We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b, but pricey for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehaven Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitehaven Hotel
2685 Whitehaven Road, Quantico, Whitehaven, MD 21856   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b, but pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

An adorable tiny town on the banks of the Wicomico River, Whitehaven is home to this quaint historic property that was renovated and converted to a b&b. Its best feature is the outdoors. All the rooms are different, none is perfect, and the quietness of each is directly related to its location in the building. (Think antique, hardwood floors and a kitchen that gets started early in the morning.) Room rates include a yummy (usually sweet) breakfast, but daily room service was NOT provided during our stay. Service comes & goes as you never know when somebody will be on-site to help with any questions or concerns. The porches are lovely and beckon you to relax for a while -- although the furniture on them is uncomfortable. Rates are more typical of a full-service inn with every amenity. All that being said, we'll certainly visit again and we'd recommend it. Just go with lowered expectations, and you'll have a nice visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My friend and I went back to the Whitehaven in June, having been there 4 years ago. It's charming, comfortable, quiet as can be. We walked around the town and enjoyed the bird song and, for me anyway, the brackish smell of the marshes. The breakfast was lots of fun with the other guests. Except that my friend was awakened by a strange noise, we had a wonderful visit, and I'll go back in a second.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My old college friend of 45 years and I love this place for our girls' getaway! We went back for a second visit and were just as impressed as we were when we discovered this hidden gem a few years ago. The setting is a tiny community on the shoes of the Wicomico River, where there is a free 2-car ferry, at the end of a country road on the Eastern Shore of MD. We could feel our blood pressure going down the minute we arrived. The hotel has a long history, and it's been beautifully restored and decorated, and provides a comfortable getaway. There was wine and brownies for us when we arrived, and a computer available to check our email. The breakfast was beautifully served and was totally delicious, and the adjoining store has first-class art and craft items. The innkeeper, Cindy, is friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was a strange knocking noise in the wall, ceiling, and/or floor next to my bed, but my friend didn't hear a thing. (Hmmm, ghost?) We plan on returning as often as possible and know that others would enjoy themselves there too.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury, md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My husband & I were surprised with a wonderful gift at Chriistmas with a night away at the Whitehaven Hotel (and free babysitting!). We couldn't wait to take our getaway vacation! We live only several miles from this hotel but staying here, we felt like we were hundreds of miles away.
We were fortunate to stay during one of the Inn's Dinner & a Movie evening. We enjoyed a fabulously prepared dinner with the best salad dressing (I'm still trying to copy the recipe) and fish...it was an extraordinary dinner - and we are usually critical of menus. Since it was the middle of winter, we were the only guests for the evening. We enjoyed a move that was left for us and retired to our room - pristinely reconditioned and absolutely comfortable.
We awoke in the morning and were excited for what our breakfast awaited. The pears were to die for! We were sad to leave and will no doubt, be back and tell everyone else how wonderful this home away from home truly was for us!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

IF you are looking for the perfect place to stretch your legs and relax, the Whitehaven Hotel is the place. Peace and quiet is one of the many things offered at the Whitehaven Hotel, along with attentive service, and a great breakfast. Pay close attention and you will also get to see Herons, Osprey, and Eagles residing close to the inn. We were thrilled, we got to see all of this from our own private porch, attached to the newly opened SAIL MAKERS LOFT, at top of the inn. The hotel also has a wonderful front porch complete with rocking chairs facing the river. Front porch sitting is encouraged at any time of the day, but is especially encouraged to view the wonderful sunsets. We have stayed in this area previously and have busily set about to do as much as we can in a short weekend. The Blackwater Refuge, Ward Museum of Wildfowl Art, Assateague Nat'l Seashore, the Salisbury Zoo, and the charming town of Berlin (where Runaway Bride was filmed), are but a few day trips within easy driving distance of the hotel. Other than to visit the 15 minutes away Bordeleau Vineyard for a wine tasting, we stayed home, at the inn, and enjoyed every minute of our peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Scenic views-peace and quiet-friendly innkeeper- comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Hotel

Address: 2685 Whitehaven Road, Quantico, Whitehaven, MD 21856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehaven Hotel is a beautifully restored, historical Bed & Breakfast nestled on the Wicomico River with two docks for visiting boaters and sits beside a 300 year old Ferry (said to be the oldest in the Continental United States). It is a scenic 20 minute ride to Salisbury, Princess Anne or 45 min. ride to the Maryland beaches, but "who needs beaches with our views" and Maryland crabs waiting to be opened and savored only a few minutes down the road. The Whitehaven Hotel provides kayaks and bikes for its guests, I might add that the kayaking is unique with many vistas and waters ways to investigate, while our property is a sanctuary for birds. On any given day you may see eagles, osprey, purple martins, heron, hawks, red winged black birds, humming birds and many more species. It's a gem of a find. Our motto "Enter as Guests and leave as Friends." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehaven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whitehaven Hotel to your Saves list