We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay to stay here as long as you get a renovated room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Baltimore Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
North Baltimore Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay to stay here as long as you get a renovated room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel was nice, staff was friendly, maybe a bit confused, when I checked in they gave me a key card packet with the wrong room number, fortunately that room belonged to my Aunt. I went back and they gave me the correct room number. The hotel was full and very busy due to a lacross tournament in the area so I expected a bit of confusion.
The room was very clean and the decor very nice. The bedding was snow white and the sheets were clean and not wrinkled. I felt safe sleeping in the bed eventhough it was a bit soft and had a dent in the middle as if two people had been sleeping on it and never turned the matress. I expect more from a Crown Plaza matress.
Room service was good, we ordered breakfast which arrived in 30 minutes as stated by the order taker. They forgot one item but quickly brought it up after we called down. The event staff was excellent, they came by several times to make sure we had everything we needed.
We were there for a family reunion and received a group rate so I felt I got my money's worth. I'm sure if our family is back in the area again we will choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room or you'll be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We hope to see you, and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    55
    34
    32
See reviews for
50
27
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Although many have complained I found the hotel to be just fine. Clean room. Front desk was slightly understaffed. Only critique is that the airconditioning was not on in the hallways and it was warm. Overall I thought it was nice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I felt the room was spacious and relatively clean and comfortable. The lack of decent air-conditioning through the rest of the build was so very bad. The elevator was like a sauna. The breakfasts were not that great. Most of the time the restaurant was late, opening for breakfast. Also it took forever to get your food. Halfway through my stay they went to a buffet style breakfast and that helped a lot. However one time they opened it a half an hour late. The bar was late opening also. I thought the bed and pillows were very comfy. Plenty of hot water for showers. A couple of the bartenders were great, Jessica and Yonni (Spelling?) took time to provide great service. Check out the Holiday Inn first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered in our restaurant. I was glad to see you enjoyed our rooms and staff. As you described, I believe the recent upgrades to our breakfast buffet will be a great improvement to our restaurant. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

An absolute dump - noisy, dated, absolute no recognition of value towards a Priority Club member, and a General Manager who could not care less about the business traveler. The "restaurant" offers nothing worth using the toilet for ...
Thanks God there at least a Panera within a mile from this dump.
Save your health well-being and money - sleep in the car or buy a tent :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am very sorry if I offended you in any way, and I offer my sincere apologies. I am honestly puzzled as to what I could have done, and I invite you to call me at any time to let me know.

David Marsh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was so disguisting, tried taking a shower and all black water came out, old pee on the toilet, broke. Glass on the floor, sheets smelled like vomit. Will neve stay at this dump again.Also the service would just walk around the hallways doing nothing. Even the trash cans woukd be overflowin, just disguisting

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear ConnorJJj,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza - Baltimore North in April. We stayed there because it is near the Timonium Fair Grounds and we were attending a dog show there. They gave a discount for dog show people, so we thought it was a good deal.
Since we had dogs with us, I assume they gave us the oldest and least nice room in the place. If all the rooms were like this, I don't know how they stay in business.
My friend arrived first and they insisted she pay for the room, even though they had my credit card and I was arriving early the next morning. That night she ran the bathtub water and it was rusty. When I arrived, showed my ID and then took the charge off of her card and put it on mine, then I went to the room. The wall paper was coming off the wall, the sheets and blankets didn't look clean. They were a dingy gray!! I always check under things for pills or things my small dog might find. I was shocked at how dirty it was under and in back of the furniture. I don't think things has been cleaned or moved in years. I noticed that we needed more towels and went to the desk to request them. They said they were busy and had a large crowd there and had to wash their own towels. When they were ready they would bring us some. Next day, still no towels. I didn't want housekeeping service because of the dogs in the room, even though they were in crates. I finally went to the desk again and they did finally send the towels and hung them on our door. My friend went to the lobby to get some morning coffee and she was told that would be $2.00. We assumed since it was sitting out with the water with fruit in it, that there was no charge. On Monday the price of the coffe dropped to $1.00?? Even though we travel with dogs, we still like a clean room and good service. The price was reasonable for a Crowne Plaza and it was near to where we wanted, but even those things would never bring us back to this hotel. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the back of the building. It might be an older, not updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments were very concerning to me.
I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments so I can be sure to adress them appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a nice well maintained hotel. It is close to everything I need. I stayed during the week for business. It's quiet, clean and well maintained. The hotels in this area are hit and miss. This is one of the good ones in my opinion. The Tiki Bar was open but the weather was drizzly when I was there so I didn't get a chance to sample it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for making our day! I will certainly try to make arrangements to have better weather for your next visit, so you can enjoy the Tiki Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to North Baltimore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Address: 2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)
Location: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Baltimore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel! Nestled in the heart of Timonium, between downtown Baltimore and Hunt Valley, the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium, Maryland offers you easy access to the best of Baltimore, including the Inner Harbor, the unique Camden Yards baseball park, and the outstanding National Aquarium. Our hotel offers our guests luxurious lodging and unparalleled amenities. In addition, we offer an outdoor pool, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access in every room, as well as free parking. Guests love that we're close to the Baltimore Convention Center, the Greater Baltimore Medical Center, Light Rail Train, and downtown Baltimore. This hotel in North Baltimore / Timonium, is pleased to offer our guests a 24-hour fitness center by Nautilus with a variety of equipment and flat screen TVs. You can dine in our contemporary restaurant Northern Lights, which serves an impressive menu and signature cocktails with impeccable hospitality. Also, enjoy our seasonal Tiki Bar Thursday - Saturday located by our outdoor pool. With two ballrooms, 18 meeting rooms and an impressive 11,000 sq. ft. Atrium Exhibition Center, we have it all. Choose the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your North Baltimore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.