We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful cafe with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Cafe

Desert Rose Cafe
42 N Conococheague St, Williamsport, MD 21795-1003
301-223-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Williamsport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
1 review
“A wonderful cafe with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stopped here with two friends while cycling the C&O canal in July. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. I ordered the BLT with spinach instead of lettuce. The owner owns the ice cream shop across the street. And, though it wasn't open yet that day, she sent an employee across the street to open the ice cream shop, prepare us milkshakes and bring them back to the cafe! That is great customer service! Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food stop of our bicycle trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved this place! The food was great, filling, and healthy. The owners made us feel right at home. The menu choices were excellent. AND we took some food with us that was packaged to go. If you are bicycling, don't miss out on this place. The chocolate chip cookies that we took with us were the best ever and revived us on the trail. Don't make the mistake we did of buying only one package. The pie was also awesome. (We bought these After eating all the healthy stuff:). I wish I could take this restaurant home with me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Biker joint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Bicyclist joint that is. GOOOD place for bikers on the C&O to stop for lunch. Sloppy joe was good and I liked the 'veggies in a bag' option for sandwiches. Bike racks outside and bike-friendly establishment all-in-all! I recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Some of the best customer service I've ever received!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A friend and I stopped here while biking the C&O and we loved it! We had a lunch of iced coffee, sandwiches, and rice and beans. We also got muffins for breakfast the next morning and they definitely made the start of my day better. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly and happy to help in any way. While we were hanging out in the restaurant they even got me a charger for my phone when I remarked it was dying, but didn't want to dig mine out of the bottom of my panniers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Bicycle Friendly and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were riding the C&O Canal and were pretty muddy--offered to sit outside but they insisted we come in ("we've seen worse!"). Had great sandwiches (the tuna fish was excellent), very friendly service, and cute interior. A perfect lunch to renourish our tired bodies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Rose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Desert Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Rose Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.