We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shore Stopover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Owl's Tiki bar

Big Owl's Tiki bar
3015 Kent Narrows Way South, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21638
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Stevensville
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Shore Stopover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stopped at Big Owl Tiki bar on the way to and from our last trip. This is definitely a spot to stop at if you are in Kent Island, the sun is shining and you hate crabs (that would be my husband -- I've taken him to Harris too many times to count). It's a little place -- cooking is done in a trailer, picnic tables on a pier -- but the service is over-the-top friendly and accomodating and the food is really tasty. Highly recommend the fish tacos. On our second trip my steamed shrimp took an extra while and the chef hand delivered the food to apologize.

They've got all sorts of tiki-ish drinks and a wicked bloody mary. Fat tire on tap, along with the usual beach-y lights.

I understand the place gets a little crazy at night ,but during the day it was couples, boaters and families filling the tables.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grasonville, Maryland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Cool bar but avoid the blowout parties”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice to sit and have a drink here and watch the boaters on the Narrows. We visited on St Patrick’s Day and it was total chaos. It started out ok but you can only pack so many onto a dock with one way in and out before you start having issues. Twenty minutes to get a beer and the same amount of time to go and relieve yourself. If a fire broke out you have 2 choices swim or stampede. We will return just not during the big events.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great views- beautiful surroundings.
Did not really appreciate the loud bar music, but we moved away from it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

So much fun!!! The location is perfect for watching the boats on a warm summer evening or having a happy hour when the weather is changing. They have special days with bands or karaoke to keep the crowd rocking. They have really expanded their menu in the last year. My favorites are the fish tacos - nice and light and fried pickle spears - with a blue cheese sauce.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view and the food, service slow, the entertainment was a little much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We tried the Big Owl Tiki Bar when staying at a local hotel for one night. While we enjoyed the location, it took nearly an hour for our food to arrive at the table. Servers weren't very apologetic or attentive to us while we waited. However, when the food arrived, it was good.

We arrived around 6pm and a band was entertaining. Even though there were families with small children dining, the singer didn't hesitate to use profanity in his lyrics and commentary. It was inappropriate for the time of day and the audience.

So not a great experience at the Big Owl for us. I might go back if I were in the area. The atmosphere and location were nice. But I'd probably just get my own drinks from the bar, avoid ordering food, and sit away from the live music.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Owl's Tiki bar also viewed

 
Stevensville, Kent Island
Stevensville, Kent Island
 

Been to Big Owl's Tiki bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Owl's Tiki bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.