We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good food and decent service; a little too pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roscoe's

Roscoe's
7040 Carroll Ave, Takoma Park, MD 20912-4465
301-920-0804
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Takoma Park
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Generally good food and decent service; a little too pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We go to Roscoe's every so often, including this past Friday night. The food is generally good to very good, and it was on the very good side this time. My pizza -- a veggie pizza with soy cheese -- was crispy and cooked through (sometimes their pizza is a little floppy). And my wife had a nice beet salad and homemade soup. The waiter was pretty attentive, but not overly so. We sat outside and watched the world go by in Takoma Park, which was nice. The food is too expensive for what you get. It's hard to get anything for less than $10. Small individual pizzas should not be in the mid-teens. But overall a good place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great weekend brunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Try the egg and mascarpone pizza - it's crazy good. My daughter loves their French Toast. A lovely place to hang on a lazy Sunday morning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
“Best pizza in dc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I love roscoes. Pizzas are better than anywhere, because the taste is great and the waits are reasonable, relative to other Neapolitan pizza places in the dc area. My only question is, where is the dogfish head IPA? Sometimes it is here, sometimes it is not. It gets frustrating. Fifth star forthcoming.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Thin crust, good taste, but expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Ordered it take out, the pizza was ok, ordered 7 pizzas for 8 people and finished them off...mostly crust. 70 bucks, so a bit much for what you get.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza and Beer, with class (and veg-friendly, too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Roscoe's is a very understated place, with a great patio, and really nice servers. The pizza is "neapolitan," which means that it's not heavy, and that they use interesting (and fresh) ingredients. Everything can be made vegan, and there are even gluten-free crusts, on request. The owner is a lover of good craft beers, many of which I had not seen anywhere else. I moved to Takoma Park this year, and I now eat at Roscoe's at least once a week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roscoe's also viewed

 

Been to Roscoe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roscoe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.