We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kent Manor Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Manor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Kent Manor Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Kent Manor Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old inn painstaking restored and maintained. Pleasant corner room with balcony. The drive to the entrance provided an enchanting view of the manor and allowed have us a hint of what it may have been like to drive up in a carriage a hundred years ago. The pool was clean and I had it all to. Yield for swimming laps. The dock on the James River was the perfect place for solitude and quiet reflection. Just a bit disappointed that the restaurant was closed during our weekday visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. And yes, it has been an enchanting place for nearly 200 years. Horse-drawn carriages and weary travelers alike have found comfort and rest at our Inn for centuries. Coupled with caring service and tranquil views of Thompson Creek, we feel the Inn is one of the hidden gems on Maryland's Eastern Shore.

As we are such a popular venue for weddings and corporate retreats, our restaurant is open every Saturday for lunch and for our Sunday Champagne Brunch.Buffet. Thank you, again, for sharing on TripAdvisor. . and by extension. . with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    33
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
59
1
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My grandparents were celebrating their Anniversary in July. We shopped around for several places to spend a few nights and have a celebratory dinner with the family. Kent Manor Inn was the perfect place to be for this event. I have to admit, Kent Manor Inn was not the least expensive of the different places we looked for our event, however, the lived up to every dime that we spent and more! We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and I have to tell you, the staff makes you feel right at home and like you are apart of their own family! I was so shocked as I have NEVER been treated this well in any of my travels. We were offered a wonderful breakfast spread each morning with a different protein each morning. The dinner for the Anniversary night was exquisite. The Chef was amazing and even came out to speak to my family after the meal was served to see how everything was. What Chef does that? The service was impeccable, the guest rooms were wonderfully decorated and the food was awesome! I could not EVER have asked for a better way to spend time with my loved ones :) We will most certainly take the time off from our busy schedules to come back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Chef Lackey and his team were happy to be of service to you and your family and help make your celebration memorable. Our Inn has celebrated life's milestones for nearly 200 years and we hope to continue to do so for another 200. Thank you for selecting Historic Kent Manor Inn, we are honored you chose to spend this exceptional time with us and welcome the chance to have you visit and enjoy us, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Grounds, staff, location-- all absolutely lovely but the rooms and eating areas are certainly in need of some new furnishings. Our mattress had seen better days. Nevertheless, the location is serene and the inn is very family friendly. We would certainly plan a return trip. We had a wonderful and relaxing time.

Green Features: Non-smoking hotel- but note that guests do smoke on the shared back porch.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Serene and lovely are perfect words to describe our Inn. It has been a welcoming place of rest for nearly two centuries and we strive to update the furnishings without compromising the historical ambiance of our Manor House. This past Spring we completed renovations on yet another public room which guests can use for meetings or dining. Our Brightsworth Room is a lovely addition but as you might well expect, in a 200 year old home there is always something needing to be refurbished.

Frankly, we are bit surprised at the mattress comment as we are frequently complimented in this area. Yet, we are going back to check your particular room. We are glad you mostly enjoyed your stay and plan a return visit. Looking forward to having you back with us. Especially our grounds, staff and location. Please expect to hear back from us shortly. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heigts, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is just the best place on the Eastern Shore to stay...no doubt about it. Beautifully decorated with quite an air of history with comfortable rooms giving a wonderful night's sleep, delectable continental breakfast with an array to choose from and a staff ready to please. We found a bottle of wine upon arrival to our room and upon departure, a picnic lunch was packed for us consisting of a rib eye sandwish on whole grain bread w/fresh tomatoe, lettuce, swiss cheese and a wonderful horseradish sauce, snack, fruit, and a drink. It is the little things that count and they certainly do provide this exceptionally. There are lots of great restaurants all around the area with our favorite being The Narrows. There is also alot of place to visit and lots to do, even on the property. Kayaking, swimming, and games along with bicycling and if you so choose, a restful peaceful time and place to kick back. You will enjoy it to the utmost...

Room Tip: Room 308, although wonderfully decorated and comfy has four spiraling steps going down to the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
A best kept secret for nearly 200 years; our Inn has hosted many visitors, dignitaries and has been graced with countless weddings as well as offering travelers a peaceful and pretty place to escape from the busy world. Chef Lackey and all the staff are adept at handling the "little things" which always make your stay that much more memorable. We enjoyed having you as our guest. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riva
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Historic Kent Manor Inn for the weekend while attending a friend's wedding in May. We not only had a great time at the wedding, but the experience was made even better with our two nights at the Inn. The staff is super friendly, the rooms unique and very pretty and the food was terrific. The Sunday Brunch should NOT be missed; it's a WOW buffet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Our Sunday Brunch is one of the Island's best kept secrets and we thank you for helping to spread the word. Chef Lackey delights guests every Sunday from 10 am until 2 pm. The staff enjoys taking care of our guests and the rooms are indeed unique and comforting. We welcome the opportunity to have you visit with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This historic inn is everything it claims to be -- with elegant furnishing, grounds that are beautifully cared for, spacious and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, a nice swimming pool and in particular, an unusually gracious and helpful staff. The inn is an excellent base for exploring Maryland's Eastern Shore (including Easton and St. Michael's), but also a wonderful place to just hunker down and read, jog and relax.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor -- a bit of a hike if you are not physically fit, but worth the climb. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
You have discovered what many have yet to uncover. Just an hour's drive from Washington lies Queen Anne's County which is home to pastoral farms and tranquil rivers. Our Inn borders Thompson Creek on 220 acres and is indeed a relaxing, gracious place to stay. As you stated, St. Michaels, Oxford, Chestertown and Easton are a short drive away.

The perfect location to explore the Upper Shore. Bring a good book, sunscreen and an appetite for nature, we will provide everything else including complimentary bicycles, kayaks and a variety of area guidemaps and personal suggestions. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a find! Kent Manor Inn is a gem. The setting is serene, the accommodations are elegant and the staff offer hospitality at its finest. I have never before written a review in the midst of my stay yet I just cannot wait to tell the world of this inn. We were lured here by a Travelzoo voucher but we plan to visit this retreat many more times in the future. Within the confines of the property we were able to kayak the lovely Thompson Creek, bike the country roads, take a dip in the pool, sip a glass of wine on the dock and read a book on our private porch. A bit over an hours drive from metro DC, the surrounding Kent Island has been fun to explore with it's waterside restaurants and beaches, quaint old Stevensville and a wildlife refuge. I say come, enjoy a night or more, you will be appreciative of your choice.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a great view and tall ceiling.
See more room tips
Green Features: The low chemical gardening is impressive. we appreciated the choice to re-use linens and towels. The cooling system was efficient.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I'm so very glad you enjoyed yourselves as you had. . . and that we inspired you to write your TripAdvisor review during your visit. Looks like our wireless connections must have been just fine!

Thank you for taking the time to write and to share. And we hope to see you again and again. . .

Best regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront hotel for weddings, meetings, retreats, rehearsal dinners and Sunday Brunch Buffets on our 220-acre plantation has been our specialty for decades! We are open Saturdays for lunch and Executive Chef Lackey will prepare romantic dinners as part of our Romantic (and very memorable) Getaway Weekend Packages. Your evening's menu is custom designed with your taste and preferences in mind. Our guests have access to complimentary bicycles, kayaks and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.