We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   451 WMC Drive, Westminster, MD 21158   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

So...this property is a bit of a mixed bag.....not bad and worth your consideration if you are in the area....although I was a bit surprised at the lack of choices.

The Good

Without question, the staff is very friendly and is interested in making your stay more pleasant

The television was very big and appreciated......moreover, a great selection of channels

Free Wi Fi with above average speed

Convenient Local shopping if you are looking to stay in....right across the street is a Pizzeria, a Chinese Take Out (albeit a little scary looking), a Safeway Super Market, and a Liquor Store

Cute Lobby with Coffee Bar

Swimming Pool looked nice, but did not use it

Bed was comfortable...I prefer a more stiff mattress, and not too soft, so this was very good for me

The Not So Good

Had to exchange for new keys on 4 different occasion....I kept them separated from Cell Phone and Credit Cards so that was not it....but if you looked at the lock, it was dusty and old.....New keys never worked on outside doors

Dated Room and Appliances.....Microwave was circa 1984 and barely functional....Fridge only slightly better.....just an old feeling room

Housekeeping was OK, but never replaced Shampoo......and I do not think they were going to clean unless you leave the "Service Please" placard on the door

Remote Control Sleep Timer did not work....for me, this is a problem

Pillows too soft...but that is a personal preference

So I would stay here again and a little more sprucing would go a long way to making a much more desirable property

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at The Best Western Westminster. It is very important to me as well as my staff to hear feedback from our guests. We truly value and appreciate your time; it certainly helps us know what our strengths and weaknesses are. Our goal is to deliver an exceptional experience to all of our guests each and every stay!

We are delighted that our amenities suited your needs during your stay! Every room in our hotel has a flat screen TV; our outdoor pool is most delightful & refreshing.

I appreciate your feedback regarding your keycards, microfridges & Housekeeping. I will certainly look into and address your concerns. I wanted to let you know we will be starting our bathroom renovation in November 2013.

We have many updates planned and cannot wait to start!

Again, thanks for your comments as we certainly appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
General Manager
Best Western Westminster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    41
    8
    10
See reviews for
74
37
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westminster BW for the Gettysburg 150th and the hotel was excellent. The lobby was large and beautiful. The rooms were very clean and all the staff went out of their way to say hello and were all genuinely friendly and nice. The breakfast was nice and you could take it into their huge lobby. There is an Ihop accross the street but who needs that when you can get free waffles at the BW!! That area of MD is so green and plush. The hotel is surrounded by beautIul fields. I saw a rabbit behind the hotel when we arrived and were unloading. We could park right by our rooms window which was nice. We would definately return there. The manager there is doing a great job. Kudo's to you and your team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for staying with us at The Best Western Westminster during your visit to Gettysburg for the 150th celebration. My staff and I take great pride in delivering a great experience! It looks like we made your stay most enjoyable and we are delighted.

We are centrally located to Gettysburg, Baltimore & DC so hopefully in the future you will visit us again.

Many thanks again for posting your review and letting our present, past and future customers know what a great stay you had at The Best Western Westminster.

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
Best Western Westminster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have rarely stayed at Best Westerns because they are reviewed often as being run of the mill, older properties and often at Hampton Inn prices This place should be their standard bearer and crown jewel. Its a sprawling motel in an attractive setting with relatively large and comfortable rooms. The price for a king bed at 80/night is quite reasonable with the bonus of having a 37in HDTV which serves also as a monitor for a computer included within the room!! Awesome!!.

I needed and requested 2 rooms near the breakfast area due to ambulation issues and it was provided with no problems. The staff is professional and congenial, especially the gal running the breakfast area who worked her tail off to keep things stocked always with congeniality and pleasantness. The breakfast was standard continental and more than adequate.

When I researched the hotel here I was particularly impressed that management took the time and effort to personally respond to those with complaints, suggestions etc. Kudos for that!! More should do it as it reflects a genuine interest in customer satisfaction. For those who read earlier reviews regarding the immortal Sherry at the front desk, asking staff about her produced smirks, head shaking and inglorious comments as they indicated thankfully that she is no longer there.

As said this property should be the standard bearer for the Best Western brand to follow. Wonderfully run and great stay Only minor suggestions would be to replace the " natural" unscented soap that is supplied- yuck!.:), and, the organization of the furniture by the computer. The monitor is located on the wall over the chest of drawers. To work on the surface with the keyboard, a chair had to be pulled over with no place for our legs and blocking passage in front of the bed. Switching the desk with the chest of drawers to be under the monitor would allow for a chair to place underneath, leg room and overall comfort as a work space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good Afternoon,

We thank you for staying with us here at The Best Western Westminster and posting your positive & helpful comments in regards to your stay.

From your review; it sounds like we did our job and even exceeded your expectations; so thanks for taking the time to let our past, present & future guests know.

I appreciate your feedback in regards to the computer and furniture it certainly helps me think of better ways to make sure our amenities can be used to the best of there abilities.

Again, I appreciate your time and feedback and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
Best Western Westminster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are dated and need a face lift, the bathroom counter is low, the wall paper is dated. Our drain in the bathroom clogged and was slow draining. The property was suitable for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback!

I greatly appreciate your remarks and concerns. It is very important for us to deliver a great experience to all our guests.

I wanted to inform you that we will be starting renovations in late fall of 2013 in our guest rooms. I can promise you your concerns will be no longer once renovations are complete.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you sometime in the future!

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good hotel, nice people, seriously needs an update. Hotel needs to be brought up to modern standards to retain customers and bring in new business. Bathroom counters are way too low, beds are uncomfortable, decor is very dated. Everyone that works there is extremely kind and hard-working. That and the proximity to the work site is the only thing that keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for choosing the Best Western Westminster while you are in town for business. I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

I am excited to tell you we are renovating in the winter of 2014! I hope you will keep coming back and look forward to a new look with us!

Again, thanks for sharing your feedback and I will pass on your wonderful comments regarding our employees. We have a great TEAM here at the Best Western Westminster and it shows!

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
General Manager
Best Western Westminster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed at this property twice in the past, the last time being about 9 years ago. And we will stay there again as the location is best for our needs when visiting relatives in the area. It is showing its age, however. The first thing I noticed was that someone tried to repaint the white aluminum exterior doors white with a paint brush, and did not do very well! Stayed two nights early in May 2013. First room assigned we rejected outright as one of the beds was broken, with its head downward in a Trendelenburg position. Immediately moved to another room which was okay, but the toilet handle broke the next morning and as it was Sunday, apparently no one was available to fix it...despite having clear access to the room all day while we were away. So unable to flush the toilet, we moved to yet another room at 11:30 PM upon our return after a long day of touring. All of the rooms had the lowest vanities in the bathrooms I have seen anywhere, ever: Barely 26 inches high! Okay if you are short, but quite a bend for taller folks. Overall cleanliness was good and staff was very helpful/friendly. Minimal selection continental breakfast is included with hard-boiled eggs as the only protein offered. Problems aside, the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Westminster. It is very important for all of my staff to deliver a great experience to all our guests. I see we fell short and I want you to know I will be using your feedback to discuss and put fourth new policies and procedures so these issues do not happen again.

I really appreciate you giving us another chance and we will certainly look forward to making your stay problem free. 100% guest satisfaction is what we strive for and will certainly do so.

In closing, I want you to know I will absolutely take care of these issues thank you again for bringing them to my attention.

Best regards,

Cammy Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Although this hotel could use a little exterior spiffing up and attention to the landscaping, we found it very clean and comfortable and quiet, the latter despite being at a busy intersection. The staff (desk, maintenance and housekeeping) were all friendly, well-dressed and attentive. Our bed was just right, and we thought the towels were superb. Good television selection. Room a little small but it included two easy chairs, micro-fridge and full mirror. Lots of bathroom space and a good shower. Breakfast covered all the bases except for any hot foods (waffles, of course) and it was just fine. Nice selection of tea and a flavored coffee creamer at the 24-hour lobby table. Pool was not open but looked inviting. Grocery store and some shopping/dining across the street. We will be re-booking when we return to the area later this month.

Room Tip: Hotel has two parallel corridors, one of which is closer to the highway. We were not in this secctio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestminster, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Good Afternoon Mary Jane,

We appreciate your stay with us at the Best Western Westminster and posting your positive comments about your recent visit on TripAdvisor.

From your review it certainly sounds like we delivered a great experience! Thank you for commenting on all of our amenities; we could not have said it better ourselves.

We look forward to your future stay with us!

Best Regards,

Cammy Hipp
General Manager
Best Western Westminster
"Fresh Coffee & Warm Hospitality served daily"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center

Address: 451 WMC Drive, Westminster, MD 21158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Westminster
Westminster Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Westminster Catering & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.