We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the weekend for our dog sledding trip! The hospitality was great and Mary, the owner, was very personable and gives you a quick tour of the grounds...everything from bicycles, outdoor fire pit, hiking trails to name a few are all there for your enjoyment. Our room had a nice fireplace which everyday was restocked with newspaper and logs! We only had breakfast the second day since the first morning we had to be up super early to go dog sledding but breakfast was scrumptous--blueberry pancakes, quiche, fresh fruit and bread and ham! Also I must mention that the common room area with another fireplace and pool table were a nice place to hang out and meeting others...especially when there is a fully stocked fridge with wine and beer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    16
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
124
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early September. The cons first. The internet connection is pretty slow. That's it. Everything else was incredible. The rooms are very clean and well-kept. In addition to the delicious breakfasts (ex: savory potato pancakes with salmon, oh man!), cheese and crackers are served in the early evening and there's a campfire with smores at night. There's plenty to do if you're looking for distractions, including canoeing and a rec room with a pool table, chessboard, gratis beverages (alcoholic and non-alc), and a surprisingly good DVD selection (skewing mostly towards recent Oscar-nominated flicks). My favorite part was just sitting out on the room's balcony, reading and watching the local wildlife. Very, very relaxing place. The innkeeper Mark was an AMAZING host and really made the whole trip magical. My understanding is that he'll be leaving after September 12, 2012, so I can't vouch for the staff after that date. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went here with my girlfriend for a first weekend in August. The grounds are amazing, Mark (innkeeper) is great! Amazing food, awesome amenities, it has been one of the best hotel/b&b stays we have had ever. Mark is absolutely an amazing host and everything about the stay was remarkable. Amazingly comfy rooms and great lodge-like area to hang out and have appetizers, cocktails, and play pool. Awesome lake activities available, tennis courts, and away from the bussle of the main town area but still close enough to drive in. Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent 4 nights there, and the experience couldn't have been better. It was the first place I've ever stayed (and I have traveled a lot) where I actually looked forward to coming back to my room at the end of the day. Along with the DELICIOUS breakfasts they had (our last day it was banana pancakes, ham, egg souflee, and fresh fruit), they also had great appetizers every evening, and s'mores by the campfire and port inside at night. Everyone there was incredibly friendly and helpful - they always knew what restaurants were the best and could answer any questions. There were books in the room that gave descriptions of all sorts of local restaurants and attractions, and the day we got there they installed cable in all the rooms as well. There were canoes and bikes you could borrow very easily, and comfortable adirondack chairs where you could just sit and read and enjoy the sunshine. It was conveniently located to the lake and all the state parks, which was also a very big plus. I would come back here in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you book one of the bigger rooms, there is a bathtub in the bathroom - this is nice because the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second trip to the inn in as many years. I plan on it becoming an annual event! The new innkeeper, Mark, was very friendly and helpful. I was unnecessarily worried that the previous innkeepers, Richard and Virginia, were gone. The service was just as impeccable.

All of the rooms are beautiful. Our favorite is #6 which is actually right next to the breakfast room. Maybe the guests are unusually quiet but we have not been disturbed by anyone. "Our" room is a bit larger than some of the others with a spacious bathroom. It does not have a private balcony but we don't mind using the shared balcony space.

Breakfast one morning was mildly disappointing but has been delicious every other morning.

We love the equipment available and used all of it on our last visit! It is a trek down to the dock but it's beautiful and not a difficult hike. The dock is located on a quiet area of the lake which is perfect for canoeing. If I had one wish it would be the addition of a couple of kayaks. (hint! hint!)

The great room is beautiful. We had so much fun watching the Olympics with the other guests on the large TV!

I highly recommend Carmel Cove for anyone who wants a place to relax.

Room Tip: We love Room 6. No problems with noise and we even took an afternoon nap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Carmel Cove Inn from August 4- August 8, 2012. The place was extremely clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the tennis courts, the lake access and canoeing, and the nightly bonfire and smores. For indoor entertainment, there was a pool table, large screen tv, board games, and a dvd library for in-room entertainment. The complimentary wine and beer as well as the snacks and breakfast made for a great eating experience. We felt like we could spend the entire vacation at the Inn and have the best of Deep Creek right there. Mark was an excellent innkeeper and he did everything possible to ensure the guests a satisfying vacation. The other guests were really down to earth and pleasant to be around. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I went away for a weekend here and it was wonderful! We really enjoyed the woods and being away from tourist traps. The bonfire was great both nights and we made lots of s'mores and enjoyed the free beer. We had a lot of fun at the lake. My boyfriend really enjoyed the fishing stuff even though he didn't catch anything. Our favorite part was the private deck where breakfast was delivered every morning and we got to choose what time we wanted them to bring it! The whole weekend was awesome. One warning: Our two night stay should have cost $370 ($185 a night) and ended up costing $414 because there is a 12% tax for the rooms. I've never been to a bed and breakfast before so I don't know if that's normal but I was caught off guard. However, we do plan to return in the fall or winter and spoil ourselves again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 through 6 are upsatirs and the rest are downstairs. And rooms 5 and 6 were right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel
Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, paddle boat, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest fire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods with private breakfast room service. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake to your Saves list