We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price, but road noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Inn

Boston Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boston Inn to your Saves list
Boston Inn
533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Binghamton NY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good for the price, but road noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The room looked like it had just been painted - very clean, and the maid service was excellent. Furniture was outdated, but we had a flat screen tv. Grounds were clean and pretty, plentiful for walking the dogs - lots of trash recepticles. Shopping center just behind the inn,easy walk. Breakfast offered was packaged donuts and coffee, but better than nothing. Staff was friendly. Only issue was 4-lane Rte. 140 runs right in front of the inn, and there doesn't seem to be an escape from the road noise. Most of the rooms which would be quieter just have one double bed. Two doubles are on ground floor (great for the dogs) and kings with jacuzzis are on 2nd fl.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    12
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Boston Inn from January 2011 until Sept 2011, and found it to be outstanding. The people in the office were always friendly and helpful. First half of the stay was in one of the deluxe rooms (ok a few of the regular rooms are a little sketchy but the bostons are constantly upgrading). Second half of stay I was in a small house there between two of the buildings that is the best deal going. barely more than the rooms and it was a house. Great place and only two other hotels in town , Best Western and Days Inn but they cost double or so.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerd
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here one night while visiting friends in the area. There are many other newer places in Westiminster but we were not looking for anythig fancy for a one night stay. Just a good clean room at a good rate which this place provided. I think this is the first place we every stayed in that provided a computer in the room. We were told they are being phased out since everyone seems to have their own computers, iPads, etc. now. on the downside, the shower water temp. could not be controlled, going from hot to cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hershey pa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Just a simple,clean place. Loved that there was.a computer in the room Nice service, good place

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This is not a good place to stay unless you are not black, I came to this hotel for a wedding that was being held at martin ,bride booked 30 rooms.when i called over the phone all was okay and gave my card number all was fine but when i came in person on 10/08/2011 i was told needed a credit card and I ask why because no one told me I need a major credit card and was told quote unquote the person Dottie said to me ( you people come to a wedding and get drunk and steal and broke things so yours will need a credit card and she will let me go this time but next time she wouldn't,I told her i would not be coming back and if not for no other hotel close i would not had stay there

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is my motel of choice for the annual Great American Cake Show. I stayed there for the first time in 2010 and liked it enough to stay again--and this time bring my hubby. I've only stayed one night on both occassions, so can't speak to the service for longer stays. I would say that this is a comfortable, no frills place. The room was clean (bug and bed bug free- thank God) and, in my opinion, spacious for the price. There was wifi in the room and a a nice microwave and 'fridge. The beds were comfy and we had a good night's sleep. There's also a good sized pool on the property, which was not opened yet for the seaon.
The lady at the front desk --I think she's one of the owners--was very friendly both times that I was there.

As others have said, the bathrooms are small and could use a little sprucing up. I would not recommend their "continental breakfast-" it's just dry, grocery store doughnuts and weak coffee. You're better off checking out any of the many nearby restaurants for breakfast. :-) There are a lot of stores and also a mall with a movie theatre nearby. (We had dinner and a movie while there.) The Boston Inn is not fancy by any means, but a good stay for the money. I'll be there again next May.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were regulars here. When the hustle and bustle got to us we liked to just stay a couple nights to relax. Besides for the cheap rates you get really cheap service. There is an old lady who has worked there for many years due to a lack of a college degree and is very rude to us if not all the guests. After staying many times, I call to check if there was a room avaliable and the guy tells me that the owners placed me on the do not rent list. For what reason? He did not know the reason. After cleaning the room prior to checkout and being very nice to all of the lazy staff, and this is the treatment we get. Not to mentiom that the rooms are filled with stinkbugs, the air conditioner doesnt work half of the time, and the paper thin walls where you can hear youre neighbors, and the one set of towels you have to hand in to get another. The bottom line is that this hotel is not worth youre money, my advice would be to just spend a few more dollars and go down the street to the days inn, where they go the extra mile to please....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Boston Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
This customer was asked to leave because of the condition she kept the room and her roudy kids. She came to us claiming there was mold in the home she was renting but i later found out she was asked to leave. She has also left a bad review on the other local hotels in the area after she was asked to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Inn

Address: 533 Baltimore Blvd, Westminster, MD 21157
Location: United States > Maryland > Westminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1960's as lee's motel the hotel was the only hotel in the area. Starting out as only 20 rooms we have grown over the years to a 118 room property with a large outdoor swimming pool. The hotel was bought in 1992 and the name was changed to the Boston Inn. Many changes have been made through out the years to keep up with the modern times but the property still keeps its older "traditional" mom and pop Inn feel. We recently added LCD HD T.V's to all our rooms as well as a Dell desktop computer and free wireless internet through out the property.Very convenient to McDaniel College, Carroll County Farm Museum, Carroll County Ag Center, and Union Mills Homestead. We are about 30 minutes from Owings Mills, Reisterstown, and Frederick, and about 45 minutes from Baltimore, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Westminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.