We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snow Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansion House
Save
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Waterfront Public Landing Maryland, 4436 Bayside Rd Public Landing, Snow Hill, MD 21863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Burlington, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I had our first weekend in almost 9 years with no children, and decided to spend it in MD. The Mansion House is out about 45 minutes from OC and 30 minutes from Assateague Island. We took advantage of their canoe, their bikes, and their amazing view of the sunrise over the bay. The side yard overlooking the water is well maintained and peaceful. The breakfasts were exquisite. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I went to the Mansion House for 2 nights as a mini-getaway from DC. The location on the water is excellent and the breakfasts were gourmet. We were really impressed with the cooking (which was all customized as vegan for us). Really sweet dog (hair not fur so fine if you have allergies) made us smile. They have thought of all that we expect from high-quality B&Bs - Nice big sitting area with board games to use, mini-fridge, 2 bathrobes in the room, rocking chairs on an outdoor second-floor balcony.

Best part of this B&B was how you could use kayaks, bikes, wine, etc all for free once you're there. We took the kayaks out on the water twice - Just a step away from the room. Would stay again.

Just make sure you check on the price - When I called to make our reservation I was told the price was higher than what it says on the website. A fair price, just not what I expected when I called.

Room Tip: Ocean View room seemed to be the biggest and has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Mansion House for New Years Eve. It has an awesome location, and it is walking distance from great shops, bars, food and nightlife. The Innkeeper David went above and beyond making sure we were comfortable and taken care of. The Rooms are clean and quaint with beautiful wood working. Everything about our stay-cation was great. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent two weeks on the road and our two nights at the Mansion House were the most memorable. We arrived at Snow Hill after several days in the hustle and bustle of Ocean City. At first we were a little skeptical, because the house looked deserted, but then Steve showed up, let us in, and we were enchanted by the place, which we had all to ourselves. Steve was a delightful host and made delicious breakfasts for us and shared some interesting stories about the local area. The area around the B&B is absolutely beautiful for walking, running, driving. We didn't use the bikes because the helmets and the bikes weren't in the greatest condition. The house is beautiful and well-equipped with everything you need, including an expansive porch with beautiful views of the bay. We only ate at one restaurant in Snow Hill, because most were closed on the days of the week that we were there. But we had a really nice dinner in nearby Berlin. We also really enjoyed a Pocomoke River Cruise on a beautiful summer evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The property is set directly on the bay away from everything. The rooms are decorated with antiques, the floors are ancient hardwood and the you feel like the calmness that this mansion has gained over the decades.

The manager/owner/chef/concierge is a very nice man who wants to help and loves what he does. He has bikes to lend (which were great fun, as the terrain is essentially flat for miles around), and kayaks to paddle out onto the bay. He also knows every restaurant in the adjacent town of Snow Hill and they know him, so even though the restaurants were full, using his name got us reservations.

A wonderful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

George's cottage on Paw Paw Creek is the best place to just chill (even if the air temperature is hot the screened porch under the cypress trees offers cool breezes) This was our second stay there with friends and we love it. The local roads are great for biking and the Chincoteaugue Bay is wonderful for cooling off. Highly recommended!!1

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was our second time staying here, the last time was in 2004. All the other reviews here pretty much say it all - as B&B's go, this place is the best! It's very quiet and relaxing, a beautifully restored old house full of antiques, a nice shady yard right on the water with a dock, and kayaks & bikes you can use. George is a great host, fixing delicious breakfasts different every day, and he's full of helpful information about the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: Waterfront Public Landing Maryland, 4436 Bayside Rd Public Landing, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Location: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1834 Historic Waterfront Planters Residence. Listed on National Register of Historic Places. 4 bedrooms with queen bed, private bath, fireplace and waterview. Waterfront Cottage, 2 bedrooms 1.5 Baths, fireplace, screen porch, private pier. Full Breakfast, Swimming, crabbing, fishing, biking, canoe/kayaking. Complimentary bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.