only thing that we thought was lacking was the breakfasts, even with the freshly baked cake/muffin. The Inn is located within driving distance to many worthwhile sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for the review! We appreciate your kind words and glad you had a great time.
Many guests who go to B&B's expect the big, 3 course breakfast, which we simply do not do. Our breakfast is mostly homemade, inventive, fresh, healthy (and often deliciously unhealthy!) and changes every morning. We do not enjoy the hour and a half, "must sit down at a certain time", muffins as large as a steering wheel kinds of breakfast. We like our guests to eat as much or as little as they like, and whatever time and where ever they want. We keep things lose, fresh, fun and delicious. We also include an "add-on" menu for those who want a larger breakfast (which these guests decided not to experience--but it might have been what they were lacking). If you envision your B&B experience to include a more formal breakfast we can happily give excellent recommendations in the area for such an experience!
Happy fall...the pool is still open, the hot tub is HOT and the outdoor fireplace is built and ready for ya...hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband, dog and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the Inn in July. What a fabulous find! Our room was spacious and relaxing, and pleasantly out of the way. We didn't use the fireplace, but are looking forward to that when we visit again in the fall. We enjoyed sitting by the pool after a long day of seeing the sites. The yard was great for our dog to run and catch her frisbee. Tom had lots of suggestions for places to dine and galleries to visit. We look for places to return again and again. I think we have found such a place with the Lamb and Lion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Nice going! You mentioned your husband BEFORE mentioning the dog. Some reviews go the other way! Glad you and your pooch had an awesome time. We happliy jump through lots of hoops to make sure our guests have a great time (obviously some dogs just need a frisbee to make their life perfect). We are proud to announce that just this year Yankee Magazine named the Lamb and Lion Inn "the #1 pet friendly destination in New England, and just this past August CNN announced the Lamb and Lion as "One of the Top 12 Pet Friendly Hotels in the World." Not bad, huh?! We are going into our 15 season and feel like we're just getting warmed up--and this review is another shot in the arm to get us excited for the fall. We hope you and your poochjoin us for the foliage and fall festivals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here over Labor day weekend with our little Yorkie and had a great experience. Tom and Ali are amazing hosts. Very helpful with recommendations in the area. Ali is so sweet and went out of her way to make me gluten free blueberry muffins for breakfast. Love their little dogs too. We will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolhopper, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. This couple was pretty special, and we have to admit their Yorkie was just as cute (maybe even cuter) as our 2, which pains us to admit, but, sometimes that kind of cute in undeniable. We hope you come and see us again real soon--and keep spoiling that little baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Me and my wife spent a week at the Lamb and The Lion in early August and couldn't have been happier. My wife is 6 months pregnant and we were looking for a nice spot on the Cape to have a relaxing "Babymoon" and I am so glad I found the Inn on tripadvisor. It is located on a great stretch of 6A that is near everything but feels secluded. We did day trips all over and never seemed like the trips were long. The houses along this road were beautiful.The Inn and rooms are clean. We did not have a dog with us but several other guests did and I will say we did not once hear barking at night or were in anyway bothered, we actually enjoyed meeting all our furried fellow guests as well as their owners. The courtyard with the pool and hottub are better in person than in the photos. After a day of sightseeing or lying around the beach we loved coming home and having a little time to relax by the pool and take a swim before heading out to dinner at one of Tom's great restaraunt recommendations. The courtyard is also where we got to spend some time with our new friend G. Willikers. Tom and Ali are great hosts there when you need them but give you all the space you need to enjoy your stay. This was my first time visiting Cape Cod and I was very happy to have Tom's knowledge as a sort of unofficial tour guide. Every day we would figure out what we wanted to do and go see Tom. What beach to go to or his driving tours loaded with great places to stop if we were in the mood for a trip to P-Town or Chatham and the Whale Watching tour (he gives you discounted tickets right at the Inn.). Also not to beat a dead horse as if you read any other reviews but Ali's baking is amazing. We would try to guess what kind of bread or muffins we would be getting each morning.(we were never right by the way) The breakfast had plenty of options for us. Yogurts,(homemade and packaged) cereals, fresh fruit, and homemade breads and muffins. Thanks Tom & Ali for a great vacation and we hope to see you again soon. I'll teach the neworn to swim quickly so we can hurry back.

Patrick & Colleen+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a wonderful review--these mean the world to us. Can you believe it's September already? Where did the summer go?!? This was our 14th season and the best yet. We met many amazing people (like Patrick & Colleen!) and we continue to try and keep things "fresh" and fun. We wish these 2 nothing but the best of luck with their new one coming along. Although, when the pool is open, we can't accept children under 10 years of age simply because of health & liability issues, but we'd love to meet the little one sometime soon. Our favorite season is coming in fast, the outdoor fireplace has a pile of wood stacked next to it and the hot tub is 104 degrees. You should stop reading reviews and book some time! The weekends in the fall are already filling up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Lamb and Lion in July and enjoyed it immensely. The owners were very friendly and informativea s to local trips and restaurants. I had one of the best massages ever. The pool is delightful and the room was spacious and charming. Everything was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were adequate. We would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Yes indeed, our massage therapists are the best on Cape Cod. Make sure if you're coming to the Lamb and Lion you book some time. Stephanie is also a yoga instructor, so she stretches you out while massaging--it's heavenly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Lamb and Lion was the was the icing on our vacation's cake. We spent a week here and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Tom and Ali were gracious hosts and the staff was super friendly to us and our dog.
There were different breads and cakes every morning along with cereals, fruit and coffee.
The inn has a lovely pool area which includes a hot tub.
The location is perfect: 10 minutes from Hyannis and near everything on the mid and lower Cape.
Our room included a kitchen, comfortable sofa and, best if all, a large private deck with table, chairs and a hammock. Our only dilemma was that our room was so large and comfortable that it was hard deciding whether to see the sights on the Cape or just stay in and relax.
We'll definitely be returning to the Lamb and Lion Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, free self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Car & Driver. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" - Cape Cod Life Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamb and Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.