We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Get-Away from Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Manor Inn

Save Saved
You added Kent Manor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kent Manor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stevensville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Get-Away from Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This historic inn is everything it claims to be -- with elegant furnishing, grounds that are beautifully cared for, spacious and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, a nice swimming pool and in particular, an unusually gracious and helpful staff. The inn is an excellent base for exploring Maryland's Eastern Shore (including Easton and St. Michael's), but also a wonderful place to just hunker down and read, jog and relax.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor -- a bit of a hike if you are not physically fit, but worth the climb. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
You have discovered what many have yet to uncover. Just an hour's drive from Washington lies Queen Anne's County which is home to pastoral farms and tranquil rivers. Our Inn borders Thompson Creek on 220 acres and is indeed a relaxing, gracious place to stay. As you stated, St. Michaels, Oxford, Chestertown and Easton are a short drive away.

The perfect location to explore the Upper Shore. Bring a good book, sunscreen and an appetite for nature, we will provide everything else including complimentary bicycles, kayaks and a variety of area guidemaps and personal suggestions. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    32
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
58
1
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a find! Kent Manor Inn is a gem. The setting is serene, the accommodations are elegant and the staff offer hospitality at its finest. I have never before written a review in the midst of my stay yet I just cannot wait to tell the world of this inn. We were lured here by a Travelzoo voucher but we plan to visit this retreat many more times in the future. Within the confines of the property we were able to kayak the lovely Thompson Creek, bike the country roads, take a dip in the pool, sip a glass of wine on the dock and read a book on our private porch. A bit over an hours drive from metro DC, the surrounding Kent Island has been fun to explore with it's waterside restaurants and beaches, quaint old Stevensville and a wildlife refuge. I say come, enjoy a night or more, you will be appreciative of your choice.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a great view and tall ceiling.
See more room tips
Green Features: The low chemical gardening is impressive. we appreciated the choice to re-use linens and towels. The cooling system was efficient.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I'm so very glad you enjoyed yourselves as you had. . . and that we inspired you to write your TripAdvisor review during your visit. Looks like our wireless connections must have been just fine!

Thank you for taking the time to write and to share. And we hope to see you again and again. . .

Best regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I searched for a nice place close to our home to stay for a few days. On line my wife found the Kent Manor Inn. Having traveled many years over the Bay Bridge, we had no idea that this Inn existed. We made our reservation and we were pleased beyond our expectations. From the moment of arrival, everything was wonderful. Checking into our room, we found it to be beautiful: the furnishings, the amenities, and the quiet. During our two day stay we found the staff to be friendly and very accommodating. The continental breakfast was unlike those that we have had at other venues. The food was excellent and the coffee especially good. All of the staff made sure that everything was great. We found all of the other guests to be friendly and as happy with the Inn as were we. We will definitely stay at the Kent Manor Inn again.

Room Tip: Staying at the Kent Manor Inn feels as though you are in a world apart from the noise and irritation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
They say you can judge an Inn by it's coffee, bread and mattress. Your kind words suggest we passed the basics and as you stated there was even more to discover and appreciate.

Your comments about the quiet, amenities, furnishings, food and accommodating service are equally appreciated. However, the best measure of an Inn is the guests' experience and for this we are grateful you have shared your experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our company's semi annual meetings have always been in a city environment. When polled on what we would like to see changed or improved for our our 2013 meetings, we asked for a change of scenary; how about some real life scenary like the country.

Our request was noted and our recent meeting held at Kent Manor Inn. While it is located within a 50 minute drive of Washington DC, they hotel is located on over 200 acres right on a branch of the Chesapeake Bay.

Our group can be considered high maintainence as we want flawless service, comfort and great food. All of our requirements were not only met, but they surpassed our expectatations.

I highly recommend; if within your company's budget, to book the entire estate. This requires all 24 guest rooms and meeting space. What an unforgettable experience to have an entire estate all to your self.

Our meeting was probably the most productive I have encountered in my eight years with the firm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank You!
Be it a meeting with all of our 24 rooms or just four rooms, we feel this is THE perfect location for meetings. It sounds like you agree!

Our 1820 Manor House sits, secluded, on the shores of Thompson Creek surrounded by 220 acres of fields and fauna. Groups can immerse themselves in the business at-hand without distractions. And Executive Chef Lackey ensures that any "surprises" are reserved for the dinner hour where guests are treated to exceptional cuisine and friendly service.

We are glad you discovered how productive and relaxing a meeting can be at Historic Kent Manor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were there on June 8 for a wedding. I couldn't have been more pleased with the Inn. Staff was attentive, the spring sprucing up looks to be complete, and special thanks to the wait staff and kitchen for producing an appetizer for me while they were hustling the wedding prep. And a Band-Aid too for my wife who was preparing flowers.
And regarding an earlier comment, that is a water view worthy of an Inn on the Eastern Shore. The wedding staff couldn't have been nicer, or more professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
There are few places where one can stop and enjoy the virtues of a promise.......A wedding at Kent Manor is one such place to enjoy family and make those promises that last a life time. Be it Band-Aids or a banquet for 300, we enjoy having guests enjoy themselves. Thank you for joining us and for sharing your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our organization did a staff retreat for 7 people at this property and it was perfect. The Kent Manor Inn is absolutely gorgeous and is the perfect size for a small group meeting. The food is very good and the service is excellent. The staff is beyond courteous, helfpul and friendly. There are many fun things to do on property such as kayaking, biking and outdoor ping pong which made for great fun during free time. As an event planner, I would recommend Kent Manor Inn to for all small group meetings and definitely for weddings.

Room Tip: It is an old house so you can hear a lot. I would recommend a room on the top floor if possible - e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I have to agree . . . we are a GREAT destination for all types of meetings, retreats, strategic planning sessions and the like. Several members of Congress as well as a govenor have recently joined us for staff planning meetings.

Se are always pleased when others come to experience our docks, kayaks, biking, horseshoes, ping pong and soon-to-arrive bocci, fire pits and volleyball. As you say, it is the perfect location for a retreat, wedding or a secluded getaway. The staff appreciate our guests and Chef Lackey and his team excel at providing culinary delights.

Thank you for the tip for light sleepers.....our third floor offers a bit of quiet from possibly having footfalls from above. yet, our first and second floor rooms have taller ceilings and most have balconies. Yet their are balconies for all of our guests to use, one favorite being on the second floor overlooking Thompson Creek and a large part of our 220-acres.

Thank you, again.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent one spring weeknight at the Kent Manor Inn on the recomendation of the business we were visiting nearby. We requested the least expensive room. For a B &B of this vintage I expected a tiny room tucked up under the eaves. Our room was on the third floor, note there is no elevator, but was spacious enough for two comfortable chairs and a king bed. The bathroom was modern and beautiful with a wonderful shower. It was tucked down a few steps from the bedroom, but the stairs were well lit and very safe.

Breakfast was much more than the advertised "continental" with waffles and bacon as well as pastries, fresh fruit and cereals.

For light sleepers I do recommend the third floor because the old wooden floors DO creak.

We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can do the climb, stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Happily stay again indeed! Thank you! Our third floor offers wonderful views of the property, well worth the climb and those melodic floorboards have been around for nearly two centuries. Built 30 years before electric elevators, The Manor House has survived just fine without them and does seem to keep the Inn's staff physically fit in spite of our Chef's lavish breakfasts. Executive Chef William Lackey realizes one can work up an appetite on the grand staircase and as such takes great care in providing for the morning meal.

I hope your travels bring you back to visit again; perhaps stay on the second floor with a balcony overlooking Thompson Creek? We might then convince you that our "almost perfect" location is indeed just the perfect place to relax and refresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront hotel for weddings, meetings, retreats, rehearsal dinners and Sunday Brunch Buffets on our 220-acre plantation has been our specialty for decades! We are open Saturdays for lunch and Executive Chef Lackey will prepare romantic dinners as part of our Romantic (and very memorable) Getaway Weekend Packages. Your evening's menu is custom designed with your taste and preferences in mind. Our guests have access to complimentary bicycles, kayaks and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.