We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Save
You added Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake to your Saves list
105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Swanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Annapolis, MD USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were looking for a room for one night, late notice, and Carmel Cove had room available. The reviews here looked good so we made the reservation. Wonderful place! We can't wait to find time to come back when we have a few days to relax. It was my husband's birthday and the innkeeper had a bottle of champagne chilling in our room. Small rooms (it was a monastery after all) but cozy and clean. Hors d'oevres on the deck around 5:30, bonfire in the yard at dusk (with smores ingredients on a silver platter -- really!) Wonderful breakfast, nice airy breakfast room. What a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are four rooms with decks -- get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
142
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been to Deep Creek and stayed in another B & B many times. We decided to try something different in a quieter area and we FOUND it!!

We arrived early and were able to check-in. Mark, the new innkeeper, took us on a detailed tour of the inn and it's outdoor features. When we got to our room there was a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates for my birthday. I might add that was the first time I ever had champagne for my birthday!

The three breakfasts we enjoyed there were fantastic. All of the employees were so friendly and did so much to make you feel welcome. We loved the terrace room. That gave you an additional space to enjoy the outdoors. We did take part in the campfire the first night we were there -complete with all of the fixings for s'mores!

The Great Room left you to wonder about the monks who previously were habitants there. The wine, beer, and sodas were a great treat. We took advantage of the DVD library that was well stocked. I really enjoyed the Sony iHome docking station to enjoy my favorite music.

We want to definitely return to Carmel Cove Inn!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing and "outdoorsy" location to celebrate the week surrounding our 18th wedding anniversary...and we found it! The innkeeper, Mark, indeed, was part of the reason that the vacation was so memorable with his quiet attention to detail, knowledge of the area, and sense of humor. (It seemed to us that he had been at the Inn forever, yet he had only been there for 3 weeks!) The hours of hiking or other outdoor activities were bookended by a leisurely breakfast (that met our dietary restrictions!) on one end and hors d'oeurves and a glass of wine in the Common Room on the other, and if the spirit moved us, sitting around a magnificent outside campfire to round out the day. The Inn's guestrooms are beautifully appointed and the Inn's other staff quietly assured that all was ready upon our return there each day. The Inn's history as a former summer retreat for Carmelite priests was subtly woven into the details of the decor without being overwhelming but we couldn't help wonder if by some alchemy it contributed to the peaceful atmosphere. We look forward to a future stay when Innkeeper Mark and the staff will once again provide for us a haven of peaceful relaxation.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room in the Inn. Of note, if you go in the cooler/colder mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our very first stay at a bed and breakfast...for our 15th wedding anniversary. The innkeeper had a small bottle of bubbly and some chocolates waiting in our room for us - very classy. The experience was totally relaxing. We enjoyed the "children over 12 only" policy as we were sneaking away from our own child to enjoy adult time together. Food was great and the innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant. We will visit again. (ladies....no ESPN or cable service in the bedrooms (DVD player only)...now that is helpful!)

Room Tip: Choose lower floor for privacy...and cooler temperatures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend and could not have had a better experience. Richard and Virginia are excellent, attentive hosts and not at all intrusive. They gave great local directions when needed and were on point with their recommendation for local restaurants (Dutch's at Silver Tree lives up to the hype). The 3 breakfasts we had were absolutely out of this world and we always looked forward to the 5pm snacks in the common room. Our room was beautiful and well kept. The amount of activities the Inn offers is amazing - paddle boat, canoes, fishing, tennis, and a surprisingly impressive DVD collection. Our room had a DVD player and iPod radio/alarm clock. My fiancé actually proposed to me here on our second day and I cant imagine a better place to have this memory. Richard and Virginia heard we were engaged and put complimentary champagne and chocolates in our room. We would stay here over and over again! The other guests were also very nice and mostly everyone kept to themselves and went about on their own activities - which was nice, no pressure for forced socialization. Definitely worth every penny! Locally there is plenty to do - hiking at Swallow Falls, have lunch at Englanders in town, mini golf, great food at Mountain State Brewing Company. Again, the Inn keepers are well versed about what to in the area and have plenty of brochures for the taking.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Deep Creek Lake area and the Carmel Cove Inn were both beautiful. We had a wonderful 5-yr anniversary weekend. Our room was small (#3), but we felt it was a great room b/c it was in the back hallway, away from the common area and the breakfast area. The entire place and property were beautiful. The breakfast and snacks were delicious. We really appreciated all of the "extras" that were included in our weekend, including champagne for our anniversary, wine/beer, snacks, canoes, tennis rackets, bikes, fishing poles, campfire area, etc., etc. We really enjoyed our weekend.

Room Tip: #2, 3, and 4 are in the quietest part of the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just spent the weekend at Carmel Cove in Deep Creek. What a lovely inn!! The place is immaculate and the rooms are cozy and inviting. The common areas were comfortable and interesting...they have games, pool, complimentary beverages (water,, beer, wine). Outside recreation includes bikes, fishing, paddle boating, tennis, canoes. We had a fire every night with the other guests at the hotel which was fun and so nice meeting new people (Hi Curt and LC!:). We chose to have breaksfast on our deck and it's was delcious. Beautiful presentation! Thanks to the Innkeeper:) If you are thinking of going..don't hesitate. It's a beautifull inn you will enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake

Address: 105 Monastery Way, Swanton, MD 21561
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Swanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Swanton
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Cove Inn is Deep Creek Lake's Premier Country Inn. Peaceful wooded setting on quiet cove. Fishing and swimming dock. Canoes, paddle boat, tennis, billiards, bicycles and guest fire ring. Private fireplaces, jacuzzis and guest-room decks overlooking the woods with private breakfast room service. Sumptuous breakfasts, complimentary beverages and snacks. Minutes to Wisp Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carmel Cove Inn At Deep Creek Lake Hotel Swanton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.