We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is old, but aging beautifully” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel
30 Trevanion Rd, Taneytown, MD 21787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Taneytown B&B and Inns
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Yes, it is old, but aging beautifully”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. The staff was extremely polite, courteous and aware of our special occasion. We stayed in the Boyd Room in the main house. The view of the manicured grounds from our room was beautiful. An earlier post stated the shower/tub was a little confusing and I agree. Just don't get under the shower until you got the temperature the way you want it. The country breakfast the next morning was outstanding and service was very pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
88
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for a recent wedding and I wish I could say all nice things. The place is beautiful and provided a great backdrop for the wedding but unfortunately we had problems with our room. When we checked in we were told that the rest of our party had already checked in. When I asked about it, I was told that my brother was sharing the room wit us. It turned out that for some reason they put our nephew (not brother) in our room with us. I said that was not acceptable so they had to scramble and find another room for us. The room was so far away we had to drive! We were running late for the wedding and almost missed it because of their screw up. We did get to the wedding but were 15 minutes late and we were staying so far from everyone else. Not a great experience for us! I won't be returning anytime soon. I have no idea if they plan on charging us for 2 rooms or just the one since they did not give us anything when we checked out. The one we ended up in was cheaper than the one we booked 5 months ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place has old world charm. We stayed in the Ice House for a weeknight get away and were not disappointed. It's a one room but bath is a bit separated by a wall with curtains it also has a large fireplace. We will be returning for a winter stay. If you go in the summer make sure you take the time to take in the gardens. Such a wonderful place to roam and sit. Listen to the fountain smell the roses. Im looking forward to our return with our kids. There are plenty of different rooms to choose Im also looking forward to sending my brother and sister in law for a post baby relaxing stay with a lovely dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in the Loft. It was really nice. Beautiful comfy hammock outside next to a creek. The bed was sooo comfortable. I loved the tea they brought down to me in the morning and the littlechocolates at night. I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Staff very pleasant and helpful. The grounds/rooms were immaculate! Dinner and breakfast in their restaurant were tops! What a great place to unwind and be pampered! The nightly turndown service ( with fresh flowers and chocolates) was a special touch. The breakfast tray with muffins, fresh fruit and coffee arrived outside the room giving us a head start on the bigger breakfast. We will visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This time we stayed in the Sleigh room, and are already making plans to be in this gorgeous room in the summer. It's in a little cottage away from the main house, and has a little stream that runs out the back, with a private deck and porch furniture. The room is beautiful and has a working fireplace and steam shower. You can't beat the breakfasts (you get two) and the food at dinner is always inventive and beautifully done, impeccably served. They have a for-real wine list, too, and nicely priced (from the gust perspective). The pre-dinner appetizers this time we scrumptious -- parmesan-salmon tarts and an awesome seared tuna. Both alone are reason to go back. The staff will make you want to stay an extra day.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to be in the mansion, or an out-building. You can read about the features of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I just finished a two-night stay at Antrim 1844. We were there during the week when schools were closed for spring break. They offered a voucher through Living Social for the off-season (it expired 3/31).
I wanted to stay in the mansion, since the weather was not yet very warm. We had the Boyd room, on the second floor of the Mansion. The room was lovely and was well laid out and equipped. On the website, the wallpaper looks a bit overdone, but we found the room to be attractive, due in part to the very high ceilings and two huge windows overlooking the gardens. There is a wood-burning fireplace, which we enjoyed. There is a huge maple bed with a pineapple finial, a writing desk, two cozy chairs, and a closet/wardrobe. The lighting is all from desk or table lamps (this was the one suggestion we had for an upgrade; the lighting was a bit dim in the evening for reading). The rooms in the mansion do not have phones or TV's, as some of the other rooms in other buildings do. The windows have shutters that are very cool and also very effective in keeping the room snug at night. The bathroom in the Boyd room is adequate. It contains one of several antique claw-footed bathtubs on the property, with a shower. The shower is interesting but it takes a little getting used to, and it would not work well for someone who was not nimble enough to climb in and out. They provide nice bathrobes and other amenities. There was wireless internet in the Mansion.
Each morning, coffee, muffins and fruit arrive around 8:00 on a tray left right outside the door. From 8:30 - 10:00, they serve a nice breakfast in the Smokehouse restaurant. Breakfast choices included a fruit bowl, granola with milk, or a full country breakfast. The full breakfast was a huge serving: scrambled eggs, bacon or ham, a yummy potato casserole, and a belgian waffle or french toast. The tables are set with orange juice in goblets and they bring around croissants and coffee.
Antrim also serves afternoon tea at 4:00, with a nice variety of teas and both sweet and savory treats.
We also chose to eat dinner at the restaurant one evening. It is a prix fixe menu ($69.00 per person) with six courses. Prior to dinner, they serve cocktails and hors d'oevres in the drawing rooms. When it is time for dinner, you start with an amuse bouche (a tasty mini-appetizer), followed by a soup or other appetizer (I had a duck terrine; my husband had a very tasty soup, a mussels veloute). They serve a salad and intermezzo, and then the main course (there were about six choices). My husband had filet of beef and I enjoyed salmon. The service is extremely smooth and attentive, although the pace of the meal is leisurely. We were there about a hour and 45 minutes for the whole dinner experience.
The grounds of the property are lovely, even though not much was yet in bloom. There are a few small shops in Taneytown but not much to do in town. It is not far to Gettysburg. This time, we drove to New Oxford PA to visit more antique shops, also to Hanover PA & Westminster MD.
The entire visit was lovely and the level of service is impeccable. My husband did not even notice the absence of the television. We would recommend Antrim to couples looking for a nice retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the mansion are lovely, but for those who prefer more modern amenities, you should read the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel

Address: 30 Trevanion Rd, Taneytown, MD 21787
Location: United States > Maryland > Taneytown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Taneytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the rolling Catoctin Mountains in Central Maryland, this unique country house hotel is acclaimed for its cuisine and luxurious accommodations.Built in 1844, Antrim was once a thriving plantation and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Owners Dorothy and Richard Mollett have masterfully restored the mansion and the estate buildings on this 24-acre site. Visitors can enjoy first-hand the adaptive re-use of this exceptional restoration.Located just 15 minutes from Historic Gettysburg, Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel offers a spectacular setting for romantic getaways, fine dining, elegant weddings, family reunions or corporate meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim 1844 Hotel Taneytown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.