We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added North Baltimore Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
North Baltimore Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was pretty disappointed by the room. The staff was friendly enough but the room seemed dirty. The walls were scuffed up and the furniture had stains. I did have a decent room service meal, though - and the bathroom was strangely modern and nice. They really need to improve or update this hotel. It was kind of gross. Maybe it was just my room. It was especially depressing when I opened the blind to my window to discover that it overlooked the interior atrium and not the outside. Yuck. I would avoid this place until they get it together.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    55
    34
    32
See reviews for
50
27
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had originally planned to stay closer in to Baltimore but a week or 2 before the trip I discovered this on the Priority Club bestfares list for only 5,000 points per night, which meant that for 20,000 points we were able to stay 4 nights. And 20,000 is normally 1 night at a Crowne Plaza.

Building is a bit dated and has a strange layout. Big central area that is open all the way to the top, don't recall how many floors, somewhere between 5 and 8. And since it's a convention/event type hotel and that central area is used for big events, meaning many people, it could get noisy and the sound carried. And our room faced the central area, not the exterior of the hotel. So a couple nights, 1 when they distributed pizzas to a large number of ball players who were staying there, and another when there was some late night drunken wedding revelers, it was noisier then I would have liked. And one night, either, middle of the night or early, early morning they were setting up tables which was also noisy.

On check-in I tried to change to another room but they were totally full on the Saturday night and there were no other options. I suppose because my reservation wasn't booked very far ahead, and wasn't part of the several events (weddings, reunions, business meetings) going on that even my Priority Club Platinum status had no pull.

The room itself was pretty standard. Nothing special for this type of hotel, comfortable but not lux. The furnishings were a bit dated but still in good condition.

What turned out to be a nice surprise however was the hotel is maybe half a mile from a commuter rail station which we used a couple days to go into Baltimore when our plans and public transit meshed well. It is so nice not to have to deal with a car when you're in a urban area you don't know. Not to mention how much cheaper it is, parking close to the harbor area in Baltimore is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We can't Thank your team enough!!! The Crowne Plaza in Timonium was on it!!! The Sales Manager Julia Schaffer knows her stuff!! She and her team made our wedding perfect. The Crowne Plaza was extremely accommodating from booking reservations to planning our ceremony, reception, and keeping the bar open until 2ish for our wedding to last the entire night!! We wouldn't have changed a thing. The service was phenomenal!! Everyone was more than accommadating. Most Brides & Grooms do not eat on their wedding night, not at The Crowne Plaza, the staff serves you and constantly refreshes your beverages so you don't have to leave the dance floor. Everything was set up and executed perfectly.

Thanks to everyone who helped in making our night more than perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at the hotel with a large group of Lacrosse Players. The location was superb, customer service A+. We had a large buffet dinner planned at the Hotel on one evening. Due to the length of time at the games, everyone arrived very late back at the hotel. We were served our dinner after 10:00pm, some folks did not arrive until after 11:00. This was not a problem for any of the staff. We were treated with curtosey and respect. After dinner, some folks we were a little loud. The mgmt. politely asked us to move to another location so that we did not disturb other guests. The Tiki bar and pool were great fun.
Hope to return next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Friendly front-desk service, nice lobby area with tons of seating, comfortable bedding, clean rooms, and spacious bathrooms made for an enjoyable stay. Most of the hotel is non smoking and I got no sense of smoke anywhere. The hallways are excessively noisy from what I think is air conditioning on overdrive. I had to keep the room fan blowing to mask out the noise. This was the only real negative I have to say. I was surprised that there was no gift shop (at least that I could find in the very long main lobby) considering it is a full-service hotel. Plenty of parking. My room did face the lobby but excellent darkening shades to completely block out everything. Again, it's the friendly staff that puts this into the four-star category. The staff member checking me in was so friendly, it set the tone for the entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I'll start with the positive, the beds are really comfortable. Their fifth floor is the "quiet floor" - which is awesome. They don't book large groups, families, children, circus animals, etc. They also had shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, lotion, mouthwash, soap and coffee. The staff was pleasant and great to interact with.

The place is generally average. The air conditioning / heater units didn't appear to be based on thermostats. They are either on and off - and they are quite loud.

While free wireless is awesome, the signal was quite weak and went in and out.

My room had a clean floor, but the bed linens had small stains on them (nothing major...) The sprinkler in the bathroom (in case of fires) had a ton of rust on it. My room also faced a freeway, and they weren't very protected for noise.

I will continue to stay there as I do business in a building nearby, but if you're not there for something that is nearby, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I travel all of the time for work and spend way too much time in hotels. There are a lot of great looking hotels out there like the Crowne Plaza in Timonium. What made this weekend stay here memorable was the exceptional hotel team there. Always smiling, always happy, eager to help .... Front Desk, Housekeeping, Restuarant staff ... everyone.

We were in town visitng friends and I come somewhat close to the area for work and I will now stay here on my monthly visits to town. Free wifi ...great restaurant, large guestrooms, and really affordable rates.

Like I said very nice hotel but the staff sets pushes them over the top!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Baltimore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Baltimore Plaza Hotel

Address: 2004 Greenspring Dr, Timonium, MD 21093-4114 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel - Baltimore North)
Location: United States > Maryland > Timonium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Baltimore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel! Nestled in the heart of Timonium, between downtown Baltimore and Hunt Valley, the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium, Maryland offers you easy access to the best of Baltimore, including the Inner Harbor, the unique Camden Yards baseball park, and the outstanding National Aquarium. Our hotel offers our guests luxurious lodging and unparalleled amenities. In addition, we offer an outdoor pool, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access in every room, as well as free parking. Guests love that we're close to the Baltimore Convention Center, the Greater Baltimore Medical Center, Light Rail Train, and downtown Baltimore. This hotel in North Baltimore / Timonium, is pleased to offer our guests a 24-hour fitness center by Nautilus with a variety of equipment and flat screen TVs. You can dine in our contemporary restaurant Northern Lights, which serves an impressive menu and signature cocktails with impeccable hospitality. Also, enjoy our seasonal Tiki Bar Thursday - Saturday located by our outdoor pool. With two ballrooms, 18 meeting rooms and an impressive 11,000 sq. ft. Atrium Exhibition Center, we have it all. Choose the North Baltimore Plaza Hotel in Timonium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Baltimore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Timonium
Crowne Plaza Hotel Timonium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Baltimore Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.