We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SR is doing a great job working out the new restaurant bugs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Striped Rock

The Striped Rock
14470 Solomons Island, Solomons, MD
(410) 449-6059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Solomons
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SR is doing a great job working out the new restaurant bugs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My first time there this past FRiday night. The crab cake was very good. Our bruschetta app was stacked & excellent. Others had the rockfish tacos, lobster sandwich, all fantasic. The home made fries were a little too oily for my taste but still good. The service was timely and super friendly (thanks Sean). Good job guys, keep it up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Better than Stoney's at Solomon's Pier...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped by to check it out after the demise of Catamarans and were pleasantly surprised. It may not have a pier extending out over the water, but it has better food, better service, better management, and a view that is still just as spectacular as that of Stoney's Pier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Special dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our Red Hat ladies were very pleased with various food choices. Dawn provided excellent service. Will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, Maryland
1 review
“A Must Have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Of the many things I have eaten here, I can easily say The Mussels are a must have for sure. Seafood Solomons entree is also delicious. To sit and watch the beautiful sunset while enjoying a delicious meal, is definitely a wonderful experience!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Beautiful Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved this place. We were looking for a special dinner experience, and The Striped Rock really filled the bill.

It seems there are three seating areas: an elegant interior bar space, a front porch outdoors, and then three steps down to sidewalk seating. We sat on the porch. The white tablecloths were billowing in the stiff breeze when we sat down – we had to hold onto the menus so they didn’t blow away! But what a beautiful spot.

The bruschetta was perfect; the nachos would have fed a rugby team. All entries and sides were good. Portions are large. The soft shell crab was lovely (although I discovered that it will just never be one of my favorite dishes -- too much funky texture for the taste.) One landlubber in our party raved about the Bleu Cheese Burger. One giant piece of Bread Pudding was enough for six, and it elicited moans and groans of pleasure from those eating it.

Service was inconsistent – certainly earnest – but it seemed like servers were present either every 30 seconds, or they would disappear for 30 minutes.

For the setting, the ambiance, the intended level of service, and the wonderful taste surprises in menu items – this was exactly what we were looking for in experiential dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Striped Rock also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to The Striped Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Striped Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.