We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn to your Saves list
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6176 Tilghman Island Road, Tilghman, MD 21671   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$120 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 6 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The very clean rooms are decorated in white wicker and face the water with a spectacular sunset. There are boats of all descriptions around the property for refurbishing/repair. Our room is very quiet with a very comfortable bed. A basic breakfast of raisin bread, bagels, cereal and fruit is available from 7-10:00 in a light and spacious room also decorated in white wicker. . Unfortunately the restaurant is closed for renovation. Bikes are available.

Room Tip: Being on the top floor is always preferable to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    76
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
143
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

BARKING DOGS CONSTANTLY THIN WALLS WITH KIDS SCREAMING 155 PLUS TAX A NIGHT FOR a front balcony with a roof obstruction and back balcony with railings in the way, flimsy chairs on patio, can't wait to see breakfast HA!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We apologize for your dissatisfaction with your experience at Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn. However, our Inn is a family and pet-friendly establishment. We hope that parents and pet owners will respect our patrons, but cannot promise that they will. The balconies are built in compliance with the county building codes, which are beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at Knapps 4-5 times.It is a simple,attractive and very clean,attractive "no frills" place to escape to,on quiet Tilghman Island.Rooms have rattan furniture and balconies overlooking boats,birds and water.Stay on the top floor for great views.NOISY air conditioning compressors are an issue, deserving remedy,but not on 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Third floor !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The view is amazing, the setting is great, and the facilities (lounge, bikes, etc) are nice.

But:

a) The ceiling between the 1st and 2nd floor are insubstantial, so you can hear upstairs guests tromping around.

b) Room 102 (where we were) shares a wall with 7 hvac units, which are noisy (don't stay in 102 whatever you do).

c) The lobby is unmanned after hours (7PMish) and nobody answers the phone number that they leave for guests to call - so good luck switching rooms if you find yourself in a room that is too noisy.

Loses two stars in my book due to those three issues.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in room 102. All rooms appear to have views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. These observations will help us improve our facility. We are currently working on the ones that we can change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having read the most recent reviews, one might find mine rather benign. Perhaps we're spoiled!!! Knapp's is an extremely clean inn and the staff were very friendly. Our room was very nice and spacious for a queen room but nothing out of the ordinary - usual amenities in the bathroom, wifi, small flatscreen TV, etc. The wicker furniture was uncomfortable if you want to watch TV or sit for long periods of time, particularly in the evening. The room was somewhat lacking in decore. It was a room. On the more positive side, the views were really great. Because we had a corner room, we could watch the boat traffic on the Narrows from our balcony or see the view of the bay and sunset from the side window. The marina is quite active, so in the am. there's lots of activity. Our first 2 nights were nice and quiet, but on the 3rd we realized the walls are paperthin, when a few fishermen got together and kept us up after midnight and then again at 4 am. The continental breakfast was average - nothing to rave about. We've stayed at several other places in St. Michael's and for the price at Knapp's, they were somewhat better.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a better view - otherwise you have the boats staged in the marina in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I surprised my wife for our 30th wedding anniversary with a trip to St. Michael's for a weekend. We had never been to this area so it was a nice surprise for both of us. We were very pleased with the Inn. The room was clean and bright, the girl at the front desk was very pleasant. The grounds were kept nice and we loved the view of the water and boats. There was not much of a breakfast selection but that won't keep us from staying here again for future visit's to the area. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn. We were in town for a friends wedding and the Inn was extremely accommodating. Cell phone service wasn't great, which actually made our trip all the more relaxing! We had outstanding customer service from each individual we encountered, and our room was clean & cozy! Felt like a home away from home (minus the daily stress!) We would definitely recommend Knapp' Narrows Marina & Inn to anyone who is interested in a weekend getaway. We loved the beautiful view right outside our room. Absolutely breathtaking to watch the sunrise/sunset. We would love to visit again when the weather is a little bit warmer! This location is close to St Michaels which you can venture towards for shopping, restaurants, brewery, and winery. Overall we had a great experience and wouldn't change a thing! Looking forward to visiting again and bringing some friends from NC back with us. Thank you for your hospitality Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn. (Also, no pets allowed in the room we stayed in which was great. I'm not sure what the business hours are during the summer, but one thing we were surprised about was how most everything was shut down by 8pm on a Friday night. Again, this made for a more relaxing stay for us, but it might be something to consider if you're wanting to stay out later and venture around the island.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn

Address: 6176 Tilghman Island Road, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful three story Inn located in historic Tilghman Island a quaint fishing village on Maryland's Eastern Shore. Our rooms are meticulously maintained. First floor rooms have patios overlooking Back Creek. Second and third floor rooms have balconies overlooking the Chesapeake Bay. All rooms have a gorgeous sunset view. Watch blue heron, bald eagles, osprey and white tail deer from your room. We have a complimentary continental breakfast. Pool, Wifi, Salon, Bikes and kayaks on site. Charter fishing, sailboat charters and light house tours depart daily from our dock in season. A peaceful retreat to get away from it all. Our Inn is located just 12 miles to St. Michaels, a scenic 15 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knapp`s Narrows Marina And Inn
Knapp`s Narrows Marina Hotel Tilghman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.