We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Holiday Dr, Solomons, MD 20688   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solomons
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

All was good until we got back to the room the second night and discovered that nobody cleaned our room! Dirty towels everywhere, unmaid bed, trash in trash cans and no shampoo. WHAT? After calling downstairs, we received an "I don't care attitude" from the clerk. WHAT?! Breakfast was a joke. Asked for an eggwhite omelet and received one egg white barely wrapped in bell pepper. They couldn't spare a 2nd egg? Never again.

Room Tip: Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    68
    39
    38
    24
See reviews for
49
57
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed over the holiday and enjoyed the restaurant's Thanksgiving buffet. The hotel is easy to find with lots of fre parking. From the moment we arrived the staff were superb. Check-in was easy and quick, the rooms are nice but not luxurious, and we had a great water view on the East side of the hotel.

Let me point out that the price we paid on an Internet special from Holiday Inns was LESS than the local Sleep Inn or Comfort Inn and we had better rooms, better service, etc.

The holiday buffet was good but uneven. They had a carving station with very good truley and an excellent pork loin, and the usual Thanksgiving food done respectably. Unexpected highlights were jumbo steamed Gulf shrimp done PERFECTLY with not too much Old Bay (a pet peeve of mine), Macaroni and cheese with crab meat (I KNOW!), and fresh bread pudding for dessert. However, there was no salad bar; in fact, there were no fresh fruit or fresh vegetables of any kind. When queried, the manager explained that the locals simply don't eat them.

Good
+ Great staff very knowledgeable and attentive
+ Comfortable room with quality bedding and pillows
+ Free local phone calls
+ Free WiFi - very strong signal throughout the building
+ Well-placed ice and vending
+ Very minor room issues handled courteously and promptly
+ Solid restaurant that knows seafood
+ Decent free breakfast - much better than limited service hotels.

Bad
- Vending machines have only PEPSI products (feh!)
- This is a 30+-year-old property that has been kept up, but needs some updating - the common area carpets are a psychedelic mess
- Needs better food variety on buffets

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor on East side for great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

They try. It's a great location. Service is really good and everyone seems to go out of their way to please. Problem is, Holiday Inn needs to put some time and money into this property.

Good:
Service
Clean
Affordable
Comfortable Beds
Some Rooms with Mini Kitchen

Bad:
Rooms Run Down
Bathroom Wallpaper Needs to Come Down
Old Furnishings
Breakfast (free version) was Terrible
Common Areas Desperately Need Updating

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear takenthekids,

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to know that you found our staff's service commendable and our bed accommodations comfortable. I would like to apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the breakfast served not living up to promise and condition of the rooms. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location and tremendous water views if you are on the east side upper floors.If this place has been renovated as the Manager claims, they were robbed! It needs a serious makeover of common areas but most importantly the guest rooms. We were there on a weekend and a large wedding party was partying in our hallway at 3am. Repeated calls to the front desk had no effect, so we didn't sleep all night. On check-out the front desk had a "who cares attitude".

Unless the fix this relic up I'll be staying at the Hilton, I frequently travel to PAX River on business.

Very disappointed.

Room Tip: East side rooms with water views on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Great staff great food great views on the water. Comfortable and accommodating! We loved it for our sons wedding hotel! It was the perfect home basefor everyone attending our wedding Lots of parking. A very accommodating staff restaurants were warm and comfortable with great food! Pretty location on the water rates very good. Overall loved this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to enter a review of your recent stay with us. Our entire team will be glad to hear that you “loved our hotel”. Again Thank you, Jeffrey D. Shepherd, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed for one night(6 rooms) to meet a client in the area. Everyone was curious to why they had 4 small pillows instead of a real pillow. Between the uncomfortable beds and the poorly thought out pillow situation, everyone agreeded that it was a bad night of sleep. I'm not sure what creates the horrible smell in the hallways and rooms but we all thought it was pretty bad too. I'm not sure if they need new carpets and paint but it seems like everyone there must be used to it not to recognize how bad it is. The last thing was that half of us had a hard time getting the showers to work. It took me 5 minutes to get it going and a couple of people just gave up. We did not get a chance to use the restaurants or bar so I can't comment on that. Check in was fine and courteous. No taxi service available in the area but that is no fault of the hotel. Would stay somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to enter a review of your recent stay with us. Comments such as yours help us make improvements in both product and services. We are currently in the final planning stages of completing our guest public area carpets. Your concern about our pillows comes at the same time we are making a standard change to all of our pillows and will start replacement of all pillows once that change is completed. Again thank you, Jeffrey D. Shepherd, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, VA.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

6 of us stayed at this hotel this past weekend and had a wonderful stay. This wasn't our first time. We have been there several times in the past several years and each time had been wonderful. The hotel staff are great and attentive to your needs. They are friendly and knowledgeable at the front desk. The young lady that checked all of us in on Saturday evening was fast and friendly and was even able to change all of our rooms to rooms with a view of the water vs. a view of the pool upon my request. That was very much appreciated.

The rooms were clean and the beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at any hotel. We all agreed on that. We had breakfast in the restaurant at the hotel and it was excellent.

We will continue to stay at this hotel when we are in that area.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing the river vs. the rooms facing the pool. Not that it is noisy anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdshepherd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review of our property. We appreciate that you found our front desk team friendly and knowledgeable, our rooms clean and our beds among the most comfortable you have ever slept on. We look forward to serving you in the future. Jeffrey D. Shepherd, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina

Address: 155 Holiday Dr, Solomons, MD 20688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Solomons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find comfort & modern luxury at one of the most suitable locations in Solomons. Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. Positioned on Back Creek of the Patuxent River with its Naval Air Station, Wildlife Reserve & adjacent to Chesapeake Bay. A scenic one-hour drive from Washington, D.C. & Annapolis. Just 10 minutes from St. Mary's Airport, while Baltimore Washington International & Reagan National are both within a 90-minute drive. Walking distance to Calvert Marine Museum, Annmarie Gardens, & Spectacular Solomons Island Boardwalk. Just a short drive to State Parks, Historical Sites, & Lighthouse adventures.The Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina is ideal for business & leisure travelers, featuring newly renovated spacious & decorative guest rooms & suites. You'll have room to work, relax & make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels & luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night & every day starts right. Dip in our outdoor Jr. Olympic size pool (seasonal), sip at the Outdoor Marina Side Bar with access to Solomons Harbor Marina. Enjoy tennis & a fully equipped renovated fitness center. Meeting & Banquet facilities offer over 20,000 square feet of flexible function space that enhances business & social functions from small meetings or intimate dinners to weddings. When it's time to dine, enjoy an adventure at Isaac's Restaurant & Pub. The best is waiting for you at Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center And Marina Hotel Solomons
Solomons Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.