We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high hopes, let down big time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Holiday Dr, Solomons, MD 20688   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solomons
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Had high hopes, let down big time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

People rave so much about this place and I was looking forward to staying here but totally regretted it. The check-in and check-out process was so long because there aren't enough personnel. I shouldn't have to wait in line 15 minutes for each.

A coworker of mine and I had to stay here no thanks to our company travel coordinator. When you come in you're overwhelmed with air freshener also in the rooms. Didn't work well, because when I turned the heat on in my room (the heat stopped working in the middle of the night), my room ended up smelling like cat pee the whole time. The carpet was filthy and turned my socks brown. My mattress and sheets had stains on them (took pictures) and there were balls of hair on the top blanket. The pillows are not of regular size, they are the size of decorative throw pillows and so uncomfortable.

Part of the hotel is only "marina-view" - not water view. You'd be looking at boats, not the river. If you end up in an inner view room, you're overlooking an overgrown, lack of landscaping area with a non-working fountain full of dead leaves.

I had high hopes because I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before that was great but this Holiday Inn was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear FastDreams04,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Solomons.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    44
    42
    24
See reviews for
54
65
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There are not a lot of lodging options in this little marina area and town. We used to stay at this hotel many years ago so I was hesitant to stay there in case it had not been maintained. Was pleasantly surprised to fine new lobby carpet, nice remodeled rooms, clean feeling throughout the hotel. Front desk staff was good and every one in the hotel from bar tender to maids was very friendly. It has a restaurant and bar which is nice if you don't want to leave the facility once you are checked in, although the food is only fair. Would recommend this hotel overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For the past several years, along with thousands of people, we paid paid "VIP" or "Presidential" level tickets (unlimited drinks) to various sponsored New Year's Eve events in one of DC's multi themed hotel ballrooms. These huge events suit us because we like a variety of social dancing and a sit down dinner (vs buffet). Lately we've been disappointed in the quality of the bands at the DC hotels and we came across a flyer to see "Fabulous Hubcaps" at Holiday Inn, Solomons Island. We had not seen the band but friends liked them. This hotel was an easy (70 min drive after work) from NoVA/DC and it was an all-inclusive price with room, buffet dinner, dancing, 3 drinks each, champagne toast, favors, breakfast & late checkout. When we arrived, the hotel Mgr was very welcoming. Nice room with King sized bed. Food was basic Italian and some seafood. Like the DC hotels, you sit at a table for 10. Without any diversions like early admittance to the various international ballrooms & caricature artists, palm reading, etc.. it seemed like a long wait after dinner for the band to start. The New Year's Eve party favors here were dull & they ran out of headpieces. A handful of women wore their own fancier NYE headbands. While it's fun to load up on a variety of glitzy party favors & unlimited drinks at the DC hotels, you can't beat the price for this event. We missed the sit down dinner too. What we liked was the band's music (people were dancing from the 1st song), the large wooden dance floor, easy parking & ambiance. The staff at breakfast were so warm & friendly. We would definitely return and spend another New Year's Eve here.

Room Tip: No choice on New Year's Eve, I think because it looked like everyone was on the first floor. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

All was good until we got back to the room the second night and discovered that nobody cleaned our room! Dirty towels everywhere, unmaid bed, trash in trash cans and no shampoo. WHAT? After calling downstairs, we received an "I don't care attitude" from the clerk. WHAT?! Breakfast was a joke. Asked for an eggwhite omelet and received one egg white barely wrapped in bell pepper. They couldn't spare a 2nd egg? Never again.

Room Tip: Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed over the holiday and enjoyed the restaurant's Thanksgiving buffet. The hotel is easy to find with lots of fre parking. From the moment we arrived the staff were superb. Check-in was easy and quick, the rooms are nice but not luxurious, and we had a great water view on the East side of the hotel.

Let me point out that the price we paid on an Internet special from Holiday Inns was LESS than the local Sleep Inn or Comfort Inn and we had better rooms, better service, etc.

The holiday buffet was good but uneven. They had a carving station with very good truley and an excellent pork loin, and the usual Thanksgiving food done respectably. Unexpected highlights were jumbo steamed Gulf shrimp done PERFECTLY with not too much Old Bay (a pet peeve of mine), Macaroni and cheese with crab meat (I KNOW!), and fresh bread pudding for dessert. However, there was no salad bar; in fact, there were no fresh fruit or fresh vegetables of any kind. When queried, the manager explained that the locals simply don't eat them.

Good
+ Great staff very knowledgeable and attentive
+ Comfortable room with quality bedding and pillows
+ Free local phone calls
+ Free WiFi - very strong signal throughout the building
+ Well-placed ice and vending
+ Very minor room issues handled courteously and promptly
+ Solid restaurant that knows seafood
+ Decent free breakfast - much better than limited service hotels.

Bad
- Vending machines have only PEPSI products (feh!)
- This is a 30+-year-old property that has been kept up, but needs some updating - the common area carpets are a psychedelic mess
- Needs better food variety on buffets

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor on East side for great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

They try. It's a great location. Service is really good and everyone seems to go out of their way to please. Problem is, Holiday Inn needs to put some time and money into this property.

Good:
Service
Clean
Affordable
Comfortable Beds
Some Rooms with Mini Kitchen

Bad:
Rooms Run Down
Bathroom Wallpaper Needs to Come Down
Old Furnishings
Breakfast (free version) was Terrible
Common Areas Desperately Need Updating

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear takenthekids,

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to know that you found our staff's service commendable and our bed accommodations comfortable. I would like to apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the breakfast served not living up to promise and condition of the rooms. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location and tremendous water views if you are on the east side upper floors.If this place has been renovated as the Manager claims, they were robbed! It needs a serious makeover of common areas but most importantly the guest rooms. We were there on a weekend and a large wedding party was partying in our hallway at 3am. Repeated calls to the front desk had no effect, so we didn't sleep all night. On check-out the front desk had a "who cares attitude".

Unless the fix this relic up I'll be staying at the Hilton, I frequently travel to PAX River on business.

Very disappointed.

Room Tip: East side rooms with water views on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina

Address: 155 Holiday Dr, Solomons, MD 20688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find comfort & modern luxury at one of the most suitable locations in Solomons. Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. Positioned on Back Creek of the Patuxent River with its Naval Air Station, Wildlife Reserve & adjacent to Chesapeake Bay. A scenic one-hour drive from Washington, D.C. & Annapolis. Just 10 minutes from St. Mary's Airport, while Baltimore Washington International & Reagan National are both within a 90-minute drive. Walking distance to Calvert Marine Museum, Annmarie Gardens, & Spectacular Solomons Island Boardwalk. Just a short drive to State Parks, Historical Sites, & Lighthouse adventures.The Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina is ideal for business & leisure travelers, featuring newly renovated spacious & decorative guest rooms & suites. You'll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right. Dip in our outdoor Jr. Olympic size pool (seasonal), sip at the Outdoor Marina Side Bar with access to Solomons Harbor Marina. Enjoy tennis & a fully equipped renovated fitness center. Meeting & Banquet facilities offer over 20,000 square feet of flexible function space that enhances business & social functions from small meetings or intimate dinners to weddings. When it's time to dine, enjoy an adventure at Isaac's Restaurant & Pub. The best is waiting for you at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center And Marina Hotel Solomons
Solomons Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.