We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is a good value worth not feeling safe?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Takoma Park

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Takoma Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Takoma Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7411 New Hampshire Avenue Bldg. 1, Takoma Park, MD 20912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Takoma Park
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Is a good value worth not feeling safe?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There were so many things not right that it is hard to know where to begin this review. I selected this property because we were helping a friend to move and needed an inexpensive place whose parking lot could accommodate a large moving truck. When I called to book the reservation, I requested two rooms on a specific weekend. The reservation confirmation came back for one room on the wrong date, requiring two more calls before they got it right. When we arrived, the woman at the front desk was very pleasant--the one shining spot in this otherwise disturbing experience. Our rooms looked okay at first glance; however, their shabbiness quickly became apparent as we attempted to settle in for the night. The doors and their frames were alarmingly flimsy--one of them was torqued at the bottom, leaving a sizable gap, and the other bent inward with the slightest pressure at the center. The desk in our room was literally propped in place on broken legs/joints, and the luggage rack canted sharply to one side, too. The bathroom door would not close, the bedding had holes in it, the television reception and quality were terrible, the plug for the clock radio was exposed to the bedsheets (major fire hazard), and there were unidentifiable bugs climbing on the headboard. Need I go on? Thank heavens I had brought enough Ambien to get us through the night. Simply stated, there is no "quality" at this "inn"--avoid it unless you are truly desperate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    11
    12
    16
See reviews for
11
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am not someone that needs plush and posh to be happy. In this case, what I needed was a good sleep ahead of a family wedding for me and my family. The room was one that definitely qualified as one where you immediately "remove the bedspread," and without being too gross, the weird looking spots on the underside of the picture over our bed proved it (check the photo and decide for yourself). Unfortunately, when it's 2am and you've been driving all night, you suck it up...put your suitcase on top of something (DEFINITELY not on the floor), and hope for the best. The bed itself wasn't horrible, but the nursing home stench of the front lobby was. And the purported $25 dollar charge to replace the sad, lumpy pillows people allegedly take? Laughable. I will give them credit for the shower not being awful, but the broken tiles and bathroom door that had been installed upside down take some extra points away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel - you'll feel better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The whole experience was horrible! We were scheduled for two nights, but we checked out as early as we could after the first night! Ate breakfast at IHOP because the breakfast area was disgusting. A number of issues arose during our stay, the shower flooded and the maintenance man had no clue how to use a mop. I finally cleaned the floor with towels! The wifi did not work ~ we spent 45 minutes on the the phone with the internet provider who indicated the staff was aware there was a problem, plugged in the charger and the outlet sparked! I basically slept with one eye open. I just could not recommend this hotel to anyone at all and frankly, I'm surprised it qualifies as a choicehotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We needed a place to stay on the outskirts of Washington at a reasonable price and this fitted the bill perfectly. It was very easy to get the bus from opposite the motel and connect to the subways to see all the sights and museums downtown. There deals a free breakfast included and also an outdoor pool which ws a nice bonus to cool down in the very hot weather after a long journey or a busy day sightseeing. The reception staff were very helpful and printed directions for us each day as we did not have a laptop or sat nav with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In The South
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I originally stayed at this venue around May 1, 2012.

Mildly seedy hotel in the seedy part of town. For the quality of the hotel, the price was rather steep {$80.00ish a night}. When this was closer to a $30.00-$40.00 place.
Check In was painfully slow, but without problems. Room key card was a tad needed repeat visits to the front desk. Appointed room was decent quality with no complaints. Everything seemed clean. Cable reception was craptactular. But the WIFI worked without hassle. Room also contained a mini fridge/microwave. Overall appearance was a bit run down looking, but only fruited minor "questionable" activity. Breakfast was mediocre for a hotel. This happened to be the "cheapest", yet closest hotel to Silver Spring. That had a a rating higher than * but less than ***.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place is horrible and if you are thinking of staying here because it is cheap, save yourself the fear and itchiness and stay somewhere a little nicer (which is almost anywhere). They have bedbugs. I have bedbug bites now and it is gross and itchy.
The cops were called 3 different times to the hotel during our stay which should give you a sense of the clientele.
In our room, a shelf, the hairdryer and the clock were broken. The cleaning staff would take the towels and not bring clean ones for hours which meant we had no towels in the middle of the day. When we asked, they said they had none. The breakfast area was usually disgusting and the breakfast attendant turned a blind eye to it. Not worth saving $30...just stay somewhere else, I wish I did.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel and check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a non-English speaking hotel. Only two people on staff were able to speak very little English. It is located in a questionable neighborhood. Stay only if you must. We booked two nights, but left after staying only one night. The a/c in the room made a loud rattling noise, and the bathroom was hard to get in to because it was too small. The comforters in the bed had brown stuff smeared on them, which could have been chocolate or human feces. We did not attempt to confirm which it was. Breakfast was served 20 minutes later than stated on their sign, and only after we complained did the manager come to help his tardy employee set up the breakfast area. It wasn't the worst hotel ever, however, when requesting a refund for the second night, company headquarter staff was downright rude in their refusal. We understand a business must follow their stated policies regarding refunds, but they didn't have to be so rude about it. Because of this we will no longer patronize this hotel chain after 12 years of doing so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Takoma Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Takoma Park

Address: 7411 New Hampshire Avenue Bldg. 1, Takoma Park, MD 20912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Takoma Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Takoma Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Takoma Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Takoma Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Takoma Park Hotel Takoma Park
Takoma Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Takoma Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.