We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, bad hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $99!
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great staff, great location, bad hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to visit DC. Beautiful town with great downtown area for eating, shopping, etc. Close to metro which brings you right into city. Hotel is old and not clean. Everything needs an update. Looked like room had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Staff is very pleasant but hotel needs a lot of work. Stay in Silver Springs but in a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work with both our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that we improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    123
    102
    53
    37
See reviews for
144
49
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with two small children. Had trash overflowing with dirty diapers. Housekeeping didn't empty it and it took three phone calls and my threatening to empty the trash in the lobby for housekeeping to do it. The refrigerators we requested froze everything, including baby's milk. Bathroom sink didn't drain properly, no shower caps provided. We stayed in a suite and the second room was very small. Very noisy guests stayed above us - we had to call down to the front desk about it. Terrible experience. Will never stay at a Doubletree again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to our trip in Washington and had real hiG hopes n hilton, but we're pret disappointed with the service as well as the quality of the rooms. The bed had hair on the pillow, which was disgusting

.
The front desk execs were Keen on getting the queue cleared rather than explaining the amenities available

Overall, I would not go back to this hotel

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I tried to book a wedding block here, thinking it was the Doubletree, it has to be a comfortable hotel. Boy was I wrong. The woman who books wedding parties was rude and unresponsive. When I finally DID book the block, she had done it for the wrong hotel! She also told members looking for my wedding block that it was sold out before anyone had even booked a single room! My family arrived the day before I did and they called right away to tell me that the rooms were dirty, the elevators completely disgusting, and they would not even go in the pool. I thought it was a fluke so I kept my reservation, but changed all my friends to the Mariott. Sure enough, it was no fluke. My room actually had sodas from the maid service left in the room, hair clips on the floor, HAIR in the bedsheets... not to mention the fact that the linens were wrinkled and the windows had a thick layer of grime. A sad employee told my sister in law that the hotel had no management (when we tried to complain) and that really, it was just part time workers who didn't care about the hotel. This coming from the front desk was absolutely the last straw. Everyone checked out and moved hotels to the Mariott, best decision we made regarding this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry your experience wasn’t up to our usually high brand standards of hospitality and cleanliness and we’ve addressed the problems you mentioned with our front desk and housekeeping teams. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue, and we hope you’ll give us another chance to show you the quality hotel experience you deserve if you return to our area in the future. We wish you the best of luck in your marriage and hope we may be a part of your future memories.

Thank you,
Stuart Doring
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Room was filthy. Hair and food all over bed, and pillows. Dusty, just all around dirty. Never been to a more disgusting hotel. Shortly after checking in, I went to the front desk and let them know the situation, I was told housekeeping would be up to clean the room and put fresh linens on the bed. After hours of being gone from the hotel, I came back to nothing being cleaned or changed. And after being told at checkout the next day, that I would be reimbursed within the next few days, nothing was in my account. After waiting 3 days, I called the front desk and was transferred to 4 different people. This turned into hours of being on the phone. Extremely frustrating. I drove 7 hours to Silver Springs from Massachusetts for a concert. I enjoyed the venue but next time I visit MD I will not be staying at this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had two rooms, both of which were in similar condition. The rooms had deep dirty, but were surface clean. The couch had cigarette burns. The rented refrigerator came dirty and broken. The fitness center has low ceilings and if you're looking for anything more than cardio; it isn't there. The staff at the hotel are outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This property has seen MUCH better days. Our room had a popcorn ceiling with a big stain and crack, no working a/c, dust and outdated fixtures/furniture. The bathroom is so small you have to close the door before using the toilet. So glad our stay was one night only. Stay at sister Hampton Inn/Homewood Suites across the street much newer and cleaner. They were sold out, no wonder!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello KTMTGal331!
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;