We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $109!
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Kearny, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it had several package options which you really couldn't find in the DC area, and it was near the Metro. A hotel where you can get parking, breakfast, and room all in one price in the DC area is a rarity. I don't know if it was me, but the room seemed very small. They were upgrading the TVs during our stay so we didn't have TV service for most of the weekend. When we did get it back, they had a lot of options to choose from. We went out for the day, came back at 4pm, and our room hadn't been serviced by the housekeeper. I've had plenty of times where they come too early but never too late. Since she was a couple of rooms down she promptly came and cleaned the room. We went to stay in the lobby area, which is very nice, while the room was being cleaned. The hotel is definitely designed for business travelers and large parties. The continental breakfast was ok. We did have problems with front desk personnel understanding the package we were under (and we didn't get our cookies when we first checked in), but they did have experienced people during the morning shift that made the necessary corrections when I pointed out the errors. They also found some errors as well. I also got my cookies when I told them I didn't get them when I checked in. All of the staff from the front desk, valets, restaurant staff, etc. were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Since most of the hotels in the DC area charge for parking, internet, breakfast, etc., you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay and I will certainly review with the entire team. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you provide us another opportunity to service your travel needs while in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    93
    52
    34
See reviews for
134
44
18
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Room was nice, bathroom was very small. When the bathroom door was fully open, it was only about 1/4 inch from toilet. Not a big deal, but a little cramped (for Hilton brand anyway). I will definitely give a huge recognition for customer service. The first night I was there, the room next to me was occupied by several people and they were loud, all night long. They woke me up multiple times. I am not the type of person to complain, so I endured the night, and subsequently was very tired the next day. The following night, as soon as I was about to go to bed, the room next to me started up again, very loud, very frustrating. I called the front desk this time, told them of my experience the previous night and then the fact that it was already beginning again this night. Within 15 minutes, someone from the hotel knocked on their door, spoke to them, and the remainder of the night was very quiet from that room. Not sure what they said or did, however I was extremely appreciative of the recognition of my concerns. Small bathroom? yes, but easily overlooked by the excellent customer service. Thank you Hilton !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Sorry for the bit of disturbance on your first night, but happy to hear the staff took care of it as soon as they were notified. Please keep us in mind shoudl your travels take you back our way....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not only is this a very nice hotel, but it is extremely well located with business, eateries, sights and multiple forms of transportation within a short walk. About as good as it gets for the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the post and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A little pricey for the location but comfortable. We stayed here for easy access to DC Metro, which was only three blocks away, and nearby family. The hotel shuttle took us to the Metro. I recommend the restaurant only for breakfast which is not included in the room rate. Lunch/Dinner menu is limited and there are much better places in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the comments and please know we are in the process of launching a new lunch and dinner menu which I am sure you will find delicious!!! Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room was small but comfortable and A/C worked well with minimal noise. TV clear and internet speed fast. Friendly bar with DTV sports. Business Center extremely warm no A/C and printer did not print my .pdfs. Good fitness room but no cups for water in morning. Within walking distance to many restaurants and popular night area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed the TV in the bar area as we have just gone through an upgrade throughout the hotel with enhanced HDTV as well as the NFL Ticket at the bar!! Please know that the business center is due to be fully renovated in 2014 so it will be much more comfortable. Hope to see you return.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an extremely well maintained hotel and the staff was fantastic. I generally view DoubleTree as a less desirable location, and have had some of my worst hotel experiences at DoubleTree – BUT after this stay I will be trying other DoubleTrees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were in Washington DC to attend a wedding. The staff was outstanding and helpful. The rooms were good for the price. The internet access and close proximity to the theater, mall and a host of restaurants. Suites help families feel that they have a little space for privacy, meditation and individualized interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the great post and glad that your enjoyed your time away from home with us. Please spread the word and hope to see you return again soon! Safe travels.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.