We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our old stand bys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our old stand bys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We use to go to the double tree with our children years ago. When i saw The double tree on cheaprooms.com at a reasonable price we decided to book with them. A lot has change. Sum good, sum bad. Clean, easy to get to, pleasant staff. Had to wait to get checked in, never had to pay for breakfast, never had to pay for parking. We handled it.

Room Tip: choose a king size bed to a get a larger room, refridgerator, beautiful view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    114
    96
    52
    35
See reviews for
135
44
18
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room smelled of stale smoke -- bad. The rooms around us came and went constantly from 2 am to 5 am, meaning the doors constantly slammed -- worse. But the food service staff were attentive and pleasant -- good. And Margo the housekeeping attendant found and saved some clothes that we had mistakenly left behind when we left -- great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights here while on vacation. We loved how close of a walk it was to the Metro station (about 8 min). The hotel room was nice. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. On the down side, the room is small. That didn't bother us personally, but it would be an issue for some people. The bathroom is especially small. We didn't like how thin the walls were. We were woken up every morning around 8 to the sound of housekeepers knocking on other doors or by people talking in the hall. There is no breakfast in the morning either. Despite the negatives, it really was an ok stay, and I would have given the hotel 4 stars.....that was until our last day. At 5am a fire alarm went off in the hotel and we had to run down seven flights of stairs to exit the building. Once downstairs we got an all clear (apparently someone had pulled the alarm) and we had to walk back up the stairs and attempt to get some more sleep. I don't blame them for the alarm. That was out of their control. However, not a word was spoken about it in the morning when we checked out. I would have thought a simple apology would be in good business taste. Apparently not. On top of that, we left our luggage at the hotel to go out and enjoy our final day of vacation. We came back mid afternoon to pick it up before going to the airport. We arranged for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the metro station since it was pouring rain. The shuttle never came and we were forced to walk back to the hotel. I walked up to the desk dripping water and again received no apology. We even had to wait almost 30 min for the shuttle to take us back to the metro after all that. Summary: probably would have a nice stay here, but there are also probably better options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
On behalf of the General Manager:

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. However, we would like to sincerely apologize to you for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. Thank you for your again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed over the 4th of July and had a great time at the hotel as well as in the very walk-able Silver Springs business district. It is 2 blocks in one direction to Ellsworth Park which has a playground appropriate for young families and less than 2 blocks in the other direction to lots of dining, 2 big cinemas, a sprinkling fountain, and entertainment venues. We didn't experience any real problems unless you consider having to ask for the famous Double Tree cookies at check-in a big deal. There was a little mess with and an accompanying odor on the elevator that the front desk staff had taken care of right away. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Free cookies are good, but a free breakfast would be so much better. Me and my family just stayed in what was titled a 1 bedroom suite; however, I don't considered a coffee pot placed in the bathroom a true kitchenette area! Although the room was very clean, the spots on the sofa and the grout lines in the shower really gives you that "yuck" feeling. All and all, worth the money, but bring extra for parking fees! Not sweet on their suite, Philadelphia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a family reunion weekend. Great location for shopping and leisure activities. Movie theater in walking distance as are many natioal chain restaurants and fast food places. Easy access via, city bus or METRO to Washington, DC to tour memorials and museums. WiFi was fast. Business Center for printing tickets and boarding passes. Friendly staff. Delicious cookies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable! I was pleasantly surprised at how affordable the stay was. The hotel is conveniently located right on Rt. 29 in Silver Spring, Maryland and we had easy access to where we had to travel. Another plus was the valet parking. We knew our car was safe in the hotel lot and when we needed the car it was promptly brought to us. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.