We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Trevanion Rd, Taneytown, MD 21787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Taneytown B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel. We were there on a Friday night and were able to take advantage of an unbelievable bargain at $100 per person. It included afternoon tea, a historic room with poster bed and working fireplace, a five course dinner and full breakfast. The property has a wonderful pub with fireplace, it must have been the original kitchen in for the property. The grounds are lovely and well manicured with pool, tennis and croquet. There is a great separate building for meetings and receptions. I could not believe this property was there and we had not heard of it before. It will be on our list of regular stays several times a year.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the second floor of the main house or the separate cottage down by the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
97
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the host of a corporate event that included an overnight stay and dinner. While we were at dinner, several items were stolen from our room -diamond earrings that were a wedding gift and therefore sentimental, a wallet was emptied of all cash, several lip sticks and lip glosses, and sunglasses were stolen. We didn't notice the items were missing until the next morning, when we notified the manager and called the police over the objection of the manager. The room was locked when we went to dinner and locked when we returned so the police questioned the Antrim staff that did turn-down service the night before.

Although the head of housecleaning assisted with searching the room, interest in this crime by Antrim's management is a different story. The manager and owner were uninterested in the fact that a theft took place on their property, much less a theft committed by someone entrusted by the owner with a key. Despite our long history as a customer, at no time did the owner of Antrim take any initiative to address this with us.

We know that someone with a key to our room committed this crime. Over the last 8 years we hosted our wedding reception and several corporate events as well as made many visits for overnight stays. This unfortunate incident has tarnished all the happy memories we had of Antrim and the many events we hosted there. We recommend that you find another place to spend the night until the ownership changes.

A property that claims to be a luxury inn should at least know the criminal history of who is working for them as well as put more more than a facade of support for their guests when a police-investigated crime is committed there.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Manager at Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
This individual’s review is false, misleading and bordering on slanderous. The Taneytown police department has recognized many false statements from this review and would be happy to speak with anyone regarding concerns about Antrim 1844 or our cooperation in this matter.

Antrim has been under the same ownership for 25 years and we pride ourselves in providing a place where our guests feel welcome and leave feeling refreshed and relaxed. All of our employees undergo criminal background checks prior to employment and we hold our employees at the strictest expectations for behavior and actions on the property. The owner came in immediately to speak with the police and has given his full cooperation as has the rest of the staff.

Despite the reviewer’s claim, no other guest in his party reported anything to us about lost or stolen items, either at check out or a later time. Additionally, the police have never reported to us additional claims. The police have not, since the reviewer’s report to them, ever asked us for any additional information or even asked to speak to any individuals. As the police have found no evidence linking anyone to this incident, or even evidence of a theft, there have been no charges filed or resolution to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Last year I wrote a review about how we rode out Hurricane Sandy at Antrim and the wonderful way we were treated. We were back this same week to again celebrate my wife's birthday and it was wonderful. Lance, Dave, Craig, Jordan, and Amanda treated us like family. We stayed in the Taney Suite in the Smith House. It is just as nice as the pictures reveal. When we skipped house keeping and later asked if we could get ice and kindling for the fireplace, Dave was there in 5 minutes with both. Craig gave my wife the table by the fireplace she had requested for her birthday dinner. Requests like this can be accommodated when there are only 4 other couples dining, and we would never ask on a Saturday night. We had two new servers, for us, Jordan and Amanda. They were very attentive and took excellent care of all 4 couples in our small dining room. Lance made sure he answered any questions when we arrived and when we left. I had an email from him when I got back to my office later the same day. They even presented us with a gift, a bottle of Pat O'Brien's Hurricane Cocktail mix. We will keep it and might bring it back each year to keep in the room. We have already decided what room we want to try for her next birthday. We did not know there was a new chef until we saw the menu. We were not disappointed. When you go out for fine dining and want and eat the same thing two nights in a row, you know it is good. The salad was so good, we asked them not to make us a different salad the second night, as they had done the year before. I could have dined off the bread I soaked in the mussels' white wine and herb sauce. You could cut the filet with a fork, I did. My wife's appetizer pasta was as good as any pasta dish she has ever eaten. The desserts are just ridiculous. We actually skipped the delicious breakfast the second morning as we were still stuffed from dinner. We still have to come during the summer and enjoy that time of the year at Antrim. I feel very lucky to be able to take my wife to spend a couple days in this paradise. If you get the chance, it has to be a top choice.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and comments on line. They are accurate, ad call if you have questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Antrim is a restored country house in Taneytown, an hour or so from Washington or Baltimore. The rooms are either in the former great house or in nearby houses of the same vintage, also beautifully restored. We were there for a fall wedding and were impressed, and not only with the fall folliage. The wedding reception service was excepcional - maybe the best food for a group that size ever. The individual room service is 5-star: turned down beds with rose garnish, first breakfast (coffee, fruit and muffin) left outside the door a 8 AM, jacuzzis in every bath, period furniture with poster beds. Each house has an individual sitting room and many have garden or porch terraces.
The restaurant is also excellent: formal 6-course dinners and great breakfasts (to top off the earlier in-suite starter breakfast!).
While it wasn't perfect (checkin and out slow, sewage odor in one house) overall it is the kind of place I like, both for events and getaways. It's expensive, but worth the expense for special occasions.

Room Tip: Avoid the Smith House for the time being at least. Apparently there is a problem with the septic sy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend on the second weekend of October. This is a plantation cum Hotel. We stayed in one of the buildings on the property. The service was excellent, the facilities were excellent and the on site restaurant was spectacular.

The staff came for a turn down of our bed with chocolates for the pillows and a rose for my wife. Coffee delivered outside our room each morning. A six course meal with a custom printed menu commemorating mine and my wife's anniversary.... nice touch.

We stayed in the Lincoln Room. Each room is unique and named for the "theme". It is a pricey stay but for the occasion I thought it fit.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different sized beds, make sure you have one to fit your needs. Also note that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our friends had their wedding at Antrim, so we stayed there for two nights. This was a pricey stay, but had a lot of pluses including food (pre-breakfast tray delivered plus a small-ish breakfast at the main house), a nicely appointed room (we were in the Birnie, in a suite with a main bedroom, a loft bedroom, a huge bathroom, and a sitting room), and attractive grounds. The location was much more "in town" than we had expected of a Country Inn.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is a different size and layout (and probably different price). Get all the info be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unique, large rooms. Comfortable beds. Tea, breakfast tray, and full breakfast included with room. Extremely quiet, with an old-fashioned English garden to stroll.

Smokehouse Restaurant is also excellent with a six course meal (choices for appetizer and entree), which starts with hors d'oeuvres in a drawing room. Each group is seated personally, a nice touch.

The rooms and dinner are not excessively expensive, but not inexpensive either.

Room Tip: Showering can be interesting if your bathroom has a footed tub with the shower curtain completely su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel

Address: 30 Trevanion Rd, Taneytown, MD 21787
Location: United States > Maryland > Taneytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Taneytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the rolling Catoctin Mountains in Central Maryland, this unique country house hotel is acclaimed for its cuisine and luxurious accommodations.Built in 1844, Antrim was once a thriving plantation and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Owners Dorothy and Richard Mollett have masterfully restored the mansion and the estate buildings on this 24-acre site. Visitors can enjoy first-hand the adaptive re-use of this exceptional restoration.Located just 15 minutes from Historic Gettysburg, Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel offers a spectacular setting for romantic getaways, fine dining, elegant weddings, family reunions or corporate meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim 1844 Hotel Taneytown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.