We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killed with kindness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 East Potomac Street, Williamsport, MD 21795   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Williamsport
Owego, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Killed with kindness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This little gem is conveniently located off of I-81, and the staff here is excellent. The rooms are very private, and everyone that was staying here was friendly as well. I travel with my dog, and another guest, two doors down, saw my dog and was very friendly to him. The lady from the front desk also called after I got settled to see if my room was sufficient. Great experience here, and the first floor room offered easy access to a pet walk area in the rear of the hotel. The parking was great as well. I was hauling a 12-foot trailer, and had plenty of parking for the car where I didn't have to back it up into a space or disconnect it. The bed was comfortable, and the staff was willing to do anything to make my stay enjoyable. A great stop along I-81, and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    15
    5
    13
See reviews for
14
16
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location is good right at the junction of two interstate highways. The price is right and even offer AARP and AAA discounts. The facility was clean and my rooms were very clean. They accepted pets. The continental breakfast is right out a mega-mart but there are hot food facilities adjoining and across the street - walking distance. The staff, even housekeeping, were courteous and accommodating.
Rooms were smallish as it has bee re-worked but was nice and was up to modern standards. .For this chain, it was really good. Management seem to want to please. I was pleased.

Accidental, yes. There was a big snow storm on December 25 so we ended up staying there 3 nights in a full motel with other stranded travelers. The staff did very well to keep up and had everyone comfortable Other guests related that they often stay at this Red Roof Inn as it is clean and reasonably priced; like it was their little secret. There is the Desert Rose Cafe in the picturesque and antique-ish downtown Williamsport for bistro style food. Downtown is two blocks from the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Canal Bike Trail and ten miles from the Antietam National Battlefield for your information. Shopping was plentiful with all the usual suspects withing 4-5 miles. It was good.

Room Tip: Go for the back side rooms for convenience and away from the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife, myself and our labrador retriever spent an overnight visit to this Red Roof Inn.
We had stayed here a few years ago and it was still a very good bargain.

Our room was a superior king, first floor and had been updated.
The room was clean and although it was New Year's Eve, it was also very quiet.

The "breakfast" was continental and included coffee, juice and donuts which we found to be adequate.

Would recommend this hotel if you are travelling with your dog and looking for a clean, inexpensive stay.

Room Tip: Quieter on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakisland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Many of the Red Roof Inns are in need of upgrading and this property is no exception. Improvements have occured in some rooms but your room assignment is still a "room lottery". The guests are the usual mixture of sport teams, work crews on temporary assignment, and travelers primarily concerned with "value". The price is right-the experience will depend on your neighbors that evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had recently stayed at another Red Roof Inn that was ok, but was less than impressed. This Red Roof Inn seemed better. The front desk staff was friendly. The area was relatively quiet. I thought there was some disturbance going on, but I realized that it was because my room was right in front of the stairs, so I was hearing people walk up and down. The room itself was clean and relatively comfortable. It smelled just fine. The internet seemed to work fairly well too. I would recommend staying there if you don't want to pay a significant amount!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In town for golf tournament! Stayed for a week with 2 dogs. They are charged extra for second dog! Never had a red roof do that before. Lady at check in double charged my credit card by accident. When i told her she was not apologetic! Had to call my bank to get charges taken off. Room was small but clean. Strange characters staying next to us. Hanging outside room! Not a great place to walk dogs. There are schools behind hotel to walk them but most areas say no dogs allowed. Is close to bike towpath. Not many places to eat near hotel. Do have amazing donuts in lobby in the a.m! Overpriced for run down motel! But it is maryland and its as good as you can do if on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

For the money ($55), it's a nice room. The sink is quite nice, the Sony Trinitron TV isn't flat but it is as good a picture as most LCDs, and the beds are comfy enough. Wendy at the front desk was extremely friendly and direct - even inquiring about what I thought of the room upon checking in. I told her it was great. Well, it isn't perfect, but it's decent. In either case, I can say that she is a front desk person I'd trust!

I used to be a housekeeper, and I realize that I can be overly picky. So I'm reviewing this hotel from the perspective of a housekeeper. There were a couple problems - the door had a coffee stain (or something) and it should have been cleaned up but is something that's easy to miss. Additionally, the carpet is just ooold. It was clean on my feet, but from an angle you can see it is heavily stained from many years of coffee spills and chinese takeout accidents and whatnot. Well-cleaned but end-of-life. But, really, if you are paying $50 or so for a room, what do you expect? For me, this is what I expect, so 4 of 5 stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport

Address: 310 East Potomac Street, Williamsport, MD 21795
Location: United States > Maryland > Williamsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Williamsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Williamsport
Williamsport Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hagerstown-Williamsport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.