We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Walnut Point Inn to your Saves list
Black Walnut Point Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Black Walnut Point Inn became our home away from home for four amazing days over Labor Day weekend 2013. Surrounded by water on three sides, the BWPI sits on the southern most point of Tilghman Island. You can literally watch the sunrise on the east side of the peninsula and the sun set on the west. We stayed in one of the rustic cozy water front cabins that is nestled between the main house bed and breakfast and the water. The cabins have AC, a cute kitchen with all the basic necessities (pots, pans & utensils), fridge, microwave, electric stove and oven, dishwasher, TV, gas log fireplace and a wonderful screened in porch with rocking chairs. Sitting on the porch with the bay breeze...it doesn't get much better than that.
Breakfast is delish and is served daily by the fabulous inn-keepers who are artists at hospitality. During the day we wandered the property - viewed birds, swung in hammocks and swam in the in-ground pool. Hopping into the hot tub was a perfect end to the day! We both accomplished a level of relaxation rarely achieved and were truly sad when we left. BUT...booked the next trip for weekend in October.
We didn't need to leave! And that's exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    52
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
211
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been coming to Tilghman Island for many years now, and the best place to stay for total relaxation is the Black Walnut Point Inn! The owners continue to make it comfortable and enjoyable. Absolutely LOVE IT!

Room Tip: All rooms have waterfront views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the end of the road, in its own enclave, on a point of land on the East shore of Chesapeake Bay. Watch the sun rise from your bed, and the sun set from a hammock. The two hosts are friendly and informative but know to stay out of the way when desired. Breakfast provides an array of choices. Birdwatchers will be in paradise. The rooms are low key, functional but not fussy. Several sitting rooms, enclosed porches outdoor tables and seats, a nice pool, all are great places to do very little other than listen to the wind, birds, insects, waves, or to read. I have rarely found a better place to relax.

Room Tip: The three cabins, though more expensive, are larger and have screened in porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigboy53
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for a break from our hectic lives of work, children and grandchildren-- & found a fabulous spot. Black Walnut Inn on the southern point of the Eastern shore. What great hosts Bob and Tracy are, and the location was perfect. The room was clean and well appointed. Two minor issues. The electrical outlets in the bedroom of the main house are not upgraded to "three prong grounded outlets" so I was unable to use my power strip adapter. The shower was like a cruise ship small but worked well. I plan to return and strongly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were fortunate to spent one Friday night at the Inn while visiting St. Michaels. The hospitality and surroundings can't be bettered anywhere. Lightning late in the evening provided a dramatic, unobstructed, panoramic light show. Being located in a MD state wildlife refuge, it's helpful to have a thorough understanding of when you'll arrive - after hours you must negotiate a locked gate.

Room Tip: The Attic Room is an excellent value. Small and accessed by stairs that demand a bit of contortion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you Bob & Tracy and all the great people of Talbot County. We booked the Inn sight unseen based on reviews and phone conversations with the owners. We met other guests and got them involved in the wedding as well.
The point is beautiful and the wildlife and views are stunning. Both Bob & Tracy are great story tellers and you just want to sit on the porch and talk....great entertainers.
The breakfasts were great and no one went away hungry.
We cannot with to return. The inn and the owners have a special place in our hearts.

We love you guys!

JT & Patrick

Ohhh....when in Tilghman Island, be sure to stop in a Two If By Sea Cafe.....Henry makes great food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two nights recently at the Black Walnut Point Inn. Bob and Tracy were gracious hosts. Our room--the Talbot--is on the second floor. There are three steps down into the room from the hall--and three steps from the room to the private bathroom. The bathroom is adequate. The shower reminded me of some cruise ship showers. It's tiny. The staircase going up does have a low ceiling that challenged my 6'3" frame. Fortunately, I only bumped my head once. The queen bed slept great. I wish the pillows were better. There's also a twin bed in the room.

I enjoyed walking in the early mornings, watching the sun rise over the water and the birds in the sanctuary. The water in the pool is cool but refreshing after the shock wears off. (A heater would be nice.) There are a variety of lawn games, plenty of hammocks and chairs near the water, and also a hot tub. Inside there are board games, a piano, and a guitar that guests are welcomed to use.

Breakfasts were tasty. A better variety would have been nice. They featured pancakes one morning and french toast the next. They served a tasty egg dish both mornings. There was also fresh watermelon (and a little cantaloupe). A few cereals are there for people who wish to eat them. A small variety of snacks was available 24-7--vanilla Oreos, trail mix, and pretzel bites. I'd love to see Bob and Tracy kick it up a notch--maybe homemade cookies and granola instead of purchased varieties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
10.4 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
11.7 mi away
Harbourtowne Golf Resort and Conference Center
9.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
10.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tilghman Island Inn
Tilghman Island Inn
#4 of 6 in Tilghman
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.