We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Takoma Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast
703 New York Avenue, Takoma Park, MD 20910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Takoma Park B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As I prepare to return to visit family in Takoma Park I immediately thought of returning to Etta Mae Inn. This fall we made a quick trip to the area to help during a family crisis. Francoise was a gracious hostess and her home is lovely decorated with family treasures. Our room was extremely comfortable and elegant and our breakfast was beyond compare. Being able to park in her driveway when we arrived late and exhausted was yet another benefit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I discovered the Etta Mae Inn several years ago when looking for a place to stay near Washington DC and we enjoyed our stay there so much that we have returned many times since. We have stayed in all three rooms, the last being the Kia. The bathroom is not ensuite, but rather a private bathroom that is located just outside the door to the bedroom. The other rooms were booked, so decided to give this room a try, and it worked out just fine.
All three of the baths have relatively new tiled showers with great shower heads. Shampoo, soap and body wash is supplied.
The towels are not changed daily, but there are plenty of hooks for hanging the towels so that they dry out. (I don't change my towels at home daily, so I have no problem with using them a second time on a weekend visit.)
There is not a set breakfast menu, but we were offered apple pancakes one morning and they were fabulous. Breakfast begins with fresh fruit and home made muffins fresh from the oven. There is bread for toast, and cereals, granola, etc. if you would like to help yourself to those items. Then, Francoise will make eggs and bacon if you like, or pancakes as I mentioned, and we've even ordered oatmeal while staying there. Everytime the food has been quite delicious.
There is a cat on the premises, and I am allergic to cats, but have never had a problem staying there because the cat is not permitted in the bedrooms, and she usually stays away from people.
As mentioned by another reviewer, the stairs do creak loudly. But people generally walk up to bed and aren't going up and down the stairs at night. This is an old Victorian house, and one would expect the floors to creak a bit.
The house is located in a quiet residential area. There is a large wrap around porch where one can sit and relax in the evening and enjoy the lovely flower gardens on the property.
There is private parking right next to the house. We choose to walk into Silver Springs for dinner and have never had any problems doing so.
We will certainly be returning on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Charming Victorian, warm and friendly inn keeper, easy parking and metro access, quiet neighborhood. There is nothing that this place lacks. I stayed in the smallest room which was bigger than many older house B and B s where I have stayed in the past. I got in late the first night and there was a cat curled up in front of the fireplace. I plopped my self down and let the warmth, original wood and antiques transport me to another world and time, where kindness and simple pleasures ruled and beltway tension melted away. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The inn keeper is really nice & welcoming. The bathroom was really nice as well with heated floors (we stayed in the Kai). However, for us, the cons outweighed the pros. The first night we stayed at the EMI was when I realized we made a mistake by staying here. We were very cold. We asked the innkeeper about turning on the radiator heater in the room. She said the heat was set at 68 degrees, meanwhile it was 54 degrees outside. Then she told us to grab some of her old blankets in the closet, which we did not want to use. 20 minutes later she finally decided to bring us a heater we could use. The stairs are really old and creaky & you can hear when someone is walking up or down them, so if you're a light sleeper, forget about a good nights rest. The sheets & bedding are SO OLD! They have brown stains on them! She couldn't even have enough decency for her business to buy new bedding for customers! They were cleaned, but old. We brought our own blankets. She didn't ask if we needed new towels for the bathroom nor did she pick up or take out our used ones. Thank GOD we brought our own! We had no more washcloths after the first night! There are no locks on the doors & sometimes she is not there, so there may be other guests there alone with your things & the back door is kept open all day until the last guest comes in for the night. Francoise's stuff is EVERYWHERE! In the closets, all over the bathroom; however it is neat & tucked away. This is an old, smelly house she's trying to pass off as a nice place to stay. If you are expecting hotel standard, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Also, if you like your privacy & you do not like to stay with others, DO NOT STAY HERE!! Grab a hotel somewhere else. (We did not eat breakfast--the food & house smelled disgusting). Because of this experience, I WILL NEVER STAY AT A B&B AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for a long Fall weekend. Francoise could not have been more welcoming or kind. The house is beautiful inside and out. Lovely antiques and very comfortable bed. The bathroom in our room was larger than some B&B bed rooms that we stayed in in Ireland (no offense meant to Ireland); the shower was definitly larger than most Irish bathrooms! All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast is a home away from home . . . and more! It has character and history. Our hostess Francoise, is a notch above the rest -- caring, considerate, and passionate about making her guests feel welcome. The location is perfect for those looking for a romantic escape close to Washington, DC or for those coming from overseas who want to be in a comfortable environment in a charmingly quaint community. Exquisite furniture and works of art are a bonus as you enjoy your cup of coffee in the living room. And yes, the bathroom is an experience of elegance, too. Thank you for making our reunion (after 30 years) very special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is idea for young (18-21) people who are short on cash. There are no amenities, its a smelly house, with extremely uncomfortable beds and old furniture. I strongly recommend you look around Takoma Park for another place to stay before booking here.

Room Tip: Rooms in another Bed & Breakfast or Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 703 New York Avenue, Takoma Park, MD 20910
Location: United States > Maryland > Takoma Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Takoma Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Etta Mae Inn is located in the beautiful Victorian section of Takoma Park with easy access to metro, DC, downtown Silver Spring, shopping, and world-class restaurants. Extremely comfortable rooms with private bathrooms, a huge wrap around deck for taking in nature, quiet location, convenient to everything. Super friendly hosts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Etta Mae Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list