We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ramen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ren's Ramen

Ren's Ramen
Amherst Avenue, Wheaton, MD
301-693-0806
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Wheaton
Cuisines: Asian
Description: Washingtonian magazine 50 cheap best eats winner for 2011. You need to find this - excellent place.
Restaurant details
Description: Washingtonian magazine 50 cheap best eats winner for 2011. You need to find this - excellent place.
DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We (okay, the rest of my party, 'cause I was late) got to Ren's Ramen just when they opened, beating any rush. It was as I expected, clean, small, not fancy, fully functional. I've been to one of those stand-up ramen places in Tokyo, so understand that the bowl is the thing. We all got a version of one of the specials. I got extra spicy. The egg was still runny, the noodles had just enough chew. That soup was lovely! Two of the bowls at my table had the pork belly special (listed on a piece of paper taped to the wall), and reportedly, I missed out big time. We had good food and a good time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, MD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Spartan setting; about 12 functional tables; limited menu and parking; cash only; no liquor; no atmosphere- nothing elaborate- just excellent "Sapporo" Style Noodles. Bakudan Ramen - "The Bomb", a spicy Ramen is my favorite. Also offered is Miso Ramen, Tonshio Ramen, Shoyu Ramen, and Vegetable Shio Ramen. If you want real Japanese noodles, this is the place in Montgomery County, Maryland. I am a weekly lunchtime visitor. Don't miss it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you like Japanese ramen, you should try Ren's Ramen. It is excellent and the broth is superb. The menu is small and concentrated on the specialty ramen. The quality of the ingredients are very high and the roast port is really good. I always order extra portions because in the US I have come to expect too much. The portions here are more like what you get in Japan, substantial and healthy, but definitely not super-sized.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Good broth, skimpy on fixings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I paid $10 for a bowl of Sapporo style miso ramen. The bowl that was served looked nothing like the bowl pictured on the web site. The miso broth was tasty, but the noodles weren't anything spectacular, not much different than you can get at the local oriental supermarket. There were four slices of pork, some bamboo shoots, and bean sprouts. A square of dried seaweed was perched at the edge of the bowl. The only color in the dish was a sprinkle of green onions. Additions like egg, corn, and seaweed like in the picture were extra and could easily drive the price of the bowl up to $15 dollars. Decor is pretty sparse. Service is good. This place needs to improve its food to thrive, maybe add an egg, some brightly colored fishcake, and some corn to the baseline ramen dish to improve the look and value.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ren's Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Ren's Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ren's Ramen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.