We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location - easy access to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good location - easy access to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room was small but comfortable and A/C worked well with minimal noise. TV clear and internet speed fast. Friendly bar with DTV sports. Business Center extremely warm no A/C and printer did not print my .pdfs. Good fitness room but no cups for water in morning. Within walking distance to many restaurants and popular night area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed the TV in the bar area as we have just gone through an upgrade throughout the hotel with enhanced HDTV as well as the NFL Ticket at the bar!! Please know that the business center is due to be fully renovated in 2014 so it will be much more comfortable. Hope to see you return.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    129
    107
    58
    38
See reviews for
148
53
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an extremely well maintained hotel and the staff was fantastic. I generally view DoubleTree as a less desirable location, and have had some of my worst hotel experiences at DoubleTree – BUT after this stay I will be trying other DoubleTrees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were in Washington DC to attend a wedding. The staff was outstanding and helpful. The rooms were good for the price. The internet access and close proximity to the theater, mall and a host of restaurants. Suites help families feel that they have a little space for privacy, meditation and individualized interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the great post and glad that your enjoyed your time away from home with us. Please spread the word and hope to see you return again soon! Safe travels.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Room key didn't work.
Telephone didn't work.
Lamp didn't work because it was unplugged and it was too dark to find the plug, which required moving the bed.
Room service didn't answer the phone on two calls.
Call to the hotel operator rang 40 times without being answered, Twice.
Dirty food tray left in hallway all night despite request to have it removed.
No ice machine on the floor.
No information in the room on whether or where there is an ice machine.
This hotel reeks of "We don't care."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and do want to apologize for all of the challenges you encountered during your stay as they are certainly not the norm. I do wish I had an opportunity to resolve your issues prior to check out and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in the future. I will persoanlly review your comments with various departments throughout the hotel and again apologize for your dissapointemtn with your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, mo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Silver Spring with our two young children. We booked one of the king suites and were happy to find an updated room with a decent pull-put bed for the kids. We enjoyed a room to ourselves while the kids enjoyed having their own tv for a few morning cartoons. My only complaint would be the limited hours for the pool. Luckily we were too busy to have time to swim, but late afternoon pool hours do not typically work with our travel schedule. We usually like to swim first thing in the morning. I would also typically like to have breakfast included, but I will not complain about this if the room exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Do hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A little bit older but very nice hotel with easy access to the DC Metro system. This is a boutique style hotel which seems to have been recently remodeled. The location in Silver Spring was excellent with easy access to many restaurants and a shopping area. The rooms are a little small but in nice condition. Great place to stay with family or on a business trip - we were there for both a business meeting as well as there to tour Georgetown University.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Glad you found our hotel accomodating and convenient. We are still in the process of enhancing many areas of the hotel and hope you have a chance to visit again soon. Hope your tour of Georgetown was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Doubletree Silver Spring when we were visiting the area for a weekend of family events, including a wedding. We arrived very late and we were quite tired. Check in was efficient and very friendly - and we loved the warm cookies! The room was small but well appointed. It was exactly what we needed for one night. Wifi was free, and valet parking was fast and inexpensive too. The area has everything you could need - including lots of things in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.