We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good trip made great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamb and Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lamb and Lion Inn to your Saves list
Lamb and Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Barnstable B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good trip made great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Lamb and Lion was the was the icing on our vacation's cake. We spent a week here and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Tom and Ali were gracious hosts and the staff was super friendly to us and our dog.
There were different breads and cakes every morning along with cereals, fruit and coffee.
The inn has a lovely pool area which includes a hot tub.
The location is perfect: 10 minutes from Hyannis and near everything on the mid and lower Cape.
Our room included a kitchen, comfortable sofa and, best if all, a large private deck with table, chairs and a hammock. Our only dilemma was that our room was so large and comfortable that it was hard deciding whether to see the sights on the Cape or just stay in and relax.
We'll definitely be returning to the Lamb and Lion Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything was perfect about this place. It was absolutely clean, very well located and our hosts the most welcoming people. Their advices regarding places to go were more than accurate, Ali's breakfasts were simply amazing and they made our first visit on Cape Cod wonderful.

Definitely th place to return next year.
Camille and Andrée

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
THANK YOU!! Our housekeepers, Donna & Amanda, are simply the best. Not only are they complete neat freaks, but they're wonderful with the guests, know the Cape backwards and forwards, and are always happy to give suggestions on where to go, what to do and what to have with that tartar sauce!! Make sure you say hi to them in the hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

PERFECT ... in every way. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't of asked for any more (except a couple more days) from this place, Whether you are looking to just get away and hang out (that was us!) or looking to explore the Cape, do yourself a favor and stay w/ Ali & Tom at the Lamb & Lion Inn. You will not be disappointed.

After a very busy family reunion weekend in Boston, we were looking for quiet, comfortable and relaxing. L&L was all that and more as we lounged by the beautiful heated pool/spa all day. Not a worry in the world.

Tom & Ali are great hosts and make you feel so welcome. Amazing breakfast when you want it, driving tours to any where you want to go, great food recommendations and the rooms so private and comfortable.

Looking forward to when we cn go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sweet 9, right off the courtyard and pool. Great little deck for having morning coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your 2 cents! We loved these guys, and yes, we love Sweet 9 as well! The historic Route 6A corridor in the mid-Cape area is definitely the best part of Cape Cod. People who travel to other desirable areas like Chatham, Provincetown and Falmouth have 1 major challenge that we don't...TRAFFIC! We find our guests do a lot of exploring. They're able to travel east-west with little to no traffic, then dip down to some of these areas! If you're in Chatham--which we love--you have Route 28 on both sides of you--same with Falmouth--so guests who stay in these towns tend to not move around much, which is a shame. P-Town is up the arm of the Cape and there's 1 road up. SO, if you're exploring the National Seashore you'd better make sure your innkeeper knows about the "shortcuts & back roads" that most tourists don't know about. When these reviewers weren't hanging poolside, they got some great exploring done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Lamb and Lion Inn, a truly special place to stay while enjoying the Cape. Tom and Ali, the hosts, have thought of everything. The homemade breakfasts by Ali are incredibly delicious. The rooms are cozy with wonderful touches. The main areas - from the courtyard with pool and hot tub to the breakfast area - are so relaxing. The four-legged co-hosts (Tom and Ali's beautiful dogs) are adorable and add to the charm. We will ABSOLUTELY stay at the Lamb and Lion Inn again, and are telling our good family and friends about this gem on the Cape!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
THANK YOU! We've been here at the Lamb and Lion Inn for 14 years and doing this even longer than that, and you know what? We still love it. I think that's the secret to keeping so many guests happy. We know the value of your short time away, and we certainly know that people have become numb from the lack of guest services in the world. We like to think we're in this business to help people breathe. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just stayed at Lamb and Lion Inn. Never being to Cape Cod before, Tom and Ali made it a wonderful first experience for us. Ali's delicious breakfast with homemade breads and baked goods were amazing. Ali's homemade yogurt and granola were wonderful. I also liked that she had local jams served with breakfast all natural ingredients. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Tom was extremely helpful with his recommendations. He provided us with three separate driving tours which helped us to discover some of the best parts of Cape Cod that we would have never been able to experience. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to a return trip. Newtown, PA

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks! We love the 1st-timers, and they love the driving tours. It seems like one of the fave things to do as we re-read past reviews. Yes, and Ali is truly talented. Just this year we started offering an optional hot breakfast menu as an add-on, but most people see to love what she's doing with our "regular" breakfast. We've both been in the hospitality biz our whole lives so we hope we have it down by now! Thanks for taking the time to write...enjoy what's left of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at L&L last week. I loved it. Tom was very helpful and Ali's breakfast was wonderful. The room was spacious and clean. I loved that they had fresh flowers for us when we checked in. My only complaint which is really not the shower could have been larger. I like a larger shower. If that was my only complaint that is pretty good. I loved the inn and would return. I loved having dogs around. I missed mine so it helped.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Ha! That's true, if that's your biggest complaint we'll take it! These folks were staying in our Lion's Den, and she's right, the shower is a little on the small side. We'd love to expand it someday, and we may, but for now, for most people it works just fine--it could be a matter of what you're use to as well, I suppose. Last year we re-did the bathroom in the Lion's Den and put beautiful stone tiling in the shower to make it as pleasant and clean as possible. This spring we put new hard-wood flooring in this suite, as well as a new flat screen TV, new windows and a nice fresh paint job. Of course the wood-burning fireplace is sporting its "warmer months candelabra" right now. We are always reinventing the rooms and changing things up. One day that shower will be expanded, but for now we like it the way it is. Thanks for taking the time to write--we really enjoyed having you here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is ABSOLUTELY the best place on the Cape!! I have been coming to Cape Cod since I was 8 and this is my go-to place! Such a happy, comfortable place and the best innkeepers on the planet! We just celebrated my sister's 50th and it wonderful! Hubby loves it here and he is a hard sell! We were actually sad we had to go home...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LambAndLion, Owner at Lamb and Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you G! WE LOVE having you here--and your right, your husband was a hard sell--well, maybe not THAT hard. We get a lot of return business, and as much as we love our first timers and "once in a while-ers", our regular guests are the ones that really drive us. Not only is coming back over and over the best "shot in the arm" an innkeeper can have, but it makes us want to change things up, add things and improve the inn to give "regulars" something new to experience. This couple has become people we can truly call friends and we're honored that they love us back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamb and Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Lion Inn

Address: 2504 Route 6A, Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb and Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool, spa & yoga studio, free self-guided driving tours, suites with kitchens & wood-burning fireplaces, walk to beach. "A classic Cape Cod inn and spa with the spirit of a small luxury hotel" ~ Car & Driver. "Best mid-Cape Inn/B&B" - Cape Cod Life Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lamb and Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel Barnstable
Lamb And Lion Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamb and Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.