We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot understand the good reviews of this place.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Manor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Kent Manor Inn to your Saves list
Kent Manor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york, ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I cannot understand the good reviews of this place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

It's entirely possible that our experience at the Kent Manor Inn was uncommon, but it was so consistently awful over the course of three days that I can't help but warn others away.

First, the good: the location is gorgeous. Sprawling grounds, beautiful salt marsh coastline, gorgeous view. We were there for a wedding, and it could not have been more perfect.

The room to which we were assigned (210), however, was horrendous. It's minuscule (at one point my husband had to crawl over the bed to get from his side to the bathroom because I was ironing a shirt). The bathroom was poorly appointed and looked like it might have been lifted from a Motel 6, and there's not even enough room for a trash can there, so it's jammed between the bathtub and the door, so you can't fully open the door. The air conditioning unit is ancient, and the windows are sealed shut, so the whole room has a swamp-like feel to it even when the hallway and the outside are dry and cool. And the door was stuck, so required a linebacker-style shoulder slam to open and close properly.

There is so little room in the room that the ironing board was stored under the bed--something that housekeeping knew, but the man at the front desk did not know. Frustrating when you want to iron a shirt in the afternoon and there's no housekeeping to be found. Twice, people in out party had maintenance issues and received a "sometimes that happens" response from staff. Both times, we repaired the problem ourselves.

Which brings me to the key issue I had with the KMI: It may bill itself as luxurious, but it is in no way luxury. There are no amenities: impossible to have a suit pressed or a shoe shined; no room service; no breakfast aside from a continental breakfast appointed with stale breakfast pastries no doubt delivered by Sysco 18 wheelers. Housekeeping knocked on our door one morning at 8:30am, and when we asked for them to come back, they simply forgot about us...until we asked for them at 4pm that afternoon.

Additionally, the front desk staff was the worst kind--faux helpful bordering on disrespectful.

I could deal if this were a low end hotel, but at $250 a night, I was pretty appalled. If you can avoid this place, I would. If you can't, stay far away from room 210.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
59
2
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The setting is beautiful, the rooms are lovely; we ate dinner and breakfast and both were delicious. I have read other reviews talking about a boxed lunch and wine in the room, we got neither. Considering we paid full price that is a little disappointing.

Through a series of unusual circumstances we decided to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary on Maryland's Eastern Shore. My husband and I both found this inn on the internet at the same time. Neither of us had heard of it, but it looked beautiful, the location was great and it offered a "Romantic Getaway" that seemed perfect for our purposes.

I made the reservations and included in the getaway was a customized 5-course dinner. We were contacted more than a week before our anniversary and asked what we liked and didn't like. From that our menu was created. We didn't know what it would be until we walked into the restaurant. Everything was delicious. We had a seafood appetizer, a green salad with apples and pecans and the most delicious salad dressing (would love to have that recipe), champagne sorbet as a palate cleanser, filet mignon and stuffed lobster tail entree and the most decadent chocolate dessert.

I am grateful that circumstances led us to this beautiful inn. It was a great place to spend our anniversary. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our Historic Inn offers a special romantic getaway package as a way to celebrate the special people in your lives. Yet, our restaurant is open for Saturday lunch and our popular Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet

You and your significant other enjoyed and appreciated the luxury of having our executive chef, William Lackey, as your personal chef catering solely to you. As such, this level of service and attention to detail goes well beyond one of our standard package (which varies and is sometimes a box lunch and wine)

We are indeed grateful you chose to celebrate life's special times with us and look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We purchased the TravelZoo deal (1 night, breakfast, boxed lunch and wine package) and chose to use this to get away for our anniversary. All the other reviews are accurate - no elevator - old world charm. There was a wedding going on and the music was quite loud even though it was raining and we were on the 3rd floor, but the music stopped at 10 pm which was acceptable. Thad was very accomodating. The included breakfast was decent enough (some fruit, eggs, pastries and coffee/tea) and the wine was good. We also enjoyed a nice meal about 1.5 miles away at Rustico. Only complaints were that our room on the 3rd floor was VERY creaky - yes, even the shower creaked - and the A/C did not get all that cold. But if you're looking for a quiet out of the way place with old fashioned charm and character, you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here on Sep 12 to celebrate our anniversary. Got a great deal from Travelzoo - lower rate, bottle of wine, boxed lunch. Could not have been happier. Would have stayed here even without the special. Thad greeted us and made us feel welcome immediately. The grounds and rooms are superior. Just a great setting. The lemonade (herbal infused) and cookies hit the spot. The breakfast would have filled anybody. Thad gave us great tip for walking - Terrapin Nature Center - right on the Bay and next to the Bay Bridge. Wonderful site to enjoy the copious box lunch. I would recommend the Kent Manor Inn for any special occasion.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine. Just being here is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Those boards do creak and sing the Manor House's nearly 200 years of hospitality. As you so well stated, if you are looking for old fashion charm and character with attentive service then you have found us. Kent Island is a wedding destination during the summer months and the Manor House has hosted hundreds of weddings over the years, some a bit more celebratory than others. We are glad the music was not too disturbing and it ended at a reasonable time.

Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to celebrating with you again on your next anniversary!

Warmest regards,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a Trip Advisor deal for 2 nights at the Kent Manor. We had a lovely stay although not sure we would have stayed if not at a discounted rate. The Inn was charming and set on beautiful grounds. I would not recommend staying on the 3rd floor if you have issues with stairs as there is no elevator. The complimentary wine was a nice touch, the continental breakfast was very good and the sandwiches packed for our road trip home were plentiful and delicious. There isn't much to do in the immediate area so we stopped in Annapolis on the way and spent the next day in St. Michael's. Nice get away for 2 days. Thad at the Inn was very nice guy and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you from all of the Tipo Advisor readers for sharing the details and your tips. Thank you for sharing your five-star rating of us, too! Sorry that this wonderful review somehow slipped between the cracks. Best, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you need "new" this and "new" that and unsqueaky floors and a hermetic experience (for those worried about the wedding parties), then this charming 1860 inn and the old world hospitality is probably not for you; you'd be better at the 4 Seasons. Yet, if you want completely indulgent service and graciousness and a "package" that has been thoroughly thought through and generous (at least for the package we bought), then you'll be a happy guest at Kent Manor Inn. Enjoy a quiet time on the dock; take the gratis bikes out to a great trail; take the gratis kayak out for a paddle; enjoy a variety of high carb items for breakfast (that you can balance with the peanut butter or Greek yogurt; enjoy the gratis cookies (but we recommend you grab a couple before they're all gone for the evening; and (for our package) enjoy the gratis wine that was unexpectedly quite good and extremely generously sized sandwiches and goodies in the yummy boxed lunch on your way out. The staff can't do enough to make your stay as lovely as possible. We'd be quite happy to return. We'd have given it 5 stars had the AC done a better job of dehumidifying things and the champagne brunch been a notch more toward finer cuisine that we are spoiled with in Baltimore and DC. Would we pay the normal price (without the Travelzoo deal) for what we have described as a really delightful getaway? Probably not because kid one starts college in a week and we are not prone to indulge ourselves on high dollar-short duration outings (ie we're cheap). But we feel completely comfortable about the value we received from our semi-anniversary couples outing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are so very glad you were able to take advantage of a stay at Historic Kent Manor Inn while saving those important tuition dollars! My number one is settled in at college and number two is in the midst of the application process!!

Our cookies? Yes, very popular and sometimes (but not always) hard to keep the cookie platter full!

Sincerely,

Alan Michaels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a whim, my husband and I made last minute reservations to visit the Kent Manor Inn on a summer Friday night. We were pleasantly surprised when the Inn placed us in a nice room on the second floor a bit away from the wedding party that was occupying the Inn for the night. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, provided a tour, given tips for local restaurants and attractions, and presented with a surprise bottle of wine in our room in honor of my "early birthday." We enjoyed watching the wedding from our balcony and even chatted with a couple who was there celebrating their one year anniversary (the Inn re-creates the wedding dinner for those who have their wedding there). Our room was comfortable, clean and appointed. The Inn itself has tremendous character with its old floors, moulding and décor. The furnishings were a mix of reproductions and vintage pieces...which were nice. Bathroom was clean...albeit tiny...but no problem. Complimentary Rusk toiletries and evens snacks for purchase. We got a game of horseshoes in...but had to leave before taking advantage of kayaks and volleyball. The continental breakfast offered much more than a typical continental....eggs, bacon, pastries, muffins, cereal, etc. It was nice sitting out on the patio and looking at the creek as we enjoyed breakfast. Thad was extremely welcoming and attentive to our needs. We would definitely go back to the Kent Manor Inn...would be lovely in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
From the Kent Manor Inn Better--Late-Than-Never Department:
For whatever reason I missed your thoughtful, sincere reveiw, I fall on my sword before you, oh maiden. Now our talented housekeepers REALLY have some work to do! Thank you, again, and I hope you can find time to enjoy us for future birthdays as well as "just because". Sincerely, Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront hotel for weddings, meetings, retreats, rehearsal dinners and Sunday Brunch Buffets on our 220-acre plantation has been our specialty for decades! We are open Saturdays for lunch and Executive Chef Lackey will prepare romantic dinners as part of our Romantic (and very memorable) Getaway Weekend Packages. Your evening's menu is custom designed with your taste and preferences in mind. Our guests have access to complimentary bicycles, kayaks and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.