We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good First Impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Striped Rock

The Striped Rock
14470 Solomons Island, Solomons, MD
(410) 449-6059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Solomons
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Waldorf
1 review
“Good First Impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First time visiting the island. My fiancé and I went inside two previous restaurants before stopping at Striped Rock and immediately knew this was "the one". We sat at the bar due to one hour wait for table seating. Our bartender/server Jeff was terrific, very accommodating, and suggestive. We ordered the black & blue burger (delicious) and rock fish tacos ( ooh, so yummy!) with both regular, sweet potato fries that were indeed tasty.

We will definitely dine here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SR is doing a great job working out the new restaurant bugs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My first time there this past FRiday night. The crab cake was very good. Our bruschetta app was stacked & excellent. Others had the rockfish tacos, lobster sandwich, all fantasic. The home made fries were a little too oily for my taste but still good. The service was timely and super friendly (thanks Sean). Good job guys, keep it up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Better than Stoney's at Solomon's Pier...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped by to check it out after the demise of Catamarans and were pleasantly surprised. It may not have a pier extending out over the water, but it has better food, better service, better management, and a view that is still just as spectacular as that of Stoney's Pier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Special dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our Red Hat ladies were very pleased with various food choices. Dawn provided excellent service. Will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, Maryland
1 review
“A Must Have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Of the many things I have eaten here, I can easily say The Mussels are a must have for sure. Seafood Solomons entree is also delicious. To sit and watch the beautiful sunset while enjoying a delicious meal, is definitely a wonderful experience!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Striped Rock also viewed

 

Been to The Striped Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Striped Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.