We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprize on Kent Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Manor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kent Manor Inn to your Saves list
Kent Manor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful surprize on Kent Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We hadn't been to the Kent Manor Inn before and booked it on a whim for an overnight stay based on the web page. The room was very nice, cozy and clean. The bathroom had nice towels, soaps and shampoo. The shower water was hot and plentiful. The decor was elegant and the bed was comfortable. We spent some time sitting in the main lobby room in front of the gas log fire place. The antiques and art were stunning. The decorating was a professional work of art right down to the painting detail of the room. We didn't want to leave. The back enclosed porch was where we ate our wonderful continental breakfast. The french bread was very good as was the coffee. I am a breakfast lover and I was full. I can't wait to return so that we can sit on the pier and watch the activity on the adjacent river. This Inn is truly a first class establishment and other negative comments in previous reviews are unfounded. Hanover, PA is a lousy town to visit with nothing to offer a tourist (I live near by). Go to Gettysburg if you want to stay in PA. The Eastern Shore of MD has much to offer and the grounds of the Kent Manor Inn are peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community, Eric. I am so very happy we continue to meet or exceed our guests expectations. And, thank you for taking the time to post your very positive experience. TripAdvisor has become a very important travelers' tool in determining where to stay.

Thank you, again.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    33
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
61
2
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just came back from a weekend at the Kent manor. We purchased a group deal for a two night stay and we wanted a quick weekend away and thought this would be ideal. We both travel extensively and usually love and prefer historic bed and breakfasts, but wouldn't recommend this one. It feels too much like a hotel, a little impersonal. The rooms are clean and spacious but the walls are extremely thin and you can hear conversations through them. I was afraid to talk to loud or even turn the tv on at a reasonable level. One thing that I usually like about bed and breakfasts is other rooms to hang out in to read or play a game but there isn't really anywhere to do that. The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast. It's served buffet style but is mostly previously frozen pastries, breads, and some fruit and dried cereal. I expect a little more from a place like this and especially one who has an executive chef on staff. I have had much better breakfasts at chain hotels. The hot chocolate they put out at night is actually quite nice but the cookies are run of the mill side notes. We didn't stay for the brunch because of the price and the quality of the food we had already had we felt like it just may not be worth it. Overall, we didn't feel it was worth the money. Go stay at the sheppard mansion in Hanover, pa if you want a historic place to stay with a renowned chef! The price is cheaper and amenities better!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel8519, Owner at Kent Manor Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Historic Kent Manor Inn experience with the travel community. I am very, very sorry we disappointed you as we had. We have taken your comments to heart and we are implementing immediate changes to our breakfast presentation to bring us up to a standard for which we will be proud. I agree with you that, sometimes, our breakfast has not been up to par. This will not be the case in the future. Regarding other comments, we do have a very comfortable parlor with sofas, tables and chairs for games and the like. Insofar as noise, well, our building was built in 1820 and we upgrade the sound deadening whenever we can. It remains an ongoing process.

To the TripAdvisor community: I have been in touch with this reviewer, individually, and have extended our Historic Kent Manor Inn hospitality to compensate for her disappointment. I assure everyone that any inconsistencies have been corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

A group of 28 of us from a church spent a wonderful weekend at Kent Manor. It exceed our expectations. The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and most helpful. The food was absolutely sumptuous. There was no way we could have been prepared for Sunday's brunch! I was stupendous. (this is also open to the public as a brunch only,) We wandered around exclaiming about the food for 5 minutes before we put anything on our plate. We will go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Went to the Kent Manor Inn for their Sunday Brunch to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful time. Staff is attentive and very pleasant. Food is good with a variety for most palates - including vegetarians. Fresh Omelette and carving station. Complimentary mimosa or bloody mary. Beautiful setting in a historic house. A little ways to travel from the Balto/DC area, but worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

As a group of friends and family we booked New Years Eve at the Kent Manor Inn for a party of 12. Even though there was a large wedding NYE night the folks at the Inn were gracious and very attentive to everyone. The continental breakfast each morning was beautifully done and more than enough. Stephanie recommended a wonderful restaurant, Rustico, in Stevenville for Friday night which was fun. We walked around Stevensville and Chestertown on Saturday, NYE, and came back to the Inn in time to see the wedding party and take a nap. Our dinner reservation was for 9:00 p.m. at the Inn. The food was amazing and the wait staff was great. We brought in the New Year in style and got up the next morning and enjoyed the Inn's Sunday Brunch which was another hit. We had enough people in our party that we could see just about all the different rooms. The rooms were beautiful some had porches, some had fireplaces or views of the river. Everyone was happy with their accomodations. We were lucky with the weather too, it was so warm one couple fell asleep on the porch in the sun. I would highly recommend this Inn. It is so close to Annapolis, Baltimore and D.C., but you feel like you are in the country on the river.

Room Tip: There are no elevators since it is an historic inn. If you book on the second floor most rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We booked the Thanksgiving weekend in this inn about one hour from downtown Maryland, the inn is situated in the beautiful Kent island wonderful location, sea, breeze you cannot ask for more.
The inn was built in late 1800 was originally a farm then turned to inn beautifully maintained, our room was a bit small but I guess that is the normal size clean & neat, bathroom was spotless which is something you do not see very often, breakfast was average, but the inn is sitting on the lake amazing views. You can use the bicycles on the property for free and go to the Chesapeake Bay. The Inn manager Ann was wonderful and the staff too, they made our stay comfortable & If you want to enjoy the city noise you can head to Annapolis.
I would recommend this place to any traveler would like to switch off the technology and enjoy some quietness.
http://www.kentmanor.com/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Everyone is super friendly. The caretaker's husband took our picture in front of his oddly wonderful, densely decorated yard full of Xmas displays and lights. I don't know what it would be like in the summer when everyone is here (did not see AC in our room). We were here in December and had the place to ourselves -- breakfast delivered to our room. Quiet, restful, beautifully decorated -- if you like that, it is lovely. A man in Annapolis asked us, "Kent Island? What are you doing over there?" We might no have come here, either, if we had not taken a Groupon offer, which made the Inn affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Manor Inn

Address: 500 Kent Manor Drive, Kent Island, Stevensville, Kent Island, MD 21666
Location: United States > Maryland > Kent Island > Stevensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stevensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent Manor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront hotel for weddings, meetings, retreats, rehearsal dinners and Sunday Brunch Buffets on our 220-acre plantation has been our specialty for decades! We are open Saturdays for lunch and Executive Chef Lackey will prepare romantic dinners as part of our Romantic (and very memorable) Getaway Weekend Packages. Your evening's menu is custom designed with your taste and preferences in mind. Our guests have access to complimentary bicycles, kayaks and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Kent Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Manor Hotel Stevensville
Kent Manor Stevensville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.