We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cheesecake, Great Coffeeshop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital City Cheesecake

Capital City Cheesecake
7071 Carroll Avenue, Takoma Park, MD 20912
+1 301-270-7260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Takoma Park
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Capital City Cheesecake is a bakery & cafe located in Takoma Park, MD. We specialize in miniature cheesecakes but also have a coffee bar and cafe for you to enjoy. Feel free to relax and read a book, hang out with friends, or catch a quick bite to eat.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Cheesecake, Great Coffeeshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is my go-to coffeeshop in Takoma Park. Chill atmosphere, tables and couches available for sitting, wifi connection. The cheesecake is excellent and the coffee is solid. A perfect spot for meeting friends or getting a little work done. If you find yourself passing by, grab a slice of cheesecake to go - totally worth it. There is parking in front, but more spots in back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I was there several times, the service and food are consistently mediocre and overpriced. The cheesecake is ok, sandwiches not really. I'm not sure where the other glowing reviews are coming from.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Cheesecake in the Metro Area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This casual cafe offers a consistent menu of sandwiches, wraps, soups, and salads as well as the usual assortment of sweets and hot drinks. What makes it stand out is the amazing, single-serving cheesecakes that always have you dying for more! My favorite is the Sea Salt Caramel, though Cookies and Cream and Red Velvet are close seconds. When in season, they make a mouthwatering Pumpkin Spice cheesecake that is the favorite of all my friends. By far, Capital City Cheesecake makes the best cheesecakes in the DC Metro Area. The soups and sandwiches are pretty good as well, especially the melts and chili. They also do some decent waffles on weekends (why just weekends, I don't know).

The cafe itself is pretty tidy and casual, with works of local area artists hanging on the walls. The place is often packed with locals either relaxing on one of the couches downstairs or chatting with friends and family at the tables on the raised first floor. There's outdoor seating on sunny days as well, though there always seems to be more people looking for tables than are available.

As of this review's writing, free WiFi is available on the basement floor during lunch hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to meet a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I love everything about this place-- the food, the ambiance, the owners (who are sisters). My favorite is their turkey chili. I have lots of meetings there because it's cozy/comfortable (coaches downstairs) but spacious enough you can actually hear each other.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped in on my way out of town and had delicious coffee and a bagel. Will definitely go back for more next time I'm in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital City Cheesecake also viewed

 

Been to Capital City Cheesecake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital City Cheesecake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.