We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reccoment it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Inn

Save Saved
You added Boston Inn to your Saves list
Boston Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boston Inn
533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Westminster
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reccoment it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed at Boson Inn a couple times. The nice looking rooms are clean. Had refrigerator, hairdryer, iron, internet, flat screen TV with HBO. Motel desk help are helpful and nice to you. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    12
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was going to give them three stars because for what they are it seemed like a nice place. It's a budget hotel - old style motel where you park right outside the door. The room was an OK size and was clean. Queen size bed was fairly comfortable. There was no clock, but I'm used to that in a budget place. However when I went to get ice for my drink and discovered that they charge for ice my rating dropped dramatically.
They are very pet friendly, and the front office staff was very nice and friendly. However she and another employee were standing right in front of the door to the office smoking when I pulled up, so had no choice but to walk through the lingering smoke to get into the office.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Unfortunatly we have an older ice machine that does take a quarter for ice but it has been disabled for several years and the ice is free. The quarter slot is still on the machine and does make it appear that it costs for ice but it has been disabled and should have had a sign on it stating ice was free but it could have fell off or been removed by someone and we were not aware. We would hate to loose a customer over .25 cents and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westminster hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

For the most part, the room was cleaner than I thought it would be. But the room smelt musty, it was dingy and very outdated. The computer didn't work, & the computer wouldn't play DVDs... I realized that after I had just bought 2 red boxes so that was a bummer. I didn't feel safe. There were a lot of sketchy people who also stayed and they would stay outside until like 1 in the morning on their phones, being disrespectful and if you came out of your room they would stare at you. Walls were very thin. Heard a couple having very loud sex next door. Staff gave me a weird vibe, since I'm so young, they kind of treated me like I was some kind of deviant. But long story short, staying there a night or two wouldn't hurt anybody, good price, but I would have much rathered stayed at another near by hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Boston Inn in Westminster Maryland is a quiet and pleasant motel.

Started in 1962, it still retains its vintage atmostphere, but with recently updated rooms including HD TVs, free Wi-Fi and computer, and micro-fridge. The hotel also has a pool and large, nicely manicured lawn. It is pet-friendly as well.

The hotel is conveniently located to Baltimore and even Washington DC for Orioles and Ravens games, historic sites such as Gettysburg, Ft McHenry, etc. Westminster has many restaurants and shopping areas, many near the hotel. It also has a number of businesses, Horse Estates, and lovely, rolling hills farmland.

Our rooms have always been spotless and well-kept. The room-rate makes it a great bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good Budget Motel in the center of Westminster. The room was large, clean and the free Wi Fi was fast enough for a vacation traveler. The office had free coffee and donuts for breakfast and the office staff were helpful and friendly. Only comment was the absence of small shampoo bottles and the soap pads were small but this can be expected in a budget motel. They also give a AAA and AARP discount resulting in a very affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room smelt awful and bathroom was gross. Not recommended unless you are in a jam and don't need to be there much. At least it was quiet enough even with a ton of dogs in town. Some of the rooms are worse than others, but everything I owned smelled terrible after staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our facility. We wish you would have came and spoke with us so that we could have tried and corrected the situation and made your stay more enjoyable. We are a family owned and operated property that has been in business for over 20 years and take great pride in our property. We may be an older property that does not have all the modern updates as some of our competitors but we do strive in keeping our property clean and well maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

WE stayed here in the middle of a bad storm.... the room was small,clean and safe..
The room was cheap in price and we got just what you expect from a cheap motel.
The people are nice and helpful.
We payed 59.00 tax and all...

Room Tip: We stayed in a room beside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Inn

Address: 533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1960's as lee's motel the hotel was the only hotel in the area. Starting out as only 20 rooms we have grown over the years to a 118 room property with a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel was bought in 1992 and the name was changed to the Boston Inn. Many changes have been made through out the years to keep up with the modern times but the property still keeps its older "traditional" mom and pop Inn feel. We recently added LCD HD T.V's to all our rooms as well as a Dell desktop computer and free wireless internet through out the property.Very convenient to McDaniel College, Carroll County Farm Museum, Carroll County Ag Center, and Union Mills Homestead. We are about 30 minutes from Owings Mills, Reisterstown, and Frederick, and about 45 minutes from Baltimore, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Westminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.