We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful while visiting at GBMC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Baltimore Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
North Baltimore Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
“Restful while visiting at GBMC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Mom and I shared the room in turns while one of us was at the hospital with dad. The room was very nice. Stayed in the room facing the lobby, noise was very minimal (as much as I could tell being mentally and physically exhausted)-mom got a salad and cheese pizza from the room service. Salad was good, dressing was odd (spicy honey mustard?), the pepporoni pizza was less than desire able. I found the hospital pizza more appetizing. The crust was crunchy, the pizza body was doughy, and there was 1 pepporoni per slice. Forego the pizza, it's not worth it. In all, I would definitely stay at this hotel again, I would pass on the pizza. Will try something different later (my stay is not yet complete).

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask the front desk for help. Mom had a bad room key and the front desk attendant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am happy to see you enjoyed your room. I sincerely apologize for your pizza not being up to par with the rest of the hotel. I hope your dad is recovering nicely, and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    55
    34
    32
See reviews for
50
27
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here again on business. Service was much better than a year ago. Ate dinner & breakfast here. Very good. Still a little pricey & hotel starting to show a little wear. All in all based on reviews that Crowne Plaza is #3 of 3 hotels in Timonium I may try the Holiday Inn on my next business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I’m glad you were able to see some of the improvements we have made over the past year. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future as we continue to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had minor difficulty keeping connected to the Wifi and heard from other members at the convention they had similar problems with the Wifi.

Many of the rooms face inward and this makes the rooms very dark. We turned on our room's hall light when we arrived, but continued to grope in the dark trying to figure out how to light up the room. It would be helpful if the hotel put some type of night light in the inward rooms. Another option for guests is to bring a flashlight.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for informing us of your experiences. We certainly value your input as a convention attendee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were there for a convention so it might have been a factor. Noisy!! Don't stay in the interior rooms that overlook the lobby. Bring your own pillow. FIRM with no other ones available on request. Food was so so at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for informing us of these issues. We do everything in our power to ensure our guests have a restful night's sleep. A change in room location or more pillows will gladly be delivered to you upon request. As for our cuisine, in an effort to provide an appetizing and diverse menu, our items frequently change seasonally to meet the needs of our customers. Thank you once again for your input as we continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I ate in the restaurant on the morning of my checkout. My servers name was tony and he went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied.I was actually having a bad day and tony talked with me until my food was ready. He is a breath of fresh air for my dining experience. I would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It was very kind of you to let us know about your experience with Tony in the restaurant. I’m sure it will make his day when I show him your review. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Truthfully the 2-double bed room in the hotel is decently sized and comfortable. But the overall feeling in the public areas of the hotel was that it was outdated.

Pros:
- Room decoration had a nice, comfortable, neutral, updated feel. There were nice touches including a few a large decorative mirrors, warm textured wallpaper, chic lamps, and stylish high headboards.
- The blankets and sheets were nice, soft, and felt clean without being too stiff.
- 38" wide screen flat panel TV
- Outdoor pool and well-equipped & well-lit indoor gym.
- Free hot tea & fruit-infused water in the lobby

Cons:
- The pillows were worn, flabby, and desperately needed to be replaced.
- There was gum stuck to the carpet
- The room was not wide enough to accommodate the pull-out desk and office chair.
- Poor housekeeping & front desk service. Requested additional towels from guest services which never arrived.
- The worst hotel guide/directory i have ever seen. There were no food or shopping suggestions in the neighborhood, and no information on food or pool options in the hotel.
- The sole window in the room was only 1/3 the width of the room. In other words, it was tinier than I've seen in any comparable hotel room I've stayed in, and barely let any natural light in.
- No continental breakfast or restaurant serving hot breakfast on premises.

Conclusion:
This is a good hotel for business or conferences, but definitely not for families and not for recreation or holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Your input will be valuable as we make improvements. I hope we have the opportunity to give you an amazing experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

While the hotel itself was comfortable enough, my fourth floor room overlooking the parking lot had peeling wallpaper, scuffed furniture, and antiquated heating/cooling. Of the two narrow windows, one was totally obscured by large streaks of some white substance (bleach?) on the outside. The kicker came on checkout when I noticed an extra charge of $62 from the restaurant/bar. When I contested this, the revenue manager made me wait while she rifled through the receipts to find the error, delaying my departure and essentially accusing me of lying. I have changed the five rooms I had reserved at another Crowne Plaza property to a Hilton. I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium have larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I would like to apologize for not giving you the service we are capable of. I can understand how the inconvenience of dealing with a billing error. Thank you for letting us know so improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Baltimore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Address: 2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)
Location: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Baltimore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel! Nestled in the heart of Timonium, between downtown Baltimore and Hunt Valley, the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium, Maryland offers you easy access to the best of Baltimore, including the Inner Harbor, the unique Camden Yards baseball park, and the outstanding National Aquarium. Our hotel offers our guests luxurious lodging and unparalleled amenities. In addition, we offer an outdoor pool, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access in every room, as well as free parking. Guests love that we're close to the Baltimore Convention Center, the Greater Baltimore Medical Center, Light Rail Train, and downtown Baltimore. This hotel in North Baltimore / Timonium, is pleased to offer our guests a 24-hour fitness center by Nautilus with a variety of equipment and flat screen TVs. You can dine in our contemporary restaurant Northern Lights, which serves an impressive menu and signature cocktails with impeccable hospitality. Also, enjoy our seasonal Tiki Bar Thursday - Saturday located by our outdoor pool. With two ballrooms, 18 meeting rooms and an impressive 11,000 sq. ft. Atrium Exhibition Center, we have it all. Choose the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your North Baltimore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.