We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechwood Inn
2839 Main St (Route 6A), Barnstable, MA 02630   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beechwood is situated on a very picturresque, pretty landscaped property. Ken ,the innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful. Food was very good. The only faults we could find with this property was that yes, it was old and could use some improvements. (small cracks in the walls, wood floors uneven when you walk across them, and some parts of the room the planks would shift completely, dusting was needed in areas). Overall was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Beechwood Inn was the perfect choice for our six night stay on Cape Cod - the mid Cape location made exploring simple - nothing is more than a one hour drive from the inn!; our room (The Cottage Room) was stunning - lovely antique furniture and gorgeous stained glass windows!; Ken (the innkeeper) is friendly, welcoming, and full of excellent recommendations!; the grounds of the inn were lovely, even in early Spring, and the inn itself is beautifully appointed and lovingly maintained.

We were treated to a three course breakfast each morning - decadent and filling! This will be a special treat for those who favour sweets - many of the dishes feature chocolate! In addition, there is always coffee available in the dining room and fresh cookies in the parlour.

In response to a prior post referencing lack of attention - we had a wee problem with the sink drain clogging during our stay. Ken immediately treated the clog, and offered us the use of the bathroom in a vacant room across the hall. Within 24 hours, the problem was solved, with very minimal inconvenience. Our take was it was just one of the quirks of staying at an historic property, and we appreciated the efforts made for our comfort.

Convenient location, stunning inn and grounds, charming host - perfect combination for a thoroughly enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

First off booking this vacation was ridiculously easy and affordable! We got there and we were instantly greeted by Ken, the inn keeper. He was incredible friendly and helpful with telling us a bit about the area and offering to help us make dinner reservations. We were there for 3 nights and each was just as amazing as the last. The lilac room was so comfy and cozy and the bathroom was gigantic! i was in heaven!. The bed was insanely comfy and felt like sleeping on clouds. Breakfast was to die for. i unfortunately slept through day twos breakfast but my boyfriend made is sound delicious. This was by far the best location for a B&b as well, close to a small village with excellent coffee and close enough to other shopping and dining experiences. Best vacation and by far best B&B ever!!!

Room Tip: the lilac room is its own floor with a doorway into the breakfast room. its huge and airy and the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I received a weekend stay at the Beechwood Inn as a wedding gift from her friends at work. What a great gift!! The Inn is charming and very comfortable. The antiques sprinkled around the premises are beautiful and, thanks to Ken, the Innkeeper, many have an interesting story. Ken, as well as being very friendly and down-to-earth, is a wealth of knowledge about the Cape and really helped us plan our weekend visit, maximizing our time there. I highly recommend staying at the Beechwood Inn (we stayed in the Lilac Room) and, hopefully, will be back soon! Thanks, Ken!!! Kim and Steve

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but, if you like a big claw and ball tub, choose the Lilac Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was a quiet and restful Inn. Very comfortable. Our host, Ken, gave us great recommendations as to where we can go biking, great places to eat, and what to see at Cape Cod. He knows a lot about the history of his Inn and surrounding area. For breakfast we had homemade cakes, muffins, fresh fruit, Portuguese french toast, a wonderful egg dish. There were cookies and lemonade, coffee and tea midday to have while relaxing on the victorian porch next to the 150 year old beech trees. Will come back!

Room Tip: East Lake room accommodated our two adult children and my husband and I. Very nice bathroom; comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here in the Marble Room.... beautiful grounds... so relaxing... friendly.. clean.... top notch B&B.. can't wait to come back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Beechwood for 3 nights during a recent June heatwave and had the most wonderful stay. The property is beautiful, including the gardens and the deck where we relaxed over bottles of wine most nights. A short walk into town. Ken was an extremely attentive and hospitable host. Would highly receommend a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Also Known As:
Beechwood Inn Barnstable, MA - Cape Cod
Address: 2839 Main St (Route 6A), Barnstable, MA 02630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Barnstable
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood is an award-winning romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Cape Cod's quaint historic district. Furnished with elegant period antiques, all rooms have king/queen beds, private baths, air-conditioning and tv/vcr's. Gourmet breakfast. Centrally location, convenient to Hyannis, beaches and all the pleasures of Cape Cod. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beechwood Inn to your Saves list