We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Glade Inn

North Glade Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Glade Inn
Save Saved
You added North Glade Inn to your Saves list
184 North Glade Road, Swanton, MD 21561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I were greeted by Fred and Tammy just in time for dinner on Friday night. Dinner was very good, and spending a few hours chatting with the other guests and the innkeepers was a delight. We spent the next couple of days enjoying the area as well as the peace and quiet. Breakfast was served every morning promptly at 9 AM. It was delicious and there was more than enough for everyone! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at North Glade in February 2012. We were greeted by Fred who told us where our room was and our key was read. The room was quite spacious with a lake view. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, get-a-away, this is where you should stay. It's not far from the main road, Garrett nor the slopes, perfect location. The best part..THE FOOD!!! Breakfast and Friday's dinner was awesome, it was a complete surprise to us. Our room had a gas fireplace (warms up quickly) and a jetted hot tub, perfect couple relaxation spot. The geese were our morning alarm clock!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Everything about our experience has been amazing! Fred and Tammy are the nicest people, and wonderful cooks. We had an ice storm and Fred was cleaning off cars for the people staying here. The rooms were very big, with a king size bed, jacuzzi, and a fireplace. They have Directv so when we were relaxing, we could enjoy some tv. They also have free wifi. There is literally nothing we didn't like about this place! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Awesome place! We went on May 7th and had a very good time! Great Breakfast! Room 8 is on the end upstairs so you get a great view!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

An amazing place where Fred and Tammy (owners/inn keepers) take great care and serve some of the best food on can ask for! We happen to checkin on Friday and we were served with some of the most delicious lasagna I have ever eaten! same goes for the breakfast. All in all an amazing place with plenty of space to relax and enjoy. we'll definately go back if we are in Deep Creek Lake.

  • Liked — Food and the company
  • Disliked — lack of internet access and TV channels (just 2)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

My fiance and I wanted to get away for an evening and we were very happy with our stay. We were immediately greeted by the owners and were shown around. They built the guest house onto their farmhome. Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The TV was small, but we were not there for watching TV..... (they have lots of DVD's/tapes for your use) There were only a few other people there and you would have thought we had the entire place to ourselves! There is a huge living room for you to use too, with cable and a large TV and stereo.

A few things we liked:
food was AMAZING.... more than we could have imagined for breakfast ( juice/coffee/tea... fresh fruit, biscuits, bacon/sausage., omelets... potatoes) Out of this world.... we would go back just for the breakfast!!
the jacuzzi tub was great!
the guests have an entire section of the house to yourselves, complete with a separate pantry and refrigerator stocked with sodas, etc.... anytime you wanted a drink or some popcorn, etc... it was there for you. It was a nice touch.

The AC worked great and we were there on an abnormally hot evening.

The owners were friendly and helpful on where we could go for dinner, but after having our breakfast... we would recommend that you just get your dinner at North Glade! We had fun just walking around the grounds, canoeing and would recommend this place to anyone wanting an affordable getaway. The owners are there if you need them, make you feel welcome, but stay out of your way too, allowing you to enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — The food and room...
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2005

We stayed at the North Glade Inn in Deep Creek, Maryland. As we pulled onto the property, which used to be a farm, we were impressed with all of the enormous plants and flowere and the fishing pond was a plus as fishing is our second love. The porch was huge and ran along the entire front of the inn. When I opened the door and saw the common area I was pleasantly surprised. There is a sitting area with satellite T.V., an oak diining room table that seats over 20, a gift shopping area and a stock pantry that is open to guests. We were greeted by the inn keepers who explained where everything was located and then escorted us to our room. The room is HUGE!!! I have stayed in bed and breakfasts before, but this was beyond belief. Our room was outfitted with a large king size bed, loveseat, fireplace, television (no cable though), jacuzzi tub plus a nice sized bathroom with a bathtub/shower combo. I must say that I gave this property an "average" because although the actual stay (room & property) was nice, it didn't have the bed & breakfast atmosphere like at others in which I have visited. The innkeepers were nice, but it didn't feel sincere. It was more like a hotel. The walls are VERY thin as my husband and I spent most of our Anniversary night listening to the sounds of someone elses "celebration" ALL NIGHT LONG... I will leave it at that. If you are looking for a large room with breakfast near the lake then this would be the place for you. If you are looking for romance and they traditional feel of a bed and breakfast, you may want to look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Glade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Glade Inn

Address: 184 North Glade Road, Swanton, MD 21561
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Swanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Also Known As:
North Glade Hotel Swanton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Glade Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.