We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful and a great way to "refresh"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Black Walnut Point Inn to your Saves list
Black Walnut Point Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful and a great way to "refresh"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I spent 3 nights (Mon-Wed) at the Inn during a much needed "me time" trip. The view is amazing and the surroundings are very peaceful......with the exception of construction that had just begun to make some much needed repairs to the stone wall surrounding the property. The house and rooms could use a bit of updating. I stayed in the attic hideaway which, while a bit small, was the perfect size for me. The breakfasts were made to order by Mrs. Virginia and Peggy and were delicious! The hosts, Tracy and Bob, were fun, down to earth gentlemen and it was a pleasure getting acquainted with them. I will definitely return, Lord willing, as my trip did wonders for my soul and it was just what I needed. A special thanks to Tracy who made it possible for me to make my trip......what a great guy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    47
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
188
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruckersville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this location and setting of this B&B is outstanding. The views and peacefulness are wonderful. The inn however needs some updating. The house is showing it’s age and could greatly use a face lift. While the pool is in good shape, my wife and I had hoped to use the hot tub. It was not available and appeared to also to be in need of repair. The breakfast were nothing more than ordinary. For what we were paying I would have expected that a refresh of our room would be standard but we were questioned on if we needed the room to be refreshed, and if we wanted clean towels. The last point I would make is that while Bob and Tracy seem like fine individuals but the most we interacted with them was during check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bob and Tracy were friendly and gracious hosts. They made us feel very welcome. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The Inn has water access for kayaks, which we could not find anywhere else on Tilghman Island without a hefty price. We also enjoyed the pool and the quiet surroundings. The landscape is beautiful and natural. Breakfast was delicious and we were provided with many options. Although pricey, I highly recommend the Black Walnut Point Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great place, great views, great owners, and I can't wait to go back. This was my second stay and had a great time. I was able to fish and caught many different kids if fish and a couple of stingrays as well. The birds are everywhere from blue herons, ospreys, and eagles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins, so peaceful, fantastic water views. Bob and Tracy are great hosts. Located on a bird sanctuary at the tip of a peninsula between the Choptank River and the Chesapeake Bay, property is leased from the state of MD. If you want extreme privacy at 'the end of the world', go and stay here. Breakfast was plentiful, all you want of small egg soufles, fruit salad, cereals and waffles. This is not a fancy B&B, it's just totally homey.,

Room Tip: Try the cabin, a bit pricey but a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The southern tip of Tilghman island is where the Choptank River meets the Chesapeake Bay. Black Walnut Point is here, in a bird sanctuary. We saw four Bald Eagles, and there are Osprey nesting there. Also, lots of really cute baby barn swallows in nests. A storm rolled in, which we watched from the screened in porch. In the beginning of the storm, a a rainbow on the front of a huge thunderhead rolled across a sunny sky, down the river, into the Bay. Bob and Tracey, the innkeepers, are the nicest people ever. The next day, we had a lovely morning in the lovely pool, shaded by big old trees. The guests were interesting and not intrusive. Apparently, there's excellent fishing there too. This place is really special. Go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I wanted a few days away ad never been to the Eastern Shore. I picked the Black Walnut Point inn after I saw the photo of the property from the air. It was exactly what we were looking for. It was so private and relaxing. We felt like we were on our own private estate.

Bob and Tracy went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. I have very specific dietary needs and they had special food just for me. They make great mint tea which is available all day long.

It was really hot the days we were there and it was so nice and cool in the house. Made it great to sleep. The pool was wonderful also.

We would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: I think the detached cabins would be great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Walnut Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Point Inn

Address: 4417 Black Walnut Point Road, P. O. Box 308, Tilghman, MD 21671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Walnut Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Walnut Point Inn is located at the end of Tilghman Island on 57 acres of a waterfront wildlife sanctuary. Our own six-acre island at the end of the point, you can watch the sunrise over the Choptank River and set over the Chesapeake Bay. Both the 1840s house and private luxury cabins are open year-round, and every accommodation has endless water views and private baths. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, bird watching, fishing or just relaxing with a good book. If you enjoy nature or need a private retreat, come to the Black Walnut Point Inn - the secret place of peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Black Walnut Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Point Hotel Tilghman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.