We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Many Different Ways Can They Say “Not Welcome”?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zahniser's Dry Dock

Zahniser's Dry Dock
C Street, Solomons, MD
(410) 326-4817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Solomons
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Dry Dock, is located in Solomons Island at the Zahniser's Yachting Center. Expect an intimate water view restaurant that caters to an upscale dining experience, specializing in steaks & seafood. We offer deck seating, weather permitting. Nightly specials & Happy Hour 5-6:00pm daily. Hours of Operation: Open Tuesday through Sunday, 5:00pm. Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm Reservations recommended.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“How Many Different Ways Can They Say “Not Welcome”?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not a very friendly welcoming place. After our group of nine (five adults, two teens and two children) ascended the stairway and entered this petite restaurant, we were met with a veritable barrage of excuses for why we should probably try somewhere else; from (a) we are a private club (that was news to us); to (b) it will probably be about one and a quarter to one and a half hour wait (the restaurant was about two-thirds empty); to (c) we can seat you on the deck (outside in the heat and humidity under very threatening storm clouds – where no one else would likely want to sit anyway, and we can’t hear you); to (d) we only have one chef and two cooks, and the chef prepares all dishes individually, so it will take a while; to (e) maybe you should look through our menu before you decide; to (f) silent stares on the tortured faces of our two hostesses (which seemed to be quietly screaming: “Please just leave. We can fit five couples in the space your brood will take up, and the couples will be higher paying, quieter and more dignified”). Suffice it to say that we did not eat there, but rather took their not so subtle hints and went elsewhere. If you’re a quiet dignified couple, enjoy. If you see a large family with kids there, compliment them on their tenacity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent place for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great little place for both food and atmosphere. We went there for Sunday brunch and we ordered the warm brie and fresh fruit for starters. 3 of us had the French toast which came with a generous portion of scrambled eggs and bacon. It was delicious. My daughter had the eggs benedict which she said were outstanding. The service was attentive and our coffee cups were never empty. This is a quality place. I am sure you will not be disappointed no matter which meal you choose to eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seemed like we were not welcome”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tried to have dinner recently here; but we got the impression we were not welcome. Despite a relatively respectable appearance (we came from vigil mass: men/boys all in button down oxford shirts and girls in dresses), the hostess and what appeared to be the manager gave us strange looks and came up with a series of unusual and in some cases contradictory reasons why we would not want to eat there. At first it was, “Do you have a reservation?” We did not; but the restaurant appeared to be relatively empty, it was early in the evening, and based on the remainder of the conversation it appeared that this was in no way a factor one way or another. Then came, “We want to let you know that it will be at least an hour and a half to get your food after you order.” This seemed strange. We asked why this was and they said that it was due to the large crowd (again, the restaurant appeared to be relatively empty). One of the two seemed to have second thoughts and at one point offered a table on the deck. We said that sounded nice and asked about the effect of storms based on geometry etc. since the weather was a bit ominous. The second keyed on that and said we couldn’t sit out there because, “All the seats were wet.” We eventually got the hint and headed home for a good home cooked meal. We were going into Annapolis the next day and redeemed the weekend’s culinary expedition(s) with a very pleasant dinner at the Chart House Restaurant there that is right on the water. They were extremely gracious and I’m sure happy to take our $145. As an added bonus we got to relive some fond memories of our rehearsal dinner we had there twelve years ago!

Every human being and every guest should always be treated with dignity and hospitality no matter what the case; so what I’m about to say should have no bearing on how I’m treated; but I’ll say the following for those who think we need to keep “certain types” out for the benefit of the “rest of us.” It is probably fair to say that I’m a bit more savvy than the average bear when it comes to etiquette, manners etc. I grew up as the daughter of a Navy Captain (USNA ’75). My husband went to a very elite middle and secondary school (The Columbus Academy) to include going to knife and fork school through upper school. He graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy, and during his career as a Naval Officer and a test pilot we have gone through more than our fair share of black tie formal events. I can say without any reservation that our kids are well behaved when we go out to places like church and to restaurants, including some that have been borderline formal / “fine dining”. If they were not we wouldn’t try it in the first place and if they had one of “those moments” that goes along with growing up (for all of us, admit it – you were there too once) we would certainly not let it bother other diners (we would probably just have one of us head back to the car with the offending party for a “time out”). Not sure who they are trying to fool; but Zahniser’s Dry Dock is not formal (look at the photographs of the place) and based on the other reviews here is probably not fine dining either. We were in all seriousness a bit overdressed for the occasion. I know we have a relatively large family in this day and age; but our kids are well behaved and we regularly go out to dinner both for family camaraderie and as an opportunity to practice good etiquette and manners. This is the first time we’ve run into something like this. My advice to restaurant owners is this: If you don’t want kids then advertise it wherever you advertise your business – you’ll probably get some customers out of this for just this reason! Also, post it on a sign outside. This is the honest and honorable thing to do. Granted at all the other places we’ve eaten over the last ten years we’ve never had an issue, only compliments and in at least two cases our entire meal paid for by admiring patron(s); but still, if this is the way someone wants to be then at least be up front about it!

We’ve been in Southern Maryland for close to three years. While the atmosphere at Dry Dock is nice with a view of the boatyard/docks; it seemed comparable to Stoney’s Kingfishers. While it isn’t perfect, we’ve always enjoyed the food at Stoney’s. For a good view on the water (in the area) the absolute #1 is Stoney’s Solomon’s Pier. Their Broomes Island location is also very nice. No we’re not paid by them and we don’t know anything more about them than that we’ve been to each of these multiple times and always had a good time with a good view, decent service (sometimes better than others) and of course the nice view. Our other favorite restaurants are Salsa’s Mexican and Café Des Artistes, both in Leonardtown nearby. We’ve been to a number of other restaurants in Southern Maryland (probably most of the more popular ones) and there are some other good ones too; but these are our favorite. After our attempt at Zahniser’s Dry Dock we will not be going back there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedrydock, General Manager at Zahniser's Dry Dock, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
In the restaurant business, we take pride in providing a enjoyable dining experience. During our busy season, especially on fridays & saturdays, we try to acccomodate those guests that do not have a reservation. It is very difficult to turn away any guests, large or small but sometimes we simply have no choice. Our restaurant has limited inside seating.

On this particular rainy saturday, we were completely booked with reservations, no inside seating available. We do not take reservations for our outside deck seating and is available on first come, first serve & weather permitting.

Reservation times are staggered which can "appear" as empty tables to the public but are not.
Upon guests arriving, if there is a wait time, it is our policy to inform them to avoid this type of situation. As always, please feel free to call or stop by, and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a View! And Great for Private Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were lucky to get a table on the balcony area looking out over the harbor. What a terrific place to have a glass of wine (or two) and just enjoy the evening. Business or pleasure, the tables are spaced for intimacy and comfort. The food was very well prepared and delicious, though a bit pricey. The service was professional. This is definitely one of the top two restaurants in the entire local area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fish and a great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Come here for the view, which is wonderful. The main dishes (fish) are also quite good if a bit pricey. Everything else is totally forgetable: sides, salads, desserts. Each is purely generic. Do what the locals seem to be doing: have a cocktail and an entree; no more.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahniser's Dry Dock also viewed

 

Been to Zahniser's Dry Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zahniser's Dry Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.