We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Save
You added Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake to your Saves list
105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
“Our tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

This was our third year to visit the Carmel Cove Inn. In fact, we started referring to it as, "our place." Every year we look forward drinking red wine by the fire place in our room as soon as we arrive. We only live a short distance away in Pittsburgh, PA, but our trip to the inn each year is more relaxing than trips that require a much further distance. This year we were greeted by the inn keepers, Heather and Keith, upon arrival. They were there to provide us what we needed without being overbearing.

Our trip to the inn is usually accompanied by snow, but not this year. I was worried that we would be bored because we were not able to ski at the nearby lodge. I quickly remembered how much there was to do at the inn. We spent time relaxing in the common room playing a few rounds of pool, enjoyed a hike around the lake area, and soaked the work week away in the jet tub in our bathroom. We will continue to go back to the Carmel Cove Inn every year. I suggest you and yours start this tradition too!

  • Liked — The level of comfort provided by the inn
  • Disliked — It didnt snow
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
140
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fairfax
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

For our weekend in Deep Creek Lake I researched B&Bs in that area- Carmel Cove Inn sounded nice, I thought it would be quaint since it was an old monestary, it had a few nice reviews and seemed like it had a nice location. So I decided to book two nights at this Inn.

Things got to a bad start right off the bat- we arrived around 4:30 pm on Friday, there was no one there- though we were greeted with a strong odor of eggs and cheap popouri - a sign directed us to dial 0 for help- so we did, a few minutes later someone showed up- no introductions or welcomes, she immediately took us on a hurried tour of the place- and then dissappeared. No information on the place, no conversation, no offer of help- nothing. We had to ask her name! We have stayed at lots of B&Bs and generally have been greeted by friendly hosts who offer help and information, ask if you need anything etc. Well that was not the case here.

I was shocked to see our room- for $200 a night what we got was a room a bit larger than a closet! the sink was in the room, barely enough room to move, the queen size bed took up the entire room, a tiny bathroom! No charm, no personality, nothing quaint- just a tiny room with a hard bed! There was a sort of balcony off the room, but the view is basically of a few trees, not much to make up for the horrible little room! We quickly decided to cancel the second night. We could just tell that the place was sub standard. One night and $200+ was bad enough.

Breakfast the next morning was really poor- not much better than what you'd get at a Denny's or something similar- my husband's sausage was cold, a small platter of fruit that didnt looked washed, weak coffee.......the place lacks pretty much everything you'd want in a nice B and B- no charm, no personality, bad hosts, poor breakfast, tiny rooms, poor location, pretty much a complete loser. I can only guess that the place has new owners who know nothing about the hospitatity business.

I would warn anyone reading this to avoid this place if you are looking for a nice experience at a B and B - it will surely dissapoint you like it did us.

  • Liked — pool table in the common room
  • Disliked — accomodations and breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid the Carmel Cove Inn
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

My husband and I spent the weekend at Carmel Cove, and we fell in love with the place!

We got there in the early evening, and were greeted by Heather. She showed us around the inn and told us where to find snacks, beer, wine, and soda whenever we needed anything. Then, she showed us to our room.

We stayed in the premier room with the wood burning fireplace. Although it was too warm to actually use the fireplace, we were very happy with our choice. The room was clean and nicely furnished, and the bed was very comfortable. Each room is equipped with a flat panel tv/dvd combo with basic cable. There is an extensive dvd library in the great room - great new releases, as well as some classics - from which guests can choose.

The great room is very nice - there is a professional sized pool table, tv w/ dvd (if you choose to hang out on the couch there and watch one), and a cd player. The fridge in there was stocked with beer, white wine, and soda (diet and regular). There was red wine and port wine always available, along with snacks and goodies that must have been constantly replenished.

The shed out back contains equipment for a number of sporting ventures - there were a few mountain bikes, tennis racquets (and a tennis court on the premesis), paddles for the canoes that belong to the inn, fishing gear, and skis - all free to use. The equipment is well maintained, and there was plenty to go around.

The hot breakfast was fantastic. A true home-made meal. The breakfast alone is worth a return visit! There is a really great deli and wine store (Fireside) a short walk down the road. We stopped by there on Friday night and carried out the most delicious paninis and a nice bottle of wine that we enjoyed in our room.

Heather and Kieth are wonderful hosts, and make their guest really feel at home. Both are friendly and personable, and very attentive without being overbearing. We will definately return - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed at this inn on our last trip to the lake and really loved it. We have stayed at at least six places around the lake, but intend to stay at Carmel Cove from now on. We stayed in a "deluxe" room that had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, a huge bathroom with two sinks, and a nice view of the woods. The innkeepers were great people that we felt were new friends by the time we left. We hung around the fire and made s'mores, shot pool in the great room, took out the canoes, and fished off of the dock. Didn't catch a thing :) The breakfasts were unbelievable, and every time we turned around there were snacks and appetizers and chocolates put out in the great room. There were free drinks available all the time, which was great when we came in off the lake. A nice switch from your standard vending machines. We really liked the woodsy camping feel of the area. It was rustic outside, but inside it was luxurious and comfortable. We really felt at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

We had a few disappointments with our stay here. The innkeeper, Dave, was almost non-existent. This inn only has 10 rooms, but Dave wasn’t there at check-in time. When we arrived we were greeted by a typewritten note saying he was out, the key was in the door, help ourselves. This same note appeared every day at check-in time for other guests. Dave never introduced himself to us the entire 3 days we were there. We did see him in the kitchen cooking breakfast each morning.

In addition, the room and bathroom were incredibly small. The cove was a 5 minute walk through the woods from the inn. The inn was peaceful and quiet, and the Great Room was nice. The rooms and inn were very clean. Chocolates and sherry appeared the first night, not on the 2nd night, and only on the third night after I called and inquired. The hot tub was removed several years ago.

We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, responded to this review, May 19, 2006
We are very sorry on the rare occasion that our guests are not happy with the Carmel Cove Inn, and assure you that we try very hard to please. ALL guests who arrive during check-in times, and almost all who arrive outside of check-in times, are greeted personally and warmly by our innkeeper. It is true that should a guest arrive unexpectedly, outside our regular check-in time, especially very late at night, they may be met with an informative note and the key to their room. We are a small operation and cannot possibly maintain a 24 hour reception desk.
The room decribed in the review is the size of a normal bedroom, it is not the size of a typical motel room with two double beds. There is a photo of the room on our web site, and it is decribed as "cozy" with a "small" private bath in it's description. The reviewer neglected to mention that it also has french doors leading to a huge private terrace with adirondack chairs, and a dining table where we serve the room guests breakfast service. This is generally thought to be the highlight of our Terrace Rooms, making them our most popularly requested among our return guests. In fact, the inn has a return guest rate over double the industry standard, and the overwhelming majority of our guests, with very very few exception in our 12 years of service, rave that this is the coolest place they've ever stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2005

My husband and I visited carmel cove last month and found it somewhat of a disappointment. The grounds need more upkeep, the walkway to the door was crumbling and the 5 minute hike to boat dock was a good way to sprain an ankle. The path was full of holes, large bare roots, and poison ivy marked the path. The breakfast was prepared by two young girls each morning that looked to be maybe 20 years old. That may be why we were served bacon that we could not eat. It was no where near done. There are plenty of other places to stay in Deep Creek I suggest you try them before this place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2003

FANTASTIC! The Carmel Cove Inn is the best kept secret on the east coast. Scrumptious food, immaculate rooms and outstanding service. This place is loaded with amenities. A pool table, TV and stereo in the main room, tennis court out front, canoes down by the lake, and hot tub, bicycles and snow shoes out back. Be sure to sample the afternoon hors d'oevrs, evening brandy and chocolates and complimentary beverages (including beer & wine). The in-room DVD/TVs are a nice touch along with a nice DVD library you can borrow from in the main room.This is a perfect place for a couple to "escape" from the world. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, paddle boat, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest fire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods with private breakfast room service. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.