We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $89!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
virginia, United States
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not clean, poor quality of linen, spiders, broken parts in bathroom. The room appeared to be put together with available furniture. Quality of carpet was poor and dirty. The iron had marks on it so that you could not use it. Everything about the room was terrible and it was noisy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, Team Member at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    139
    113
    59
    39
See reviews for
155
56
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is located in downtown Silver Springs a block away from the American Film Theater (A great movie house) The hotel has a very good restaurant. People are very nice. The rooms are modern and the beds comfortable. Noise is a minimum where I stayed. The athletic area is adequate with some exercise equipment and a small pool on the ninth floor. I prefer it to the Courtyard because of the comfort. The cookie is always a nice touch. Great value generally 30 dollars cheaper than the courtyard

Room Tip: The film theater is run by a national movie association that has old classics in a huge theater(Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A very nice hotel with spacious rooms in the middle of Silver Spring. This is a pleasant surprise. Close to Metro, all the new (and nice) restaurants in Silver Spring, and a 15 minute drive to downtown DC. This place is a good find for business or for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here because of the proximity to family members. Travel to and from the monuments and other tourist places was easy, especially on the Metro. There are many good restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance.

The room was surprisingly nice for the price we paid, and a decent size for DC. There was a slight musty/moldy odor to the bathroom. The front desk forgot to take off some parking charges after we brought their attention to it (we decided to park at our family member's house nearby instead), but it was quickly rectified at check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

No late night snacks available, a/c didn't work, staff not especially helpful in locating local restaurants/amenities (or else there were none?) No exhaust fan in the bathroom, just not normal Hilton standards

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was too hot too sleep in despite airco trying with very much noise. Stuffed air, no ventilation possible. Room was left open after cleaning. Coffee and cups were not replaced. And more niceties of this school class filled hotel that is in serious need of renovating. Staff did not even apologise. Exit Hilton from my list of business hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We've addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the Metro and 1-3 minutes from City Mall, a Majestic movie theatre, and other dining and shopping areas. The hotel said there is transportation they provide to and from the Metro but the driver never seemed available when I needed the service, so I walked... which was honestly fine. The neighborhood is safe and quiet during the day and evenings, and overall the people are friendly. In-room dining food is delicious, however purchases via credit card are transacted slow, and the daily warm cookie is a nice treat. Housekeeping sometimes cleans the room in the late afternoon, which I feel is unacceptable and the gift shop has a lot to be desired and is more like a tiny snack shop. Those that noted on the internet the ice situation are correct. Higher floors do not have ice machines and you'd have to go to lower floors to get ice. Also at the time of my visit they were working on the elevators and due to that maintenance the elevators were slow. Overall this hotel is worth being a guest at, and there is a lot to keep you busy in the Silver Spring area and via quick Metro ride throughout DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.